We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Porto Vista Hotel
Ranked #112 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Unfortunately, this hotel was not "all that". The main photo is the western view where the restaurant, Glass Door, is located which is great and romantic! The rest is like a motel--all interior views like a cheap motel. We had to move because the first was so musty. The "remodeled" room was only better because the ceilings were higher & had a large window in the bath. Will only stay there again in a pinch.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    548
    336
    188
    197
See reviews for
318
639
133
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I didn't have high expectation on this hotel since I've read the reviews on tripadvisor before I went. but I am still very disapointed.. not because of the small room without fridge and hair drier, but the poor service..
The first night finding out there was no hair drier in the room.. I called the front desk and the guy said he would send someone to bring us one. but after 20 mins, no one was coming.. I went to the reception by myself to take it, but the guy at the reception said he didn't have one there, he had to call someone to get it.. and he didn't even sounds friendly.. I went back and started watching a movie, and after one hour, still no one came.. I called again and the guy said sorry, he'll send someone right away, then another 10mins, again, no one came..
I called again, and being ignored this time.. so disappointed.. if you cant find one, can you just say sorry and tell me that?..
other than that, the location is great, very close to little Italy, where you can find a lot of good places to eat and hang out. the roof resteraunt has a good view too.
but.. I'll never come back..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Xiangyu Cecilia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The thing I most appreciate about TripAdvisor is the chance to get to know a property and properly set your expectations on it before showing up. The Porto Vista Hotel is one of those places where you can have a great time if you know what you're signing up for. Know up front that you:

Will pay $22 for on-site valet parking
Are staying in an older, remodeled motel-type property
Won't have a pool or hot tub
May have a small room, without much of a view

These seem to be the things that disappoint the most, especially when you're unprepared, and frankly, I set my expectations low. However, I had booked a very nice rate on kayak.com.

So I was actually pleasantly surprised to find the Porto Vista was not the bad property some reviews had prepared me for. My sister and I were assigned a double room on the 4th floor, facing quiet State Street. The room was plenty big, clean and in good shape. While the furniture seemed to have been held over from before the remodel, it looked fine. The beds were quite comfortable, with soft linens and plenty of pillows. We had a flat screen TV, wet bar sink, microwave and refrigerator. The bathroom was clean and remodeled, with European style fixtures and stone tile flooring. People have mixed opinions on the large B/W photos adorning one of your walls, but I really liked it. There is free WiFi. It was somewhat flaky during our stay but great when working. Porto Vista seems to have a lot of different room styles, so we may have lucked out with one of the better ones.

The roof has a great view, but otherwise there's not much going on. Most of the space looks like it can be booked for private parties, and it's closed off to other guests. The Glass Door is the on site restaurant, and it was nice. On a Saturday night, it was loud and crowded, so we didn't even catch a drink there. But it was perfect for an enjoyable Sunday breakfast, with creative dishes and a perfect view of the bay. The service was very friendly - from our server in the restaurant, to the front desk staff to the valet.

Location is one of the best features - walk out the front door and you're a block from the restaurants and shops of Little Italy. We had dinner at Prep Kitchen, and it was wonderful. The best part was being able to stroll 3 blocks from dinner and be back at the hotel. It's a nice neighborhood for a Sunday morning stroll. Since it's also somewhat residential, you can take in a lot of neighborhood activity.

We paid in the low 100s, and I thought this was very reasonable for what we got. At that rate, I'd do it again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGP67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Strange humidity in the hotel all weekend, oddly it seems more humid in the room with the ac running than it is outside. Casual continuous party in the sitting area near the elevators which echoed through the entire hotel through the night. Woke up to 2 employees screaming in our beautiful view of the parking area in the middle of the motel. There is a sound that can only be described as a thunderous roar as someone walks by the room (on your floor or above). 22 dollar/nt "free" parking that is valet only, unless you arrive late at night, then you park yourself and still get to pay 22 dollars. The place has great curb appeal but once you leave the lobby its quite different than what you would expect. Very contemporary feel in the lobby, very Motel 6 when you get out of the elevator and into the room.

On the upside, the employees are fantastic, the location is great. If I was 21 and in college again I would dive into this motel any day of the week and join the party that I hear all night. Restaurant/Bar was great, good cocktails and food

Thank you livingsocial for this one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This place was OK for the money and pretty good on the location. The room was small and had a bit of a smell but the service from the fron desk staff including Keith and Vanessa were really responsive to our request for a room change and helped make our stay much better.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room that matches the service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed in March in Upgrated rooms (had 2 rooms) on the 4th floor. I got scared by previous reviews about the smell and mold in bathrooms and agreed to the upgrated rooms and it was probably worth it because there was no mold or bad smell anywhere. The hotel building is indeed old, and the rooms felt like renovated and dressed up old rooms, but they did quite a good job on it. The King deluxe with the balcony had new toilet and bathtub and felt very fresh, bed was super comfortable with thick mattress, had refrigerator and microwave, there was some ocean view on the side of the balcony. The double queen room was large, had old toilet and on-floor-shower, but definately no mold and was clean. Mattresses were super thick. TVs were flatscreens and bright in both rooms. All locks and doors worked fine. The only thing we didn't like was The glass door restaurant which is kind of a separate business obviously popular with public, so we let them have it the way it is. Its not just overpriced, its uneatable. There's plenty alternative places to eat in the area. The other thing I liked was how quiet it was being a block away from India street. Rooms were cleaned as expected, service was not annoying. We had quite a pleasant experience. Vallet parking is 22 dollars though. Parking on the street is possible, not on Saturday or Friday night, and you have to pay at the meter anyway. We didn't have to use any air condition in March so I know nothing on how good or bad it is.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel through a last minute type site that doesnt tell you the hotel till you book and I have to say it easily lived up to its rating. It is a great location for both downtown, little Italy and the freeway. The rooms were spacious and clean with a microwave. The hotel staff were very friendly and the valet staff very quick. If you're looking for a reasonable place to stay then this is a good option. It is essentially a motel with a fancy lobby but if all you need is a clean and comfortable room for the night then consider it.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurebuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#72 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
La Pensione
#108 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#80 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#120 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
Downtown
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Vista Hotel

Property: Porto Vista Hotel
Address: 1835 Columbia St, San Diego, CA 92101-2505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Porto Vista Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in the heart of Little Italy, only four blocks from San Diego harbor, the Porto Vista Hotel offers a breezy gateway to everything the city has to offer. Whatever you'd like to do, see, taste, or try is only minutes from this hotel on the edge of Downtown San Diego.The quaint bistros, shops and art galleries of Little Italy are right outside our doors. A two-minute cab or trolley ride gets you to Petco Park and the vibrant Gaslamp nightlife district, Old Town San Diego, the museums of Balboa Park, and Qualcomm Stadium. As a truly unique choice among affordable hotels in San Diego the Porto Vista features impeccable service in a dynamic central location. Shuttle service is provided to nearby locations including Airport, Cruise Terminal, Convention Center, Amtrak, Gaslamp Quarter/Horton Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection San Diego
San Diego Ascend Collection
San Diego Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing