We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for a single traveller on business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
Ranked #116 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent for a single traveller on business”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is not a bad hotel. However for what you get, it is expensive. Furthermore it is noisy which may put people off. Sometimes the room was not cleaned until late in the day which can be annoying.
Good points: Great location for the convention centre. Lovely front desk staff

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    174
    87
    88
    85
See reviews for
53
376
46
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

LOUD, HOT and WEIRD
We like smaller hotels but this one was terrible. Prison like room and sinks (metal), cement floors, nice staff and bed but it was so loud in the room with street noise we could have been sleeping on the street.
Stay away from this hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Did not get more than 1/2 cup of tea or coffee from the Expresso machine, even when pushing the button for a whole cup. Enjoyed the room's amenities (i.e., music system, European décor, plush bedding & towels). The closet was a little hard to pull open and shut. Enjoyed my stay. Noisy location but still fun.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The main selling point for this hotel is that it is in an excellent location--right in the heart of the gaslamp district and you can pretty much walk everywhere. As far as the room and the hotel itself, I can say it is interesting.
Our room was beautiful--ultra modern and had a cute little deck with a jacuzzi tub (that has seen better days) and a steam shower. We tried to fill the jacuzzi one night but it was equipped with a tiny spigot so after 15 minutes of trying to fill it, we gave up.
The bed was very comfortable.
There was only one small closet that was not large enough for even one of us so we basically lived out of our suitcases for 4 days (and there was no place to store the luggage but on a chair).
The room was dark and the shower was in the middle of the room and had no door so if you aren't careful, water will get on the floor of the "bathroom" area. The shower was see through with a curtain that can separate it from the bed but did not go all the way around so that you were still exposed from the sinks/mirrors.
The room was equipped with a "white noise fan" that did not work and since there was no coffee maker in our room, we had one brought in but that did not work either. I have very modern taste and this room was almost too modern for me--too simplistic.
The breakfast was almost a joke--juices, coffee, yogurt, bread and muffins. Oh, and microwave oatmeal but there was no microwave. We ate there once and decided to go to the iHop down the street for the remainder of our stay.
The staff were very friendly and it seemed like they wore many hats (ie working the front desk, parking the cars,etc). They were all very young so when I complained about our last night (i will get to that), I knew it was falling on deaf ears.
Our last night was a disaster. After a tiring day and night, we went to sleep only to be awakened by hammering at 2am. My husband went out to see what was going on and they were doing construction in the hotel above our room. The construction guy said that they were almost done so we tried to go back to sleep. At 5am, my husband went back out and threatened the construction crew that if they did not stop, he was going to file a noise complaint! Finally they stopped and we were able to get a couple of hours of sleep before check out. I don't know what kind of crew works in the middle of the night in a hotel but it was ridiculous. Again, when I mentioned this to the young girl at the desk she mumbled something about how she heard about it and was sorry.

Overall, The Keating did not have the feel of a hotel at all. I never saw any of the staff unless I was at the front desk. The other guests that we met at breakfast did not seem too thrilled with the place either as it seemed that everyone was unhappy about something.
It is in a great location and the beds are comfortable but there may be better choices if you want a "real" hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CNat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Make sure you don't stay on the 2nd floor near the street. I stayed on a Tuesday night and was kept up till 3am by the night club next door!
The service was great and they moved me the next day, but my first night was a nightmare! I did like the European coffee maker in each room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I thought that the room was very comfortable and stylish (that bed could eat you). The location was central and the building itself has a lot of interesting qualities. I had read reviews and requested to be on the 4th or 5th floor since the windows are not very sound proof. On the 5th floor we could still hear noise from the bustling nightlife in the gaslamp quarter. However, it was definitely bearable and we were so comfortable in the bed that we had no problems sleeping. The Keating team members for the most part were very accommodating.

The breakfast was so-so especially considering the price. When paying full price it is a little steep; but for being in the middle of San Diego with all of the amenities that the Keating offers I thought it was worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a modern updating of an old building, with varied success in an effort to be hip and electronic. The oldest and slowest elevator in SD is a mellowing experience as it is like a space warp. Staff are friendly, variably helpful. The seams are still showing in this effort

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
2,003 reviews
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#67 of 278 in San Diego
1,572 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina

Property: The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
Address: 432 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6118
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego’s first true luxury boutique hotel that transformed the Gaslamp District from bland to chic. Situated in a building dated from 1890, The Keating is Pininfarina’s first hotel creation -world-renowned master designer behind Ferrari and Maserati. The result is a rare fusion of past and future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keating Hotel San Diego
Keating San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing