We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$474
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$173
US$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$276
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$231
US$224
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$320
US$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$256
US$227
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (5,720)
Filter reviews
5,720 results
Traveller rating
3,347
1,532
503
191
147
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,347
1,532
503
191
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock starconvention centermary janesrock royaltypool partygaslamp districtbachelorette partypetco parkking suiterooftop poolthe gas lamp districtmini barbars and restaurantsvalet parkinggreat roomnobuhardrock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,707 - 3,712 of 5,720 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Will preface with that I stayed here for a convention - this hotel seemed to be one of cheapest that's an easy walk to the convention center. Hotel sponsored pool parties that were incredibly loud and disruptive to anyone staying here also needing to do some work. Overall it smacked of a very manufactured raunchiness that may appeal to some, but beneath it seemed like the hotel aspect of this place gave poor service for the price, e.g. long lines checking in & out (only one person on duty with others standing behind counter not helping guests) and surprisingly the room didn't seem to get cleaned daily.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hi Barry, we are sorry about your experience and we would like to follow up with you. Can you email us at customerservice(at)hardrockhotelsd(dot)com so we can learn more about your visit?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel is fantastic for everything except it's wifi connection. I was here for a business meeting and couldn't get any work done on the hotel wifi. It would take 5-10 minutes for an email to load. Other than this the hotel was perfect. Clean, modern, super friendly staff, and best of all, located right in gas lamp.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hi Vivek, we're happy to share that we just upgraded our Wi-Fi this week so you should have excellent visits in the future. We're glad you enjoyed everything else about your stay, and we hope to see you again so you can experience our recent upgrade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Hard Rock San Diego is the only place i'll stay in San Diego! Truly is a great hotel, with amazing service, and friendly helpful staff. Not to mention it's right in the heart of everything so you can walk wherever you need to go.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We loved reading your awesome review, Derrick! We're honored to be the only hotel you stay at in San Diego, and we are glad you always have an amazing time when you visit us. Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A group of 11 of us all came to HRHSD to blow off some steam after a long weekend working in Vegas. Everything was smooth and perfect! John in the VIP lounge was great, room service was good, and love HRH overall

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thanks for the rockin' review, J C! We're thrilled that your group had a perfect trip, and that you loved everything about our hotel. We look forward to sharing your review with John and his supervisor, and we can't wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Room Was Beautiful bUT The Service At The Bars ( The Pool AnD 207) Were Less Than Amazing. I Felt I Didn't Get Decent Service. Just A Heads up.ThE Business Men Were Being Taken Care Maybe It Was Because I'm A Young Lady That They Felt They Wouldn't Get A Good tip.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Cleanliness
Thank happytotravel89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

happytotravel89, we are happy to hear that you loved your room and thought our hotel was beautiful. However, we are sorry that you didn't have an excellent experience at our bars. We're reviewing your feedback with our team so we can improve future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews