We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sofia Hotel
Ranked #80 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Surprised!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Found it randomly on HotelsTonight app... and thought eh I'll try it (because the price was low). It was EXCELLENT, especially for the price! They have a free hour walking tour on Saturday mornings (which was fun). The hotel has a rich history, and had some maintenance and remodeling done recently, and it has been well taken care of. The concierge was super helpful, they have free bikes and wifi, and free water bottles in your room. There is even an excellent restaurant featured on food walking tours attached... (The bacon burger was awesome).

Excellent value, Excellent stay, safe and right next to everything downtown.

My only complaint was that the bed was a tad firm.. but that is if I'm being picky!

Room Tip: Ask the desk person what they have (might upgrade you for nothing). Corner Queen rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMeamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    585
    193
    78
    35
See reviews for
161
562
133
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is a very nice hotel to stay in Downtown San Diego. It is easy to get to the Gaslamp district, but it can be a bit noisy depending on where you stay in the building - there can be lots of street noise. Rooms and bathrooms are small, but so is the price, so it's a good value! You are not coming to this hotel other than to sleep and rest, and change, so it's perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvonn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The accommodation was perfect for my needs - reasonably priced, clean, modernized (including bathroom). BUT, you get a European sized room for the lower price. That was the trade-off. The hotel location was within 10 minutes walking distance of either the Gaslamp district or the harbour. The #7 bus to the zoo also went right by the hotel. There regular happy hour until 7pm was great and packed. If you missed it, there was a 2nd one from 9pm to 10pm. I would recommend it with the caveat that about the smaller room size.

Room Tip: If you like Italian food, try Petrini's at 610 West Ash St in Little Italy. It was my 2nd time t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parkman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
194 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I've stayed here twice now, you can't beat the price for the location. Yes, the rooms are small, but I've never paid more than $99/night, that's great for a boutique hotel. There is a fridge in the room so you can bring your own drinks & food.

Valet is expensive, but parking anywhere in Gas Lamp is expensive. The service is quick and you have in and out privileges.

Only complaint is lack of room service. There is a restaurant IN THE HOTEL! Why can't they run up some bacon and eggs? Instead, I ran down to get the food, but they messed up the order TWICE! I will say the food was good when they finally got it right.

I will stay again next time I'm in SD.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutecdnchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed 8 nights over Christmas / New Years. Great location if you want to walk to the Gas Lamp area, to the waterfront tourist area, and to the trolleys, Coaster and Amtrac train station. Appreciated the free use of their bikes to explore the waterfront attractions. The room was cozy (small) with a comfortable mattress and bedding. Interesting that the glass shower did not have a door so the water will spray onto the tiled floor. You will hear sirens during the night which is expected being downtown. Helpfull concierge for directions and purchase of tickets for local attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor (7th) facing north to avoid looking directly into a brick wall or another gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

A nice, friendly place. SItuated at downtown SD. The room was a bit small but it was all we needed. It had a very warm and cosy atmosphere.
The only thing that we found a bit weird was the arrangement of the bathroom. The sink was actually outside the toilet, exposed, right behind the door of the room. An awkard position indeed. But as I was exploring the other floors I realised that the hotel was actually a very old building that was renovated (in a very stylish way) so I guess that this was the solution that the architects chose. No worries... We got used to it.
The cleaners were really polite and I really enjoyed sitting by the fire place downstairs at the lobby. The fitness centre was fairly well equipped. Overall we had a wonderful time there. If breakfast was included it would have been super!

Room Tip: Rooms on floors closer to street level tend to be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very well located, the rooms have the right size and are very clean, though breakfast is not an option there are plenty of places for that just around the corner! The staff is super nice and give great suggestions! If you want a view you have to let them know otherwise you'll just get a brick wall...

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Crispy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel
The Bristol Hotel
#66 of 279 in San Diego
1,184 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#60 of 279 in San Diego
864 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
960 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 279 in San Diego
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Hotel

Property: The Sofia Hotel
Address: 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-3811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in San Diego
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sofia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of San Diego, The Sofia Hotel offers luxurious accommodations to please every taste. Weather you are traveling for business or pleasure, you will indulge in an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel San Diego
Sofia San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing