We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Ranked #11 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Great place to saty, good location, not to far from downtown, but far enough for peace and quite. Great Staff !! Derek and Duncan were always willing to help !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNGuy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek K, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We love to hear that you had a great stay and that our staff was accomodating and helpful. We strive to make our guests feel as if any need they may have will be taken care of.


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Homewood Suites Liberty Station Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,022
    338
    75
    26
    12
See reviews for
766
277
43
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I have stayed at many Homewood Suites including this one in the past. This place is one of my favorite hotels to stay as they always make me feel like at home. I’m currently on an extended stay and am blown away by how the staff continues to go above and beyond to ensure guests have a great stay. The place is in fantastic condition and the staff performs maintenance and upkeep constantly. One night the pool table got destroyed and it was replaced two days later. The bbq grills are cleaned everyday and the staff will light them for you if needed and provided utensils.

Every encounter I have with the staff has been very pleasant. My luggage was stored upon arrival while they were preparing my room. I went to get it and could not carry it all and went to make another trip when the lady from the front desk jumped in and brought it to me. The cleaning team is very efficient and pretty stealthy. I reluctantly single out people when the entire staff is great. In this case I have to say the entire food team went above and beyond to accommodate. One example is the eggs were not good for a long time because the way they were prepared (steamed). One of the new employees took the initiative to fry them in a pan and add a little garnish. They were like a totally different product and were very delicious. I spoke to him and found out he actually went to the Courtyard hotel next door (opened by the same company) to use their pan. Marten and Stephanie who work the dinner/happy hour are very friendly and quite efficient. They do an excellent job keeping things stocked and cleaned and are always friendly.

The hotel is a great location as others have noted. All the amenities of this place make it a great deal but the STAFF makes this place special. They are very proud of their Trip Advisor Award and continually strive to please everyone. It is very obvious the management and entire team are focused on delivering a great hotel stay for all guests!

One side note, guests are allowed to use the fitness center next door afterhours since the ones here are only open from 6:00 am to 10:00 pm. The Courtyard next door is also nice and they have a restaurant and bar which attract a good crowd.

Room Tip: Water views are nice here as you also get to see the walking paths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barryvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek K, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
It's always an honor to have repeat guests post sterling reviews about our hotel and the continued efforts made by our staff. We greatly appreciate the time you took to write this review and look forward to providing that exceptional service that you have come to expect from us on your next visit.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,
Homewood Suites Liberty Station Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We had great service, nice breakfasts, easy laundry facilities, and a perfect room for a family. We enjoyed the central location and free parking. The place was fully booked when we were there, and everything still went smoothly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raleighgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

this place was fantastic, not to mention convenient to most attractions, stores, and freeways. it's comparable to being in a mini resort, without paying the resort prices. I don't think I can add on to what's already posted except I wished I would have stayed here longer!

Room Tip: choose the ones in the back, so the balcony is facing the water instead of the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chopstick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed there for 4 days with my family in a 2-bedroom suite. The room was very clean and well equipped. It is just a few minutes from the airport, and since we got in late at night, we were in our beds in no time.

The staff is amiable and you get all you can expect from a Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PanamaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Great location right by the airport. We weren't bothered by airport noise. Liberty Station has playgrounds for the kids, open space and walking paths, plus a great variety of restaurants all within walking distance. We walked to Ikiru sushi at night and felt perfectly safe.

We booked a two-bed/two-bath suite that included a fully stocked kitchen (and three flat-screen TVs). This was very comfortable for our family of five, with one child on the sofa bed.

The complimentary breakfast featured the usual choices, including make it yourself waffles. I really appreciated the hot-at-all-hours coffee bar, and my family enjoyed the billiards table and the swimming pool. I wasn't able to connect to the wifi in our room, but I ducked into the business center for a quick website check.

The manager, Dell, was able to give us a 2pm check out time, which allowed us time to have a late-morning swim and enjoy our left-over teriyaki beef/chicken in our room with some extras from Trader Joe's.

Some guests use the hotel for long-term stays. I think it would be very comfortable as temporary quarters.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miriamoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

There's a lot of positive things about this place.

First is location -- it's extremely convenient to the airport and most of the attractions as well. There is also a Trader Joes and Vons within less than a half mile -- almost walking distance. The location on the esplanade park and walkway is wonderful, with bayfront/estuary views and a huge walking/biking pathway right outside the door and a huge park there too. Its in a quiet safe neighborhood with the only sound disturbances being the planes taking off, because of the proximity to the airport.

The rooms have a nice almost full kitchen -- full size fridge, dishwasher, microwave, 2 burner range and no oven. There is a nice large granite type counter area that is very convenient for food preparation and a small dining table with 2 chairs in our one bedroom unit. There's a nice little balcony with one chair on it -- for a little reading or coffee in the sunshine. There are two LG flatscreen TVs -- one in the living room and one in the bedroom that are quite adequate. The fold out couch in the living room is smallish and the cushions are showing some age related compression, but it was still comfortable. There's a worktable with ergonomic chair and easy web access stuff and outlets that are efficient and comfortable. The bed linens are soft and comfortable, there are a wide variety of pillows available. The toilet paper is Cottonelle -- so it's nice and soft, not the single ply sandpaper stuff that many places are trying to offer now, and the toiletries are very nice Neutrogena products.

The business center computers are antiquated and slow and pretty much only useful for printing out boarding passes. The laundry is large and bright with plenty of machines that are modern and do a good job. My husband enjoyed the exercise equipment that included a treadmill, elliptical, stationary bike, free weights and a weight machine - drinking fountains and a TV were available in the workout room.

The gardens and outdoor areas were extensive, well landscaped and maintained.. There was quite a variety of outdoor seating available, with many areas having gas fireplaces in the seating areas. There were several outdoor grills available for guest use that were modern, clean and ready to go.
The breakfast and dinner offerings are adequate - but not gourmet. You get hot filling food, but it's just kind of average. Standard make your own waffles, bagels, english muffins, etc, - three "hot offerings" which usually are eggs, sausage and tater tots -- the best of which is the tater tots, and a fruit and yogurt bar that has canned peaches, canned mandarins, cottage cheese and yogurt, and some fresh melon chunks. Evening offerings are a nice enough salad bar, and a hot offering that has been during our stay - edible, but mostly because it's included. There's drinkable wine and beer and with the nice pool table and fireplace area, it offers a nice opportunity to unwind after the day.
I found the staff to be friendly and responsive, even when our flight was delayed. The cleaning staff is polite, unobtrusive and efficient.
The hotel offers very good rates, with nice discounts for government and AAA and they participate in the HH points program. It is a family oriented hotel, so there will be kids at breakfast, in the pool, etc.... and, of course, their behavior is up to their parents ... but we had no problem with noise.
Overall - the best place to stay in SanDiego if you're not looking for night life, excitement etc. If you want a great convenient location, nice facilities, large room, kitchen facilities, and the open air experience -- with just a few minutes to the zoo, SeaWorld, Balboa park, airport and downtown -- no parking fees, no internet fees, and a safe place where you and your kids can stretch out and run around.... This one's got it!!!

Room Tip: Use your HH rewards site to make requests or go the Homewood Suites site where you can actually pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ktheider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#16 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing