We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay. Great location”
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sofia Hotel
Ranked #79 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I'll keep this one brief, my boyfriend and I had a very pleasant 2 night stay here.

We learned on checkout that we were upgraded (free of charge) which was excellent, we had a room with a small extra space with a sofa, desk, 2 chairs and an extra TV. There was also a mini bar, microwave and hairdryer in the room
The hotel and rooms are stylish and the bed was incredibly comfortable. There were plenty of pillows, which always makes me happy.
The service we received was great. Simple, polite, quick and efficient..really all the hallmarks of perfect hotel service.
We didn't try out the Currant bar, but I wish we had, it looked good.
We were there for a few nights before going to the Raiders/Chargers game, we spent our days trying out different bars and restaurants nearby, so the locations was perfect. Nothing we wanted to go and try was more than walking distance away.

I'd definitely return to, and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandacurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Its good to stay here for a night or two. It feels like home to me though. And its not crowded, you don't have to wait longer for the elevators. Its was a quiet stay for us.plus its a walking distance to gaslamp district.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

If you are travelling solo or a couple then you won't mind the tight quarters. The location is ideal for downtown stay, but certainly not made for travelling family of 4. They had no hot water one evening, evidently working on it the entire day but after hours waiting by 8:30 pm they had hot water running. Elevator is tiny and one was not working the last day we were there. Walls are thin too, heard about a lady's entire shopping trip at 11:30 at night.
Concierge service from Johnny and Joseph was great. Overall not recommending for families no matter how good a deal they offer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank allobonjour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed for one night with my wife and it was nice. The room was very small but since we stayed one night it didn't matter that much. Didn't like the "seethrough" bathroom door though. The staff was very polite and it´s conveniently located near the zoo and the Midway Museum.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The rooms in this hotel aren't huge but they are clean and have nice furnishings. We were only in San Diego for a few days and this was a great place to stay being close to the zoo and the great bars of the gas lamp district. Worth a stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Russ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Found this place by accident and booked a special for a queen bed, but up graded for only $50 more to a Jr suite. Incidentally the rooms aren't super big but perfect for a quick weekend get away for a longer stay get a larger room.

Beds and bedding super comfy and having the sitting room was so nice. It was cozy I would defiantly stay there again. Remember it's not super spacious, but truly lovely for $156 a night.

they let dogs stay there too, had I have know I would have lived to bring my pooches.

Downstairs the Resturant Currant served Absinthe which was exciting, cuz I love it. Also the food was to die for! we had Muscles and Frites in yellow curry sauce so tasty over the basic wine garlic sauce. Which was a option but the The wait staff was so helpful she strongly suggested we try the curry sauce and it was a hit.


They also had a Coffee Bean down stairs very convent and 4 short walking blocks to Gaslamp's
5 Av. The Horton. Plaza shopping was right across the street 2 blocks up.

Down side parking is $30 a night boo!

So add that into your budget,overall great stay and experience everyone was lovely and I loved all the greetings, so that impressed me.


Would totally stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms not super big it clean, nice and decent price. Up grade if you plan on staying more than a wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeycathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The Sofia is one of our favorites in San Diego. It lies on the north end of the Gaslamp Quarter in an historic building. We stayed a few nights on one of the suites, with a separate living room and bedroom. While small, the room was very comfortable and cozy. The furniture, bathroom layout and bedroom made the best use of the space, giving the feeling of an urban living space more than of a hotel.

The staff was gracious, helpful and unobtrusive, just as the best staff always is. The hotel restaurant was inviting and delicious.

We will doubtless stay here again.

Room Tip: We did not see a standard room, but I feel very confident recommending the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAD_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#119 of 286 in San Diego
2,825 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#56 of 286 in San Diego
743 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 286 in San Diego
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Hotel

Address: 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-3811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in San Diego
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £103 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sofia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of San Diego, The Sofia Hotel offers luxurious accommodations to please every taste. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, you will indulge in an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel San Diego
Sofia San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing