We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with a great location”
Review of Andaz San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Andaz San Diego
Ranked #69 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with a great location”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Took a quick overnight trip to San Diego and found this modern hotel right in the Gaslamp. Very attentive staff, clean and modern rooms (ours with the XL King with a completely see through shower -- wonderful for us!) and the hotel is just steps away from lots of dining and bar options. We enjoyed the rooftop bar and pool with some friends -- great environment. The staff was attentive but not too intrusive. We were pleasantly surprised and will return again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Andaz

Helpful?
Thank MatPak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear MatPak,
Thank you for the kind words about our team and property! I am so glad to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations! We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Rusty Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    412
    173
    90
    64
See reviews for
96
568
76
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We had a ten day trip staying in Anaheim ( Los Angeles), Newport Beach,San Diego and Palm Springs. The Andaz was the perfect place to stay. Right in the centre and everything in walking distance.Very friendly and helpful staff who greet you quite informally using iPads, and not from behind a desk.There is also a bar and Japanese restaurant, Katsuya, off the foyer which has been designed by Philippe Starck. Valet parking is available and although we didn't think we would use it it is the hassle free way to park. The hotel has fast free wi-fi which is really nice as other hotels had charge a ridiculous $11 per day !
I also had a mis-hap, and didn't realise until the last, (and furthest point away) day that I had left my expensive carbon fibre tripod in my room. 100% my fault but handled really swiftly by very helpful person in the security department, and Fed Ex'ed to me in the UK arriving a couple of days later.We only stayed 2 days here as we war booked in somewhere else in Palm Springs, but wish we had stayed longer.Great breakfast on the roof in the morning, and a rooftop bar for the evenings with good views of San Diego.Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We didn't have a view from our room but it was very contemporary and this didn't matter. A l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Geoff S,
Thank you for taking the time to share details about your stay with us at Andaz San Diego. I am so glad to hear that our team was accommodating and friendly and that you were able to enjoy RoofTop600! We hope to welcome you again for your next stay in San Diego!
Warmest regards,
Rusty Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Everything about this hotel made me think we would thoroughly enjoy our stay here when we had a group of 40+ guests book rooms. I would like to say that the hotel itself is neat. Our Cabana Suite was a great concept. However, we never got to use our cabana. They double booked it after confirming more than once with our room coordinator it would be available to us. It wasn't; and we were asked to leave in a conversation that started with " how long will you be here?" The consensus of the group was that the staff felt THEY were doing US a favor. When did this become the way of doing business? We travel frequently and I NEVER leave poor feedback. But this was blatant and terrible service. Needless to say, I don't think our guests will be returning to the San Diego Andaz with all of the other hotel options downtown.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Andaz

Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This place is so uniquely beautiful. I felt at home in the warm and modern decor. The rooftop restaurant offered great food and a wonderful view of the San Diego skyline. Would love to stay here again on my next business or pleasure trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Andaz

Helpful?
Thank Darlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Everything was excellent from the time we checked in to the time we left - can't say enough good things about the service and the quality of this hotel. Location is perfect, walking distance to all the bars, restaurants and shopping centre!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Andaz

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

GREAT!!! GREAT!!! GREAT!!! AWESOME HOTEL!!!! We stayed here in March of 2013 for a surprise birthday celebration. We had 5 rooms and had a great time. Our friends and family from out of town LOVED the hotel!!!! The roof top bar was awesome with amazing views of San Diego. The hotel and drinks are a bit $$$$. But overall we had a great time. Customer Service was great. We have another event coming up this Feb/March 2014 and will be considering the Andaz again...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDMF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cajon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have stayed in several hotels downtown and this hotel was great. Service and staff outstanding and rooms very nice. Our company Christmas party was held on the roof top and it was a great party. Every got rooms instead of taking a cab and I am glad I did. I will stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Andaz

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#45 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#31 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz San Diego

Property: Andaz San Diego
Address: 600 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6310
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#25 Green Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Andaz San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz San Diego Hotel San Diego
Ivy Hotel San Diego
Ivy San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing