We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Andaz San Diego” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andaz San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Andaz San Diego
Ranked #68 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
“Andaz San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Andaz San Diego was a wonderful experience from the moment that I walked in the door. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The beautiful room was comfortable and very clean. The food was wonderful. Sitting on the rooftop in the evening with the fireplace and heaters completed the wonderful experience. Although I came on business I would come back again to stay for leisure. Overall, a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Andaz

Helpful?
Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    401
    170
    85
    61
See reviews for
93
556
74
502
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I stayed at the Andaz for a sales meeting recently & was very pleased with the service from the staff. It was great starting each day up on the rooftop watching the sun rise. The food was great...much better than at most Hyatt properties. The room was quiet & the bed was very comfortable. Even though I live in SD & don't normally stay in hotels in the city, if the time calls for me to stay downtown, I will go back to the Andaz.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Andaz

Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Andaz San Diego was a fabulous place to stay for our vacation. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. Most tourist attractions were within a 10-15 drive. There were plenty of quality restaurants within walking distance. I would advise that parking at the hotel is expensive so if you can get by without a rental car, then save your money and use it for the local attractions such as Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo. The Andaz will be our hotel of choice when we go back to San Diego.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Andaz

Helpful?
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I stayed for 6 nights, and I had three problems. 1. Upon check-in, I was given a room facing the street, which was quite noisy. So I requested another room inside the building, which was quiet and okay. 2. I left the room early in the afternoon, and I asked the staff at the front desk to call the housekeeping staff to take care of my room. She said she would, but when I returned in the evening , the room was not cleaned! 3. Around 3am, a guy started knocking on the door and yelling at someone. I am sure he woke up everyone staying in the same corridor. He was speaking swearwords for several minutes. Apparently his girlfriend (or ex-girlfriend) was staying with another guy in the hotel at that moment, which made him extremely upset. Eventually another guy showed up and he disappeared after some quarrel. (I don't know if the other guy was security staff or a guest in the hotel room.) The next morning, I talked to a lady at the front desk about this horrible incident. She said their staff removed the guy and never said sorry -- no apology for this bad experience from any hotel staff member! For those who are considering this hotel, Andaz San Diego is located in the heart of Gaslamp area. It seemed to me that it was not so much a business hotel as a *love* hotel. For example, each room provides a love kit, which I have never seen in the US hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Andaz

Helpful?
Thank Sungwoo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

My first experience with the Andaz brand. In San Diego for business - this place is impressive. The customer service is what stands out the most. The entire staff is gracious and solicitous. My two minor concerns were not enough light in the bathroom and the overpriced drinks at the bar. Otherwise, I highly recommend and will definitely return the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Andaz

Helpful?
Thank Debra S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Debra S M,
Thank you for taking the time to review Andaz San Diego. I'm glad to read about the great service you received. Your comments regarding our Food & Beverage offerings and lighting will also be used as we make plans for future changes in our services and products.
We hope to see you again when your travel plans have you returning to the Gaslamp area of San Diego.
Regards,
Rusty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

If you want a hotel that's in town and a short walk from the shore, that's cool and a little bit different, then this is a great hotel for you. The roof top bar and pool are amazing at night and the staff are excellent...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Andaz

Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chula vista, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Overall we had a good time. the room was clean and nice. the bed was comfy. they told us we would have free wifi in the room and we just couldn't connect. another bad thing was it took the water like 20 mins to warm up and made us late for reservations

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Andaz

Helpful?
Thank Jimmy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#48 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,799 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz San Diego

Property: Andaz San Diego
Address: 600 F Street, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#25 Green Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and TravelUp so you can book your Andaz San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz San Diego Hotel San Diego
Ivy Hotel San Diego
Ivy San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing