We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, free parking, full kitchen, free breakfast & dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Ranked #8 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Location, free parking, full kitchen, free breakfast & dinner”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have stayed at this Homewood Suites four times in the last few years and it is always a delightful place to vacation. Each time we stay a little longer. This time we stayed for 7 days. The location is close to all the SD attractions without being right on top of them, so it is a serene place to return to each evening. There is plenty of free parking (big plus in the SD area). I love the full kitchen. There is a Von's and Trader Joe's very close (practically within walking distance), so you can fix a meal/snack and just enjoy relaxing in the room or on the balcony.

I agree with the other reviews that breakfast/dinner was pretty chaotic and noisy during this past stay at Christmas. However, the staff was amazing! They kept the serving dishes full and clean and tried their best to honor everyone's requests. We chose to take our breakfast and dinner to their lovely outside seating area for several of our meals. It was quiet and calm dining with a great bay view. It was great to have this choice.

Room Tip: The studio suite has more room to move around than the one bedroom. Great choice if there are only 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funNsun324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda A, Front Office Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us again while you visited San Diego! I wanted to say thank you for sharing some great photos from your Christmas stay with us, as well as your awesome comments! We look forward to your next visit with us!

Amanda A.
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,084
    348
    79
    26
    13
See reviews for
810
288
46
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, UK
Level Contributor
192 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I agree with the review before mine. Lots of positives about this property, but quite expensive considering how manic it was at breakfast and the food really is sub-standard. My advice - go elsewhere for breakfast. There is a Starbucks in the same complex, and about 10 minutes' walk away is a lovely precinct with a Von's, Starbucks and other cafes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warrington_UKVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda A, Front Office Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Homewood Suites in Liberty Station! I am sorry to hear the breakfast experience was not the best it could have been. Over the holiday season we were very busy with families, keeping our dining area very busy from open to close. We will be undergoing a complete renovation thsi year to improve our guest’s experience. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Diego!

Amanda A.
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Homewood Suites. We chose the hotel as it fit my husband's requirements, free breakfast, free parking, and 2 beds. The Trip Advisor reviews were mainly very positive. We knew there would be airplane noise and this didn't concern us. To make it simple here are some of the Pros and Cons:

Pros:

1. Location, location, location. 10-15 minute drive from the tourist activities.
2. Little traffic in the area.
3. Free parking and plenty of it.
4. Free breakfast and dinner during the week.
5. Sports court, pool table, pool, jacuzzi, outdoor fireplaces, and walking trail.
6. Suites with refrigerator, stove and sink.
7. Nice view, if your room doesn't overlook the parking lot.

Cons:

1. Rooms-The rooms are compact. We had 2 teens and 2 adults in a 1 bedroom non-smoking suite. Fortunately no smoke smell came from anywhere! The toilet and shower are in a separate room in the bedroom. The vanity is outside the toilet/shower room. There is no sink in the toilet room, and no mirror. There is no trash can at the vanity.

The downfall with the room set up is privacy as there is no separate door for the vanity area, and it is at the edge of the bedroom, only feet away from the bed. Personally I like when the vanity is at one end of the room, so that I can have my privacy when putting on my make-up.

2. Breakfast---not enough choices, food is blah, and there was a long line for the two waffle makers. The breakfast area needs an efficiency expert to figure out how to prevent the log jams at the waffle maker, fruit buffet, and the toaster area. There were not enough tables, sofas, chairs etc. for the guests to eat at breakfast or dinner.

3. Noise- We had a lovely view from our room overlooking the pool. The only problem, one can hear the screaming in the pool. Given this hotel is near the airport, one would think the window glass would have been thick enough to eliminate some of the noise. We could also hear the TV in the neighboring room. If you are not a morning person, skip breakfast, the noise level in the dining area from cartoons on the TV and kids crying is enough to ruin your day!

4. Housekeeping---The room wasn't set up for 4 when we arrived. The bathroom vent hadn't been dusted in some time and the tile floor needed a good cleaning. Management handled both requests immediately. One day our towels were changed but our bed not made.

5. Price point--this hotel has tried to add some extra amenities to make up for the airport noise. There were some hotels with higher ratings, that were less expensive, but we wouldn't have free breakfast, or free parking. We decided to pay a little more rather than having to deal with going out to breakfast. Would I do this again, probably. If you book on their website you can receive an AAA discount, making the rate lower than other options.

6. Staff--while friendly, we found it forced rather than sincere. But, better some type of friendly than not at all.

7. Vagrant issue requires doors be kept locked and as such to get into the main building one has to have a key. ASK FOR EXTRA KEYS for everyone in your party. This will allow them into the building for mealtime and to use the pool table. We actually saw a vagrant camping out in one of the doorways. Management advised they had chased the man away once before.

Bottom line:

As long as you know what to expect, you won't be disappointed. One year we stayed in a condo in Oahu knowing the carpet was going to be gross, but according to Trip Adviser the amenities and location made up for the carpet. We knew this going in, and as such we had no complaints!

The location of the Homewood Suites and it's amenities make it worthwhile to stay here if you are travelling with family. Otherwise, find yourself a quieter and more relaxing hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool, if you want the view and don't mind the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luv2trvlRedondoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda A, Front Office Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Homewood Suites in Liberty Station! I want to thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review about your recent stay with us. I will pass along the breakfast comments to our department manager. They have been working hard to make the best breakfast experience as possible for our guests. This year we will be undergoing a complete renovation which will improve our rooms, lobby and dining areas. We hope you will stay with us again in the future to see our new improvements!

Amanda A.
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Truly enjoyed our 1 week stay with 2 young kids; very friendly, professional & customer oriented staff; good/hot complimentary breakfast and very satisfied with the fast & stable complimentary high speed wireless internet (very important for us); close to many attractions; etc. We'll definitely come back to this hotel in future visits.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank alvkhtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda A, Front Office Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your great comments with us! We appreciate all the great feedback! I will be sure to share it with our departments! We look forward to your next visit with us!

Amanda A.
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
276 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We recently spent a week there. It is located right off the airport, very convenient. Because of its proximity to the airport, you CAN hear the airplane taking off and landing, in the evenings even when your windows are closed. However, the flights stop approx from 10pm to 6am (I think). So you can get a good night sleep, if you sleep in the regular times.

As for the hotel, I stayed at three different homewood hotels (in three different cities) and like my experience. Always have pleasant staff, free breakfast, free parking, free internet in the room, among other things. They also have the free 'light dinner' from Monday to Thursday, which are very good most of the time.

For this particular hotel, the AC's opening is right outside one room in the suite. When this unit starts itself in the mid of night, it will wake up everyone in the room. Since it was not too hot (in Dec), we just turned AC off before sleep. I am not sure what happens in the summer.

A little wish for a 'home suite' that has the entire set of cooking facilities, it would be nice (and costs little) to have a cloth line in the bathroom, so that someone can wash and dry socks or other stuff, if they prefer to wash themselves. Anyway, I like the brand and hope it improves itself in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sun20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda A, Front Office Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Homewood Suites in Liberty Station! We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay! I will pass your comments along to the proper departments. We will be undergoing a complete renovation in 2014, everything from our guest rooms to our lobby! We hope to see you again the next time you are in San Diego!

Amanda A.
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I can always trust Homewood suites for a great stay so when I booked the one in san Diego is was great!

My boyfriend and I stayed here because of the great price and FREE parking! We had tickets to the chargers & giants game so this was a perfect location to park our car at the old town station and go from there.

Our room was clean and smelt really nice, the breakfast was great as always!

One minor thing was that some of the utensils in our room were missing and we didn't get the top floor and I was an honors member.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RNA47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda A, Front Office Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Homewood Suites in Liberty Station and sharing this great review! I am happy to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and you were able to take advantage of our great location and free parking!! I am sorry to hear we could not get you a top floor room! We try our best to honor each request for all our guests, but unfortunately we are not always able to. I am glad that you still had a great time though! We hope to see you again soon!

Amanda A.
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is not just a Homewood Suites..it's a bit of a resort. The pool and outdoor fireplace looks out over a canal…that has a great running trail over to Shelter Island marina. Great breakfast and good family apartment type rooms. Clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda A, Front Office Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the Homewood Suites in Liberty Station! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us! Thank you for your great comments! We hope to see you again the next time you are in San Diego!

Amanda A.
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing