We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, hip hotel”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #46 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed staying at this hotel, especially sipping cocktails by the pool in the evening while the Jetsons played on a movie screen. We are recent empty nesters and this hotel reminded us of what it is like to be young and carefree again!

Room Tip: Standard room was perfectly comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marji0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Appreciate your review and the support. Honored to have you as our guests and hope you can return again soon! Please tell a friend. Make it a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Wonderful rooms surrounding a great restaurant. I've been eating and drinking at The Pearl for years and it never disappoints. Plates and drinks are on par with some of the best in town. What's different about The Pearl is that they do it in a fun and unique way, completely void of pretension. Finally had the opportunity to stay in one of the poolside rooms. Much like the feel of the restaurant the rooms have a vintage charm with all the modern comforts and amenities you'll ever need (I was tempted to steal a pillow). If you're a fan of one of a kind boutique hotels stay at the pearl, relax by the pool, have a drink and treat yourself to a fantastic dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LeviWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thanks for your kind review. We truly appreciate the local support and are glad to hear you had the opportunity to stay a night with us. Come visit again soon. The Pearl shines brightest when you are here. Make it a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is reminiscent of European pensions. Very different than the website pictures. Goldfish in each room. Very noisy until about 11 pm due to proximity of the bar. Great swim in tiny pool in am.

Room Tip: Be prepared for different - not your Hilton/Holiday Inn experience - but cheap :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us at The Pearl. We are definitely not like the big box/chain hotels. We are a family owned boutique hotel that strives to provide top notch guest service and quality accommodations. Very sorry to hear about the noise challenge on the evening you stayed with us. Hope you will consider giving us another try in the future. Make it a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

What a hidden gem! It was such a great stay and the service was above and beyond - the entire staff was extremely helpful, especially Meghan at the front desk who checked us in! We loved the style of the rooms (we had mirrors on the ceilings!) and the atmosphere of the restaurant at night. We went with our servers recommendation and the brussel sprouts are to die for! We cannot wait to come back on a Wednesday night for movie night!

Room Tip: Request a room with a patio/balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

On behalf of the entire Pearl team, thank you for the great review. We truly appreciate the support. Glad you had a chance to enjoy the restaurant and hope to see you at Dive-In Theatre. Fun times. Make it a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This place is awesome. The rooms are awesome, the people at the front desk are beyond awesome, and don’t get me started on the food and drinks. What a great vibe and experience. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Appreciate you taking the time to leave us a great review! Your support means the world to us. Thank you for supporting local business. Hope to see you again soon. Tell a friend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here for a friends wedding and it was amazing! The service we had was unforgettable. The front desk girl that checked me in was Jen and she was very knowledgable about the area and places to go see and do in between the wedding. And the bartender made some awesome drinks. We enjoyed our stay very much. The only thing I would say they could change is their parking situation and some kind of breakfast with their awesome coffee but other than that I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

THANK YOU for the RAD review!! We truly appreciate your support of our family business. Hope you can return for another stay. Make it a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I was there several years ago and I have always planned to come back. From the restaurant that uses local produce, breads and meats, to lying in a pool and watching a movie at the 'dive-in' screen it was a wonderful place to not worry about the logistics of travel. It's homey in all the right places, refined as well. The staff all speak English (surprise!) and go out of there way to make you feel welcome. Wonderful moment: lying in a hammock next to the pool in the early morning cool, reading a book when a staff member calls across the pool 'you need more coffee?' and then trots around the pool with a carafe for a refill.
The room was nice with a platform bed and comfortable amenities. I need to get back here and not leave for a few days.

Room Tip: The ones on the back hall are quieter. If you have a car, pick one that is on ground level so you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toshua99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

On behalf of the entire Pearl team, thank you for your kind review! We appreciate you. Thank you for returning to stay with us. Love the visual image you provided. Our staff strives to provide top notch service. Hope to see you again soon. Please tell a friend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#41 of 279 in San Diego
1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#181 of 279 in San Diego
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#145 of 279 in San Diego
1,424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aqua Mar
Hotel Aqua Mar
#154 of 279 in San Diego
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 1410 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92106-2239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in San Diego
#35 Business Hotel in San Diego
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £81 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pearl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Hotel San Diego
Pearl San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing