We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area
Ranked #237 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My two boys (17 and 13) and I stayed here for a week's vacation to San Diego in late June. There were two main reasons for choosing this hotel. The main reason was the value. San Diego is an expensive city and we knew we were going to spend lots of money on the attractions and food so we didn't want to spend a lot on lodging. Rodeway Inn is a great value for the price and allowed us to stretch our budget. The second reason was location. It was about a 15-30 minute trip to both the beaches (Pacific and Mission Beaches) and downtown. It's right off I-5 so was easy on and off the interstate.

The room was spacious and no issues at all with cleanliness. Housekeeping did a great job and were always through by the time we returned. I did not like the pillows....they were too big. But that's just a personal preference issue as most hotels have the big fat pillows. The bigger disappointment was with the bed. It was sunken in the middle and had ridges on both sides, as if it had never been turned or only had one person sleep in it for a long, long time. With two of us in the bed, it was aggravating to have to sleep on one of the ridges.

Overall a good hotel for the value and location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oklahomabiologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodewaypb, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Hello,

We are glad you were able to enjoy your vacation in San Diego while staying at Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach. Pacific Beach, Old Town and Sea World are with in 5 minutes drive. Mission Beach, Ocean Beach and La Jolla, Gas Lamp and Seaport Village within 10 minutes.

We have followed up on your note with our maintenance staff and we appreciate you taking time to let us know how we can improve.

Please come again,

Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

Our ladies trip 2013 was a success. We stayed in a two queen bedroom and the room was very spacious. Pacific & Mission beach and Gaslamp quarter was the highlight of our trip,they were all within 30 minutes or less from the hotel. They do offer continental breakfast but it wasn't enough to fill you up just enough to hold you over. World Famous breakfast on Pacific beach is a must try,its literally within views of the beach,loved it.Mission beach also has belmont park with rides & attractions which would be great for the kids and would take them next time I'm there. Coronado beach is also not to far from location if wanting to shop and see the beautiful homes ocean side,would definitely stay again for the next ladies adventure

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinycw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodewaypb, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Hello,

We're excited to hear that your 2013 ladies trip was a success and we were able to be extend to you San Diego's Hospitality. We're within 10 minutes from Air Port, Coronado, Ocean Beach, Pacific Beach, Mission Beach and La Jolla; 5 minutes from Old Town, Sea World. On your next visit please ask us about Mount Soledad, Cabrillo Monument, Mission bay sports, wine tours, Highway 101 and Mission Bay Golf. Thank you for staying with us at Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach.

Sincerely, Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel again because of a very positive first experience. This stay was just as good. Our room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff was responsive and cheerful. We had a first floor corner room this time which worked very well because we had four people and lots of luggage. We chose the hotel because of the proximity to UC San Diego. It is about 10 to 15 minutes on the freeway, quite convenient. The breakfast is adequate but nothing special. We would stay again and recommend it to travelers who do not need the luxury experience but want a very good, clean, reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dafnaanfad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodewaypb, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Hello,

We're so glad you were as satisfied on your 2nd visit. Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach does offer a selection of Continental Breakfast as an amenity and UC San Diego is only 10 minutes away. USD and SDSU are also lesshan 15 minutes away. Please call the hotel to book your next stay for our existing offers.

Thank you from Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The overall appearance of the hotel is deceiving. It appears to be a throwback from the 60's, however the rooms are spacious and clean. Actually our room was too large. Maybe it was because of the corner room. The noise from the second floor was annoying, but that is too be expected. Bathroom though clean had rough edges to it. Breakfast was ok, you can get your tummy full, but not a filling breakfast. Staff was very friendly. Parking is very limited, but we were able to find a spot. Nice value.

Room Tip: Get to breakfast early if you want a seat and better choice. Corner room is loud due to being direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodewaypb, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank your for taking time to leave us feedback. Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach was renovated 2 years ago. . Our hotel includes free parking, continental breakfast, free WIFI, flat screen tv's, cable. Besides being near Grand/Garnet and Balboa exits off interstate 5, we're within walking distance to Mission Bay and 5 minutes away from Pacific Beach, Seaword and Old Town and 10 minutes from Mission Beach and La Jolla.

We hope to have you again.

Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This is a very good. very clean hotel. It's location is a bit far from the main attractions such as San Diego zoo and 5th street, if you don't drive. however the hotel it's self is a delight to sleep in. its has nice comfy beds and is very clean and the free wi- fi adds to the value

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hackneyfirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodewaypb, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Hello,

Thank you for stopping by and leaving us feedback. Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach is located within walking distance from Mission Bay, 5 minutes away from Pacific Beach and Old Town, 10 minutes from Ocean Beach and Mission Beach. We're considered a Beach hotel but we are 10 minutes away from San Diego Airport. Sea Port Village and Gaslamp are accessible from our hotel via public bus or trolley. There is a public route that runs outside our hotel and takes your to down town in about 15 minutes and also stops in Old Town where you can catch a trolley 5 minutes away from Gaslamp, Petco Park and the Convention center.

Please come again,
Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This particular Rodeway Inn was clean and in a good location. Unfortunately, there were a few issues, ac unit badly placed, I could not reach the controls without a chair and I am tall, wake up call never came, food ran out during breakfast, toilet backed up and plunger was not delivered, office staff was always having personal conversations, while guests waited to be helped. However, after I submitted this review the manager called me, said the staff will be retrained, refunded one night and also apologized for the errors. Excellent managerial response and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: First floor room south of the lobby was a good location. Easy to park and convienent to breakfast. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tab555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodewaypb, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for stopping by and leaving us feedback.

We are glad we were able to resolve your feedback, your opinion and impressions are very important to us. Please know that after we spoke I shared your feedback with our staff.

Please come again.

Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Good size rooms, well maintained and looked recently renovated with comfy beds and nice fluffy towels. In spite of being near busy roads, we didn't hear any traffic at night. Coffee is available all day in the lobby including cappuchino & hot chocolate all free!!. Sometimes there are biscuits too.

Coffee-makes, microwave and fridge plus flat-screen tv in rooms. Good quality coffee packs in rooms, instead of the usual cheap stuff. No hairdryer but ask in the lobby and they will lend you one.
Rooms, plus the grounds are spotlessly clean.

Good position for getting out and about - easy to reach downtown, old town, Balboa Park, etc. Had a quick look at Pacific Beach but it was very crowded with young people and not our cup of tea but as we weren't there for beaches, this wasn't a problem. Lobby staff helpful with directions and recommendations.

We also recommend the Thai restaurant which is walking distance - Lanna Thai. Very good and reasonably priced. Also a 7/11 near the restaurant..





Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrispb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodewaypb, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear chrispb,

Thank you for taking time to leave a note. On behalf of our team I'd like to thank you
for staying at Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach during your last visit to San Diego.
While Pacific Beach is known for its wide variety of Restaurant and Bar options
you may want to try Old Town, or a variety of Restaurants on North or South Morena Boulevard
which are parallel to the 5 freeway right behind our hotel. You will find Avant Garde spots, Italian, Cuban, Fisheries, Sea Food, American and some galleries with a view to Mission Bay.

Thanks again for your time and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Mission Bay
Best Western Mission Bay
#119 of 278 in San Diego
619 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
3.7 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#234 of 278 in San Diego
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area

Address: 4345 Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-5728 (Formerly Pacific Coast Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £26 - £734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Pacific Beach Hotel San Diego
Pacific Coast Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing