We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Ranked #9 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Hohum”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

It was OK. Proximity to work was nice. However, it is definitely kid-centric. Front desk was somewhat helpful at times and sometimes not. Asked for a rental car, wasn't there when I arrived. The front desk had to call them again. When I received the car the blower motor went out after driving for 20 minutes. Needless to say hot trip. Also, airport shuttle left without me on my last day. Although, the front desk did call and pay for a taxi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anonymous02780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your comments! I am sorry to hear that your rental car company and vehicle was subpar. I am not sure how much control we would have over that...Also, my apologies for the shuttle leaving without you....I am glad we were able to get you a cab and get you to the airport.
I am sorry that your stay was "hohum," we strive to give our guests the best service. I will discuss your comments with my staff in an effort to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,096
    351
    81
    26
    13
See reviews for
818
292
46
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a great hotel if you have kids, bring your bikes! Liberty Station is a beautiful park and has great restaurants! Incredible views of downtown San Diego. Next time we will rent the kayaks right out front of the hotel to go paddling in the bay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank 452vickih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for the wonderful remarks! We do believe we have a great location for families and all travelers. The huge park, the waterway behind the hotel, multiple places to shop and eat within the Liberty Station area! Thank you for taking note of the amenities and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Everything was excellent except breakfast buffet. The food choices were few and the quality of food was left to be desired. If you do not mind the last one, stay at this place and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Magician2166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and rating! I am glad you enjoyed your stay, however I wish you had been more specific about the buffet breakfast......we do pay attention to our guests comments and use them for improvement. Again, thanks for the overall great rating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

For the time of our stay, I would give this hotel a rating of 3.5. During our stay, the1st floor of the South Tower (our room was located on 2nd floor) was under renovation, so I was a little concerned with having to go thru a construction zone every time I left or went back to my room. Our actual room was very nice as we were upgraded to a 2-bedroom suite at no extra charge. The "terrace" area on the 3rd floor of our building had nothing there, whereas the Terrace on the 3rd floor of the North Tower was furnished with lounge chairs. Overall, it has potential of a rating of 4 or 5 once the renovations are completed in the South Tower, and they should extend the "happy hour" to Fri, Sat & Sun instead of just Mon-Thur. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bernadette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your sincere remarks! I am glad that the inconvenience of the renovation did not completely distract you from your stay. As you point out, we will be adding tables and seating to the observation decks to make them more inviting. As for the lack of "happy hour" over the weekends we have to follow the Homewood Suites Brand Standard which mandates service Monday through Thursday nights. Again, thank you for your remarks and please visit during your next trip to San Diego so you can enjoy the "new" look of Homewood Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signal Hill, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We checked in for a one-night stay using our annual HHonors Gold free weekend rate. There are sufficient signs to make finding the makeshift lobby easy, but it's a little odd checking into a hotel in a conference room (it was quite like checking into a conference). The staff was friendly and efficient, having all of our paperwork and room keys ready to go upon arrival.

The suite we had (2 bedroom) was spacious, clean, and comfortable. We heard no airport noise and slept soundly.

The breakfast had some hot foods (eggs, sausage patties, etc) plus the beloved waffle station in addition to cereals and breads of all sorts. It was not too crowded and there were plenty of places to stay.

There was plenty of parking available and area around the hotel is nice for walking. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Quinn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for the kind review! The recent renovation placed unusual challanges on our staff and we did all we could to mitigate the inconvenience to our guests. I am glad that we succeeded and you had a pleasant stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The staff are the friendless of any hotel I've stayed in. The rooms are always clean and up to date. Nice quiet area of the city to stay in. Local eateries are within walking distance and other shops are close by. USAA and NFCU ATMs are in the immediate area. This is a safe area for families. The pool is well maintained. It's my very favorite place to stay in San Diego and I look forward to seeing the smiling faces of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Orin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments! Our goal is to provide our guests with the best experience possible and we thank you for your loyalty! Till next time....take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel is perfect for your next trip to the San Diego area. It is convienently located next to the airport, PT Loma Navy base and the many restaurants, bars and shops in Liberty station. It is also centrally located between Sea World and downtown/zoo. Rooms are spacious and clean and the property has a great pool, basketball court and outdoor grills if you want to eat in. Breakfast and happy hour/dinner included during weekdays! The Sales Manager and her staff are very hospitable and accomodating and will ensure a pleasant experience during your stay. This place will be my first choice whenever I visit San Diego. Book early because the word is out!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! I am pleased we were able to provide you with a great stay! Looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing