We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sold my prepaid three night room and greeted with apathy”
Review of Hotel Occidental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Occidental
Ranked #229 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 21 February 2011

prepaid a month before. Showed up and they were unapologicically full at 5PM wednesday 2/16/11. No apology. Guy at desk didn't care. No help in finding someplace else and not answering phone for 5 days during business hours when trying to arrange refund. The place looked cool. When they go out of business and someone who cares a little about the customer buys it, it may be worth looking into. STAY AWAY until the place goes out of business--and it will based on my experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 6BQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2010

Infected of fleas and thumbtacks, bedbags infected. The people of receipt know the problem and nevertheless it rents the rooms. Hotel to demand

Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
4  Thank benymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We stayed at the hotel occidental and had a horrible infestation of bedbugs. We were just staying while waiting to move in to our new home and it was horrible. Be careful and make sure they have completely eliminated the problem...bedbugs are very insidious and hard to get rid of.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank GED09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I was treated like a Prince at this hotel!
The staff are so helpful and have great local knowledge.

I fully recommend this hotel to any traveller for short term or long term stay.

My every request was attended to. I've been going to this hotel for the past 3 years that I've travelled to America.

The hotel is close to every amenity and down town San Diego is within close proximity.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lionheart_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Terrible service. Very noisy. Drug activity is in the building. You would be a fool to stay there. Management is also clueless. The Island Inn or the J Street Inn are better locations.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SleepySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

OK, first things first, this is not a luxury hotel and does not charge luxury prices. It has small rooms and I can image the average American would be horrified by the limited room space. However, if you've stayed in economy hotels in places like London, Paris or Amsterdam then you wont be shocked and it was comfortable (and we had a two year old in with us). The hotel has character and its a lovely old building. The location is pretty good, town centre is walkable as is the park with all its museums (the zoo is amazing). Staff helpful and friendly, free DVDs are available from reception and the breakfast was good. Also found free parking on street outside. With regard to the previous review that claimed its in a run down area, that the hotel has prostitutes and that its not safe for families - well all I can say is that I disagree with all three statements! We walked down to Italian area of city (about 10 mins) and had a lovely meal and walked back, all with our toddler in a pushchair and felt perfectly safe.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jdavies2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

This hotel is located in a run down area of the city. I definitely did not feel safe walking the streets at night.
Also, a young woman was running an illegal service in the room next to mine. A lacrosse team was staying at the hotel and I think the entire team was visiting this womans room. Not a family hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonzaiWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Inn at the Park
#133 of 279 in San Diego
560 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#65 of 279 in San Diego
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Occidental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Occidental

Address: 410 Elm St, San Diego, CA 92101-2613
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Occidental 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful garden patio is a lovely place to enjoy a cup a coffee, our free yummy breakfast before taking out one of our free bikes to tour the city, Balboa Park and the Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Occidental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Hotel San Diego
Occidental San Diego
Hotel Occidental San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing