We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nicely placed. But ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
Ranked #120 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 28 January 2014

But bad experience when arriving, because they add automatically 18$ for taxes (already paid when booked online), wifi, breakfast ... Without warning ... But everything has been solved smoothly.
Nice hotel though, comfortable, interesting design. A but noisy because of the clubs around.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Groovemasterjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Just stayed here with my husband for a little getaway after the holiday madness and it was fantastic! Great location, right in the center of the Gaslamp, and the staff was extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations and went out of their way to ensure we had the best time. The room was fabulous! It was ultra-modern and had a great view. By far the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever experienced, we lowered the black out shades and basically hibernated. Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Request a Vista room for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDC1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I don't normally write reviews unless I'm not satisfied or extremely disappointed. I decided to flip the script on this review. I have never received such exceptional service at a hotel. I was impressed from the second I walked into the bright red lobby. The staff were all very friendly and quickly checked me in and up to my room. The room was spotless and offered an expresso machine fully stocked. I was most impressed with the rates for the weekend I stayed. Christos Brooks worked some magic and got me a price no one could beat! I highly recommend this hotel. You can't beat the location in the heart of the gas lamp district!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmelynn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Obviously the location of the Keating is as good as it gets, setting you right in the middle of the Gaslamp District. I went with my girlfriend for her birthday and we were upgraded to the Imperiale Suite, which has a very immaculate modern design. The concrete floors, the layout of the suite, the view out the window, and even the "rain" shower were all memorable- it almost felt like being in a Manhattan apartment. This room was on the corner, so you do get some of the noise outside, but that's to be expected when staying in the area. We didn't make it to the restaurant or nightclub, but the little spa they have is a fantastic little addition. We also noticed a few meeting rooms for business travelers, so this place does seem to cater to just about anyone.
Considering everything above, the Keating's strongest asset is probably their customer service. I've never encountered a staff so committed to making sure guests are happy and comfortable. They were all easy to talk to, and more than willing to give us recommendations on the right food and nightlife to make our night a special one, and their suggestions were spot on!
Looking forward to staying here again the next time I visit!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andygotobed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My first time staying at the Keating and I was very impressed! Great customer service, stellar location in the Gaslamp District and elegant accommodations. Loved the European feel to the rooms and espresso machines! Very trendy spot.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jjolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Just stayed at the Keating in their remodeled McCallan suite, had stayed there before and it was NOISY, not know! They replaced windows and you cant hear any of the street noise as before, its great!!!! Also had a cocktail party in the room which the room was prefect for, the staff was also extremely accomodating and friendly, Good job Keating!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Recently I booked a room at the Keating on line in anticipation of a Holiday Bowl invitation to my alma mater. Unfortunately we were offered a different bowl game and when I tried to cancel my booking I found out I had somehow booked a non-refundable room. I contacted Christos Brooks, Assistant General Manager, who immediately started working on my problem even though he was out of the office, on a business trip. When he returned, he very quickly took care of my problem, totally in my favor and I was not charged for the booking. The customer service here is top notch and I recommend The Keating to anyone traveling to San Diego. You can't beat great climate and great service.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#35 of 278 in San Diego
2,060 reviews
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#75 of 278 in San Diego
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#47 of 278 in San Diego
1,002 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Address: 432 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6118
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £114 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego’s first true luxury boutique hotel that transformed the Gaslamp District from bland to chic. Situated in a building dated from 1890, The Keating is Pininfarina’s first hotel creation -world-renowned master designer behind Ferrari and Maserati. The result is a rare fusion of past and future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keating Hotel San Diego
Keating San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing