We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Joint But...”
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Sofia Hotel
Ranked #80 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Central NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Classy Joint But...”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Nice hotel located in downtown Sand Diego close to the Gaslamp District. Rooms were very nice but very tiny however well-appointed. I've had bigger cabins on a cruise ships! We were a couple we 2 teenage girls in a double room and it was really hard to get around. Bathroom also was very small. Historic building loaded with great charm. Location couldn't be better with public transportation right in front. 10 minute ride from airport and a 10 minute walk to train station and waterfront. When visiting this lovely city make sure to use their convenient buses and rail system to get around at a great price. Can recommend but get a second room if travelling with more than 2 guests.

Room Tip: Use public transportation right in front of hotel. Don't miss Balboa Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cinema15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    600
    199
    80
    35
See reviews for
165
572
139
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Don't review many hotels, but this one was so good I felt compelled. Cool room, clean, great location and excellent service. I will certainly stay again the next time I am n San Diego. They really make an honest effort to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylee12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
1,216 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Hotel Sofia is a very nice hotel in a great location. We stayed here with our two dogs and had a great time. We had a two room suite which was plenty of room. The beds were comfy and rooms very clean. I did not like the $30 valet fee, but it is Downtown San Diego, so what can you do. All of the staff were very nice and helpful. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
544 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We found this gem through a RoadTrip USA book tip. It was affordable though downtown and was a great location for walking the harbor or heading into the gas lamp district for a meal. We loved the history of the place and after being on the road for two weeks, it was a great way to end!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great location in the middle of San Diego conveniently sited next to the Gas Lamp quarter. Short distance from the world famous San Diego Zoo which you can either drive to or catch the Number 7 bus, at a stop approximately one block away. I believe it costs a total of 4.50 dollars for travel to and return from the zoo. You can obtain a day pass to travel anywhere within the San Diego limits for 7 dollars, not bad. It is also worth visiting the Midway Carrier museum which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

The air conditioning good do with an overhaul as it sounds like a jet engine when it is running, however it is essential as the widows are all sealed.

The only downside is the 34 dollars per day parking fee, which came as a nasty surprise, however parking in the middle of cities in California is expensive.

I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Less traffic noise when you located in rooms on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTL723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Monte, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The room was small but very comfortable, the décor is beautiful as well. It's only a few blocks away from the "Gas Lamp District" and excellent dining as well. I was very pleased with the location, It was only (10) minutes away from the concert my wife and I attended at Humphrey's by the bay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here for just one night prior to San Diego Comic Con, and am more than a little thankful for that. Even at a AAA-discounted price of about $160/night, I paid too much.

The beds are rock-hard, there was no sheet (just two heavy duvets), and the air conditioning didn't work properly (the controller on the wall just kept flashing a red light and it never got below about 75 degrees in the room, though I'm not even sure that's the correct temperature because it certainly felt a lot hotter). The room was also TINY - it had two double beds, but barely any space to move around them. Two people could stay in one of these rooms, but three or four? No way.

Also, the bathroom was just a walk-in shower with a glass wall that blocked off MAYBE half of the shower itself. Only a small child could shower in there without soaking the floor.

The morning I checked out, I went down to the coffee shop to grab breakfast and when I returned to the room it smelled strongly of sewage. Needless to say I packed up and got out of there as soon as I could.

Oh, and the required $8-ish per night fee to cover internet that constantly kicks you off and two bottles of water? I'd rather not pay the $8 and just not have internet/overpriced bottled water.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ageeksaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel
The Bristol Hotel
#68 of 279 in San Diego
1,200 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
The Horton Grand Hotel
#65 of 279 in San Diego
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
972 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#59 of 279 in San Diego
894 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Hotel

Property: The Sofia Hotel
Address: 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-3811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in San Diego
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sofia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of San Diego, The Sofia Hotel offers luxurious accommodations to please every taste. Weather you are traveling for business or pleasure, you will indulge in an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel San Diego
Sofia San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing