We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Hotel, Friendly Staff, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
Ranked #115 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Kapolei, United States
2 reviews
“Awesome Hotel, Friendly Staff, Great Location”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My full experience was a memorable stay. From the time of check in, till check out was awesome. Staff is great, friendly and comforting. Definitely be back. The Keating is a great place in a great location. Walking distance from the malls, food places, etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kimoli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    165
    84
    87
    84
See reviews for
49
366
46
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

If you cant sleep with some noise this hotel is probably not for you. It really is smack dab in the middle of the Gas Lamp District which does not shut down really until 2-2:30. They have sound systems and Ipod hook ups in every room. I usually just plug in my ipod put on my tunes and never notice the noise.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was the LOUDEST room I've ever stayed in.

I'm no teetotaler - I've stayed in New York, Vegas, and New Orleans - none came close to how noisy this room got. I was in 3E.
On my first night I called downstairs and asked if there was a secret to drowning out the noise from the neighborhood. The very sweet girl at the front desk answered: "We provide earplugs. I'm sorry, but the windows are single-paned. You can try and switch rooms tomorrow." It's really odd, as they spent a lot of money making the hotel euro-cool. Why would you spend millions renovating and not sound-proof the windows?
On a Wednesday night the disco-thumping stopped around 2:30AM. On Thursday it didn't stop until 4AM - when I had to get up to fly home.
The staff was great for the most part -
The gentleman who checked me out wasn't so great. I told him that my stay had been completely ruined due to the sound. He wouldn't make eye contact and replied "yeah."

Do not stay at the Keating unless you're in San Diego on a serious party trip. You won't be sleeping until the sun is up.

Room Tip: Ask ahead for a room that is QUIET!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueBeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We just spent a night at The Keating. We loved how modern the rooms were, but there is no sound isolation from outside or the club downstairs. We stayed on the second floor in room 2H. We didn't sleep until after 3am and then loud construction sounding noise started at 7am. As much as we loved the room, we would not return unless they put in new windows and insulation/sound proofing.

Also, good luck with that remote control!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Very modern style! Beautiful lighting for pictures. The bed was awesome, so fluffy and I loved the beautiful, red comforter. Love the shower! The staff are very helpful and the room was exceptionally clean to a t. Located in the heart of San Diego. Everything within walking distance.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debkal4nia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La-Baule-Escoublac, France
Level Contributor
278 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

But bad experience when arriving, because they add automatically 18$ for taxes (already paid when booked online), wifi, breakfast ... Without warning ... But everything has been solved smoothly.
Nice hotel though, comfortable, interesting design. A but noisy because of the clubs around.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groovemasterjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Just stayed here with my husband for a little getaway after the holiday madness and it was fantastic! Great location, right in the center of the Gaslamp, and the staff was extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations and went out of their way to ensure we had the best time. The room was fabulous! It was ultra-modern and had a great view. By far the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever experienced, we lowered the black out shades and basically hibernated. Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Request a Vista room for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDC1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#69 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#31 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Property: The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
Address: 432 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6118
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego’s first true luxury boutique hotel that transformed the Gaslamp District from bland to chic. Situated in a building dated from 1890, The Keating is Pininfarina’s first hotel creation -world-renowned master designer behind Ferrari and Maserati. The result is a rare fusion of past and future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keating Hotel San Diego
Keating San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing