We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and character, but a bit pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
PA
1 review
“Great location and character, but a bit pricey”
Reviewed 19 February 2008

Hillcrest House is a very pleasant bed and breakfast that is located in a great spot. There are many restaurants in walking distance, and Balboa Park is walking distance for those who do not mind a short hike. The bed and breakfast is quaint, but not really fancy. It is very clean and cute. The owner is very sweet and friendly and makes the guests feel at home. The breakfast was very good. I would have liked to have coffee available earlier (it's available at 8:00 a.m.). I thought it was a bit overpriced. But all in all, I liked it and I would return another time.

  • Liked — location and cuteness
  • Disliked — price- not terrible but a bit high
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Arden51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    41
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
339
73
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peru
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2008

Hillcrest House is an excellent fusion of comfort and luxury. From providing the little elements that make a stay in a foreign city exciting and manageable (maps, guides, suggestions on where to go, and by far the best guidance in restaurant dining by Ann), to small details that put a guest at ease (water, coffee, internet, friendly and open common area to visit other B&B guests). Centrally located, it can boast entertainment, gastronomic delights, and nature excursions at its fingertips. The small nature of the B&B provides for a great opportunity to meet other travelers and Ann, in only two days, becomes a guest's close friend. When visiting San Diego, Hillcrest House is by far the only place to stay!

  • Liked — Location, beautifully decorated rooms, ambiance, and Ann the Innkeeper is amazing
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank myproworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2008

I accompanied my wife for a short business trip to San Diego and the highlight of our trip turned out to be the discovery of this wonderful bed and breakfast. It's a large old house with 3 available rooms. Ann (the innkeeper) upgraded us when one of her other reservations fell through. That was a really cool thing for her to do. We've stayed in other places where that wasn't even an option. Right then, I knew this place was top notch.
My wife and I fell in love with the house and our room. We enjoyed the house's decor and we both enjoyed Ann's hospitality. She was a wealth of information for us 'first-time-to-San Diego' tourists. Also to note; you couldn't ask for a better location. Right in the middle of the Hillcrest district. Walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. Our stay at Ann's place made our trip.
--Mitchell

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mw_in_austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsen872
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2008

What a fantastic B&B. I just returned home from a quick trip to San Diego, and was lucky to have picked Hillcrest House B&B. I was so surprised at the short 2 block walk to all the hundreds of awesome restaurants and shopping. The Downtown Gaslamp, and Old Town were only a 10 minute drive. Ann, the Innkeeper made us feel like old friends. Her "Insiders Tips" on local eateries, and going's on in the city were so great! The breakfast she made each morning was such a breath of fresh air from greasy eggs and bacon. She served several different sliced fruits, yogurts, cereals etc.. every morning. She wouldn't give us her recepie for the awesome House Blend Coffee", so I guess we will have to go back to visit soon. I stayed in the Gaslamp Room, which was small, but comfortable, and at a great price. This place is a "Must" for anyone wanting an eclectic, comfortable B&B.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank solsen872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2008

My husband & I live 70 miles from San Diego but when you are out with friends it is a long 70 miles. So we decided to call Hillcrest House because I had heard such great things from another couple who had also stayed there. Luckily a room was available.
Innkeeper Ann Callahan checked us in, showed us our room and gave us a key. We met up with friends, had dinner at one of the many eateries in the area (withing walking distance) and drove back to the B & B, tumbled into the really comfy bed and woke up to the smell of muffins baking in the oven and a pot of coffee brewing. It doesn't get much better than that, but it did.
I immediately showered (the shower & bathroom were newly remodeled and VERY clean) and rushed to be the first person to hit the muffins. There was Ann's mom, baking and getting breakfast ready.
We chatted about the B & B, talked about how they started their business, their daily "strive for 5" routine, and while we were chatting I had one of the best cups of coffee ever. I have thought about that cup of coffee at least 3 times since then. And the muffins of course.
The area - all withing walking distance, clubs, bus lines, eateries, shopping (downtown SD is only a few miles down 4th Ave) SD Harbor for biking, Coronado Island take your bike on the ferry and ride around the island ~ all reachable by bus & ferry.
Their hospitality was "10" along with the muffins & coffee!
As Gov. Arnold says " we'll be back".

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank SusanK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2008

I had a fantastic time. The accomodations were fantastic and the location was close to shoping and restaurants. I would suggest this B & B to anyone that is looking for a relaxing vacation in an exciting part of town.

  • Liked — The smell of the house was fantastic
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alaskagirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2007

My wife grew up within view of Ann's Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast. We were very lucky to have found her establishment via the Net. The accommodations were very clean and extremely comfortable. It was as if we were at a better home away from home; the fireplace, homemade muffins, cookies and the personal touch that Ann has given to everything within her domain. The Hillcrest area has everything to offer the traveler, with many various restaurants, shops, and boutiques. If one is without personal transportation, there are convenient buses within a short walk of Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast to anywhere in San Diego.
We will return, and look forward to seeing Ann again. 

Thank you for making our return to San Diego so enjoyable, Ann.
John & Lisa 
(Christmas 2007)

  • Liked — Cleanliness,hospitality of owner, proximity to everything in San Diego
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ninercatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
2,069 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
879 reviews
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
1,838 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3845 Front St, San Diego, CA 92103-3019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor "Hall of Fame" for best San Diego Bed & Breakfast. Also, Winner "AGAIN" of San Diego Uptown News 2015 Readers Poll "Best Hotel/B&B". Stay in a B&B at the center of it all! Built in 1910, this newly renovated Arts & Crafts inspired Inn is only 10 minutes from major attractions such as, the Gaslamp District, Zoo, Old Town, Seaworld, Beaches, Convention Center and Airport. Features include: Eclectic collection of Antiques, in room cable TV/DVD/CD, and complementary WiFi. Home baked specialties daily. Business guests love our close proximity to the Downtown Convention Center, and or Hotel Circle to attend their meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest House Bed And Breakfast
Hillcrest House Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing