We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 February 2014

It's a very nice place. You can't beat the location if you want to walk to dinner - right in the Hillcrest area, within a very easy walk of restaurants of every kind. Ann and Shannon went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. Breakfast was fine, and parking was included, which is very rare for San Diego. The room had everything I needed, and the common guest fridge was available as well. I found both the bed and the sheets softer than I like for comfortable sleeping, but I know that's just a matter of taste, and that many people would like them a lot (and most of the others wouldn't notice).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eek_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biketravler, Owner at Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hello, and thank you for posting about your recent experience here at Hillcrest House. Our location is "Key" !!!! Right in the City Center, this historic neighborhood ROCKS !!! We love the 2 block walk to our favorite Craft Brew Pub, and send lots of guests to experience all Hillcrest has to offer. Hope to see you back someday soon. Cheers, Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We love Ann, she does an amazing job making everyone comfortable. This is our second time staying with her, I can't say enough good things about the place. The beds are comfortable and everything is kept clean and homey.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biketravler, Owner at Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Hello Dan, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your 2nd stay with us. You put a smile on my face, when you noticed right away, that I had a door put on the bathroom entrance of the Old Town Room (where you stayed on your 1st visit). When a suggestion comes up, it never falls on deaf ears with me. Thanks for your business, and hope to see you and Barbara back when your conference returns to San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Enjoyed our stay here, we stayed in the Old Town Room. The house has a great front porch to sit and relax. You can walk to plenty of great bars and restaurants! Ann was friendly and the breakfast was ample.

Definitely worth staying here!

Room Tip: The Old Town room has its own little private deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biketravler, Owner at Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

You know...The Old Town Room is where we have our friends and family stay when visiting us. It's a great room, and the private outdoor patio is a bonus! Thanks for your business, and taking the time to post a review. Hope to see you back! Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Me and my 13 year significant other wanted to get away for his birthday. We searched for a bed and breakfast and we found this great one! We stayed for two nights in the Old Town Suite, this room comes with with your own private patio, comfortable bed, TV, WiFi, private patio, spacious full bathroom, walk-in closet space, free heathy breakfast with great conversation at the dinning room table. The house was warm and inviting from the moment we walked in and spoke with the housekeeper. The entire house is extremely clean and Ann the Innkeeper is genuinely wonderful with all her guests and extremely knowledgable with the area. This is your place to stay if you are going to visit San Diego!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We were in San Diego for a family emergency for three weeks. Ann and her trusty assistant, Shannon, took excellent care of us. We felt there was true compassion and care. We stayed first at the B&B and later moved to the vacation rental. The vacation rental is a divine two-bedroom bungalow with a terrific kitchen. We spent a lot of time cooking soothing meals, one of which was Thanksgiving supper. We highly recommend this property and this innkeeper to potential guests. Thanks so much Ann!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WillyBiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had a wonderful time in San Diego. Forgot our GPS but Ann's directions saved the day. She was full of great information on restaurants and things to do. The location was central and full of shops and restaurants. The room was great, the bed was super comfortable and Ann made us feel right at home. We would love to go back and visit. We highly recommend the Hillcrest House to anyone visiting the SD area but book early. She's very busy and not just during high season.

Room Tip: We stayed in Balboa room which was in a guest house on the property. The room was very quiet and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in the Gaslamp Room. Firstly, we made arrangements as we would be coming in after 6 p.m. - ended up arriving just after 6 and Shannon was still there - she stayed just to show us around and explain everything - very friendly and helpful. Ann was not around as she was on holidays but we had a wonderful gentleman Don taking care of us - he was so nice and helpful and nothing was a problem for him - he really knows how to treat and take care of the customers - I loved talking with him. Our room was very nice and super clean - it is the smallest room, but we were not in it much other than to sleep. I only have 2 negatives to say about the room - 1: there is no fridge in the room, it would be nice to have a fridge so you can put some cold drinks in, there is a small bar fridge which all guests can use in the dining room. 2: the was the toilet is positioned it very awkward to use, you kind of have to sit sideways otherwise you will hit the sink. I`m not a big person and I found it difficult. Bed was sooooo comfy and the sheets very soft - had a great sleep after a day of sightseeing. The B&B location is perfect, just around the corner and walk a couple of blocks you are in the hub of many great restaurants and
bars. We walked down to the Gas Lamp district, it`s a bit of walk but you got see the area which is kind of dumpy - we were disappointed. We also walked to Balboa park. Don`t miss going to the Old Town - many great places to eat and drink at - we went twice - first time there they had the main street blocked off for a car show, live band and lots of vendor, it`s about a $25 taxi ride one way. I was nice to sit on the front porch after a day of sightseeing having a cold one and talking with other guests. The Hillcrest is a lovey place to stay - we hope to be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lichty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#10 of 286 in San Diego
1,970 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,127 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scripps Inn
#1 of 4 in La Jolla
337 reviews
Found Hotel San Diego
#5 of 33 in San Diego
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3845 Front St, San Diego, CA 92103-3019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range: £128 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor "Hall of Fame" for best San Diego Bed & Breakfast. Also, Winner "AGAIN" of San Diego Uptown News 2015 Readers Poll "Best Hotel/B&B". Stay in a B&B at the center of it all! Built in 1910, this newly renovated Arts & Crafts inspired Inn is only 10 minutes from major attractions such as, the Gaslamp District, Zoo, Old Town, Seaworld, Beaches, Convention Center and Airport. Features include: Eclectic collection of Antiques, in room cable TV/DVD/CD, and complementary WiFi. Home baked specialties daily. Business guests love our close proximity to the Downtown Convention Center, and or Hotel Circle to attend their meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hillcrest House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest House Bed And Breakfast
Hillcrest House Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing