We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RAD”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #26 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Alameda, California
2 reviews
“RAD”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here for a friends wedding and it was amazing! The service we had was unforgettable. The front desk girl that checked me in was Jen and she was very knowledgable about the area and places to go see and do in between the wedding. And the bartender made some awesome drinks. We enjoyed our stay very much. The only thing I would say they could change is their parking situation and some kind of breakfast with their awesome coffee but other than that I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
THANK YOU for the RAD review!! We truly appreciate your support of our family business. Hope you can return for another stay. Make it a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    215
    57
    31
    21
See reviews for
105
456
112
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison Heights, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I was there several years ago and I have always planned to come back. From the restaurant that uses local produce, breads and meats, to lying in a pool and watching a movie at the 'dive-in' screen it was a wonderful place to not worry about the logistics of travel. It's homey in all the right places, refined as well. The staff all speak English (surprise!) and go out of there way to make you feel welcome. Wonderful moment: lying in a hammock next to the pool in the early morning cool, reading a book when a staff member calls across the pool 'you need more coffee?' and then trots around the pool with a carafe for a refill.
The room was nice with a platform bed and comfortable amenities. I need to get back here and not leave for a few days.

Room Tip: The ones on the back hall are quieter. If you have a car, pick one that is on ground level so you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toshua99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
On behalf of the entire Pearl team, thank you for your kind review! We appreciate you. Thank you for returning to stay with us. Love the visual image you provided. Our staff strives to provide top notch service. Hope to see you again soon. Please tell a friend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearny, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel was cute and trendy. Great Restaurant on-site offering movie night every night on the outside screen over the pool. Short stay but had an awesome experience! They also had beach cruisers for guests to use while staying there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cin_Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks for the great review. Glad you enjoyed our little Pearl Hotel. Always striving to provide the very best in guest experience. Come visit us again soon. Tell a Friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

lovely hotel. peaceful and refined. friendly staff especially there concierge Kyla she was very helpful and knowledgeable. My room tastefully decorated the heated pool and the bar was a treat. I would recommend the pear for a great experience.

Room Tip: Room 9 is the biggest and has its own patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are honored you chose to stay with us at The Pearl Hotel. Greatly appreciate your support. Thank you for the kind review. Make it a great day. Tell a friend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend The Pearl for your next visit to San Diego. This is a smaller locally owned hotel near Point Loma. It has everything you expect from a hotel, plus a lot of personal touches you can't get in a chain. The rooms were nicely decorated and clean. They have an amazingly friendly staff. The food is spectacular. They do outdoor movie nights around the pool. Many folks show up just for the dinner/movie. They have about ten signature cocktails and a dozen craft brews on tap. These rotate regularly as I understand it. They give you a daily note with the weather, and any specials/events that are going on. My buddy received 2 free cocktails for being a repeat customer. It had been a couple of years since he was last there, so they really make an effort to remember their guests. Also, it's only about a ten minute drive to downtown San Diego. The staff will send you personalized correspondence to welcome you as well as ensuring that you enjoyed your stay afterward. You get all of this for about half the cost of the gas lamp.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
From the entire Pearl team, a BIG thank you for your 5-star review! Glad to hear you had an amazing stay. We pride ourselves on providing the best guest experience in town - recognizing returning guests is part of that. Hope you can come back soon. Tell a friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at the Pearl a few weeks ago kicking off our tour of the western US. Though it didn't look like much when we pulled up, we were blown away by how awesome everything was when we got checked in. The room was decent sized, and had everything we needed. The bar and restaurant were lively and full of ambiance, and the food and drinks were incredibly good.

Though the accommodations were fantastic, what really made this place our favorite stop on the journey were the incredibly helpful staff. Ben was working during our first morning and he took a great amount of time to help us figure out what spots to check out in town. He gave us about five maps to work off of and some awesome recommendations for cool places away from the tourist spots. Meagan was also super helpful in our search for a rental car place nearby. The bar staff were friendly and served up a mean rye-tai.

Though we could see how the pearl is not for every traveler, if you are wanting to have fun in a charismatic and charming upbeat hotel, look no further!!!

Cheers,
J&E

Room Tip: King size room, ask for a patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for choosing The Pearl to kick off your vacation and deeming it your FAVORITE!! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff provided rockstar service. Please tell a friend and come back soon. Make it an amazing day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masaka, Uganda
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I loved the intimate feel of the property that somehow simultaneously worked with the privacy of my room. I worry about small boutique hotels sometimes because while I like the idea of getting to know people, and of being in a small space (as opposed to a vast, corporate property), I very much value my own space at the same time. The Pearl offers both. Room number 1, where I stayed, is literally steps from the pool and fun bar/restaurant, and yet thanks to the clever design and smart placement of fences and plants, I felt tucked safely away. Small patio off the back, too! I'm a big believer in supporting locally owned businesses (am writing this from a similar property in Phoenix now), and The Pearl delivered without asking me to compromise. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or patio. San Diego is too fabulous to stay inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enndee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Appreciate your support of our small family business. Glad to hear you enjoyed our thoughtful design. Tell a friend. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Dolphin Motel
#17 of 278 in San Diego
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 1410 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92106-2239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#24 Family Hotel in San Diego
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#35 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pearl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Hotel San Diego
Pearl San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing