We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Friendship Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
Inn at the Park(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Iris(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Atwood Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveller rating
553
42
12
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
553
42
12
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bzoo roomother guestsbalboa parkbalboa roomthe main househome away from homeold townfresh fruitoff street parkingwarm muffinsuniversity aveprivate entrancewithin walking distanceevery morningrestaurant recommendationshard boiled eggs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 612 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2008

From the moment, we walked thru the door, we were greeted warmly by Ann which was very very nice. We chatted with her for awhile and its was a barrel of laughs before she shows us to our room, the Zoo Room which is an upstair room.
The room is very cosy and decor is a little themed ZOO which is very nice indeed. Compared to all the hotel rooms, we have been, Ann's Hillcrest B&B beats them hands down. Overall, the place is very cosy, comfortable, homely, convenient, safe and above all its Ann's personal touch that makes the different.
She is ever so helpful, great at giving advice for trips and what to do, etc..
Breakfast is a simple fare, fresh fruits, cereals, juices, coffee, tea and her homemade muffins are great. The morning breakfast company, other guests will sit at the same table and we got get to know each other together with Ann, which you can only get such hospitality in Hillcrest, San Diego.
We loved our stay so much that when it was time for us to leave, we are sad to leave with such heavy heart for our stay have been really truly enjoyable, warm, friendly, joy and a very memorable first time visit to San Diego.
We do strongly suggest staying in Hillcrest B&B to all that are visiting San Diego. This B&B is just a walking distance to a lot of the best restaurant in town, close to Balboa park, and best of all, its in the middle of everywhere.
For our first time in San Diego, Ann made us feel so comfortable and warm that we are seriously considering moving to San Diego!!
Thanks to Ann, we had a totally unforgetable holiday in San Diego

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KenJing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2008

My wife and I spent 5 days in San Diego prior to a cruise to Vancouver. We read the reviews on Trip Advisor and choose the Hillcrest B & B. What a great place ! Ann and Barbara (Ann's mom) treated us fantastic ! The room we had (Old Town) was large, clean and at the back of the house, so very little noise. The bathroom was also a good size and very clean. We had our own door to a patio so we could sit out in the sun and enjoy. In the morning there was fresh fruit, muffins and coffee, cereal, yogurt and juice - just enough to get us going. The location is ideal - lots of restaurants and little shops and a Whole Foods, close to transit, and a good walk to Balboa Park (about 45 minutes).
The best part was the "tips" from Ann and Barbara, they know the area and the city well, so gave us lots of tips on where to eat, where to go, what to see and how to get there.
Best B&B we've stayed at, would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PeterWpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2008

We were well looked after even before we left home. Ann, the B & B hostess advised us to call anytime to get help deciding what to do and see in San Diego.
We arrived late, (1:00 am) and were quickly directed to our room where we had a most comfortable sleep in her new Coronado suite on a memory foam mattress topper. (Ann told us where to purchase one and we are going to do that asap)
The Hillcrest House B & B location is ideal. Right around the corner from her B & B are fabulous restaurants. You can walk to Balboa Park or take the local buses.
Ann was very helpful arranging maps, tickets for the San Diego Sightseeing Tour and finding the bus stop. The house was on a quiet street in a safe neighborhood.
Breakfast was great. Fresh muffins baked fresh(Ann has some amazing recipes), fruit, cereal,good coffee and places inside and on the porch to sit at. Very comfortable and friendly.
We will definately be booking again-this time we will stay for at least 5 days. We found San Diego to be 'small town' friendly in atmosphere and full of interesting places to see.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank Francine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2008

The owner Ann is a wonderful host. The room was very comfortable. The bed was incredible! Great location to walk through Hillcrest or just a 5 minute drive to downtown. I highly recomend this B&B.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank bobbydPalmSprings_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2008

We just returned from our stay at the Hillcrest House and have only positive feedback for Ann.
We stayed for 4 nights and had the best time, thanks to the suggestions from Ann and the variety of activities that one can stumble upon in Hillcrest. Great food, great people, and great fun!
The breakfast, with a new flavor of freshly baked muffins, fruit, orange juice, and of course, Ann's "special blend" of coffee, was a divine treat to wake up to daily.
The room was lovely and decorated tastefully. We slept wonderfully on the comfortable bed and had plenty of space for the two of us. Parking was easy and right out the back door.
We went to La Jolla for two days afterwards and must say that it paled in comparison to our experience at the Hillcrest House.
Thanks so much to Ann for her hospitality - Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank heathercarmela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews