We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay as good as the first.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area
Ranked #238 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Bay Area, CA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Second stay as good as the first.”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel again because of a very positive first experience. This stay was just as good. Our room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff was responsive and cheerful. We had a first floor corner room this time which worked very well because we had four people and lots of luggage. We chose the hotel because of the proximity to UC San Diego. It is about 10 to 15 minutes on the freeway, quite convenient. The breakfast is adequate but nothing special. We would stay again and recommend it to travelers who do not need the luxury experience but want a very good, clean, reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dafnaanfad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodewaypb, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Hello,

We're so glad you were as satisfied on your 2nd visit. Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach does offer a selection of Continental Breakfast as an amenity and UC San Diego is only 10 minutes away. USD and SDSU are also lesshan 15 minutes away. Please call the hotel to book your next stay for our existing offers.

Thank you from Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    50
    17
    7
    20
See reviews for
23
35
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The overall appearance of the hotel is deceiving. It appears to be a throwback from the 60's, however the rooms are spacious and clean. Actually our room was too large. Maybe it was because of the corner room. The noise from the second floor was annoying, but that is too be expected. Bathroom though clean had rough edges to it. Breakfast was ok, you can get your tummy full, but not a filling breakfast. Staff was very friendly. Parking is very limited, but we were able to find a spot. Nice value.

Room Tip: Get to breakfast early if you want a seat and better choice. Corner room is loud due to being direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodewaypb, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank your for taking time to leave us feedback. Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach was renovated 2 years ago. . Our hotel includes free parking, continental breakfast, free WIFI, flat screen tv's, cable. Besides being near Grand/Garnet and Balboa exits off interstate 5, we're within walking distance to Mission Bay and 5 minutes away from Pacific Beach, Seaword and Old Town and 10 minutes from Mission Beach and La Jolla.

We hope to have you again.

Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This is a very good. very clean hotel. It's location is a bit far from the main attractions such as San Diego zoo and 5th street, if you don't drive. however the hotel it's self is a delight to sleep in. its has nice comfy beds and is very clean and the free wi- fi adds to the value

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hackneyfirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodewaypb, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Hello,

Thank you for stopping by and leaving us feedback. Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach is located within walking distance from Mission Bay, 5 minutes away from Pacific Beach and Old Town, 10 minutes from Ocean Beach and Mission Beach. We're considered a Beach hotel but we are 10 minutes away from San Diego Airport. Sea Port Village and Gaslamp are accessible from our hotel via public bus or trolley. There is a public route that runs outside our hotel and takes your to down town in about 15 minutes and also stops in Old Town where you can catch a trolley 5 minutes away from Gaslamp, Petco Park and the Convention center.

Please come again,
Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This particular Rodeway Inn was clean and in a good location. Unfortunately, there were a few issues, ac unit badly placed, I could not reach the controls without a chair and I am tall, wake up call never came, food ran out during breakfast, toilet backed up and plunger was not delivered, office staff was always having personal conversations, while guests waited to be helped. However, after I submitted this review the manager called me, said the staff will be retrained, refunded one night and also apologized for the errors. Excellent managerial response and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: First floor room south of the lobby was a good location. Easy to park and convienent to breakfast. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tab555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodewaypb, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for stopping by and leaving us feedback.

We are glad we were able to resolve your feedback, your opinion and impressions are very important to us. Please know that after we spoke I shared your feedback with our staff.

Please come again.

Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Good size rooms, well maintained and looked recently renovated with comfy beds and nice fluffy towels. In spite of being near busy roads, we didn't hear any traffic at night. Coffee is available all day in the lobby including cappuchino & hot chocolate all free!!. Sometimes there are biscuits too.

Coffee-makes, microwave and fridge plus flat-screen tv in rooms. Good quality coffee packs in rooms, instead of the usual cheap stuff. No hairdryer but ask in the lobby and they will lend you one.
Rooms, plus the grounds are spotlessly clean.

Good position for getting out and about - easy to reach downtown, old town, Balboa Park, etc. Had a quick look at Pacific Beach but it was very crowded with young people and not our cup of tea but as we weren't there for beaches, this wasn't a problem. Lobby staff helpful with directions and recommendations.

We also recommend the Thai restaurant which is walking distance - Lanna Thai. Very good and reasonably priced. Also a 7/11 near the restaurant..





Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrispb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodewaypb, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear chrispb,

Thank you for taking time to leave a note. On behalf of our team I'd like to thank you
for staying at Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach during your last visit to San Diego.
While Pacific Beach is known for its wide variety of Restaurant and Bar options
you may want to try Old Town, or a variety of Restaurants on North or South Morena Boulevard
which are parallel to the 5 freeway right behind our hotel. You will find Avant Garde spots, Italian, Cuban, Fisheries, Sea Food, American and some galleries with a view to Mission Bay.

Thanks again for your time and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Whilthe the traveling through San Diego, we deciided to check out this Rodeway Inn. We very rarely check out the Rodeways, but there was this beautiful park across from it. (Mission Bay Park) In stopping, we found this gem of a hotel. The rooms weren't very big, but they used all the room wisely. They were decorated very nicely, and it was very quaint. The room was very clean, and staff very warm amd accomodating. Very good value for the area. Great tv's also. Just couldn't say anything bad about this hotle. A nice little breakfast in the mornings with juice, coffee, fruit, english muffins, danish, frozen waffles, toast, oatmeal. It wad perfect for our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ford2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This place was well-located near Pacific Beach, Ocean Beach, and downtown. It had a friendly staff and modern rooms that felt very spacious because of the high ceilings and the smart layout. The breakfast did the job each morning - cereal, pastries, apples and oranges, good coffee, waffles. We got the room for two nights and it cost us about half of what we would have paid staying in a less-nice place on the beach (where parking wouldn't have been included as it was here). We would stay here again and again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Best Western Mission Bay
#106 of 278 in San Diego
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#216 of 278 in San Diego
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area

Property: Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area
Address: 4345 Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-5728 (Formerly Pacific Coast Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach Hotel San Diego
Pacific Coast Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing