We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant”

Chopahn Authentic Afghan Cuisine
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Downtown
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had a good meal here on a recent trip to San Diego. The food was tasty and the
service was excellent. I had the veggie entree and my boyfriend had the lamb.
Both enjoyable. Thanks!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tulip1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great dinning experience”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The food was so wonderful. The starter was a BURANEE-BADENJAN a sautéed eggplant with mint and a dash of yogurt it was light and cooked to perfection.
I had the entrée of the day, a lamb dish with rice that had delicate flavors of nuts and cinnamon. The lamb was cooked with pistachio. The vegetarian entrée was also wonderful. It is a restaurant for world gourmet in downtown San Diego. Probably the best!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Apamoniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Afghan Restaurant”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is a beautiful restaurant with great food. We ordered only main dishes and baklava for desert. I had chicken with apricots, cinnamon, and cardomon. Delicious. My wife had a vegetarian platter with 3 courses. I tasted the spinach, and the spiced pumpkin (fantastic), and was told the third taste, eggplant, was wonderful. The specials sounded fantastic, but will have to wait for a later visit. The staff was helpful and friendly. Definitely a place to return to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VNahmias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were trying to find a Thai restaurant in the Gaslamp district, but all the reviews were very 'iffy' . We had passed this restaurant the night before( It is on 6th off of 'restaurant row' on 5th street) so checked the menu on-line and decided to try it. We were pleasantly surprised by the variety and flavor of the dinners. We had a sampler plate which was not on the menu and really enjoyed it. The portions were generous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stikky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location, Great Atmosphere, AMAZING Food!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Well it was our first time to the Gaslamp Quarter in SD and we were on the hunt for something different, something ethnic and something amazing and we found it at Chopahns! WOW! First off the place was very romantic, the place wasn't crammed full of tables and chairs but spaced perfectly along with half a dozen or so on the outside patio and it appeared as though there was a private room located upstairs... Oh and almost forgot to mention the FULL bar :) The lighting was fairly dim along with some soft background music playing that matched the restaurants ethnic region so the over all feel was perfect for our date night. I won't get into the discription of the food because that is something for you to try but I will say that everything sounded good and exceeded our expectations, we found it very hard to get past the appetizers! We tried the sampler apps. And all super yummy! We both ended up having Lamb and WOW was it perfect, the veggie side dish options were great and the diff. rice options were done perfect. Get desert! Needless to say we enjoyed the complete journey at Chopahns and the staff were very helpful with recommendations and making the whole experience a real treat, will have to return at least 2 dozen more times so nothing on the menu will be missed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GemStateRoadtripers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chopahn Authentic Afghan Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing