We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, and not the best Indian food I've had”

Masala Spices of India
Ranked #2,047 of 4,753 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: US$25 - US$40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: K Street
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pricey, and not the best Indian food I've had”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The best thing about this restaurant is the mango mousse. That tasted great. The lunch buffet was expensive and not the best I've had. Forty dollars for two adult lunch buffets and one child's buffet (didn't even have drinks) and the chicken tikka masala tasted like sauce from a jar. The naan was doughy. The decor was pretty cool.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladydoc2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    34
    29
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Great atmosphere. Good service. Nice decor. Was by far my favourite restaurant that we stumbled on in San Diego. I highly recommend it if you enjoy curries and other.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank monkeygirlcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
201 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Satisfying lunch buffet”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Visited for lunch during a break from convention. The restaurant is located a few short blocks from the cc, so expect a wait to be seated. The place is huge, so the line for the buffet was long at times. There were several food choices, all good but not outstanding, as expected from a buffet. Service was slow. Nice ambiance at night.

Helpful?
Thank nytoparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good staff bad food”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I am a lover Of inadian cousine and i just tried this restaurand but i was despointed with the taste and quality of food. I ordered mango tikka and madras chicken. Mango tikka seems chinese supermarket lemon chicken. Very low quality. The rice was very plane.
But the place is very clean and nice and the staff is wonderful!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena_vacaiones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly service but average spicy foos”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We were a little disappointed with this place. Service was good & the place is well presented.

The food however was pretty average & the spiciness of Indian food was dumbed down -we had a lamb vindaloo that was not spicy at all just a red paste! The lamb & lentils was nice but had no real flavor. The garlic naan & the malai kofta were the only dishes I would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank DellA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Masala Spices of India also viewed

 

Been to Masala Spices of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing