We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pendry San Diego(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (5,711)
Filter reviews
5,711 results
Traveller rating
3,341
1,529
503
191
147
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,341
1,529
503
191
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock starconvention centermary janesrock royaltypool partygaslamp districtbachelorette partypetco parkking suiterooftop poolthe gas lamp districtmini barbars and restaurantsvalet parkinggreat roomnobuhardrock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,655 - 3,660 of 5,711 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

the best part of my hotel stay were your employees. My daughter and I came to SD to run the marathon, and every employee was kind and helpful to all our needs. I do have exceptions. There never was anyone at the Concierge desk when we had a question so would have to go to our room to call the Concierge Desk. Also, that Swim Party you have on Sundays was not at all what we had expected and for that reason alone, we would not come back. The crowd it attracted was fairly disgusting and I would have been extremely disappointed to have stayed at your hotel not knowing that group would be throughout the hotel. I would suggest to the Marathon that they ought to choose another headquarter hotel for themselves.

Room Tip: You have extremely good employees. I felt like I talked to so many of them, giving my opinion of the hotel and they giving me theirs, You ought to ask for their feedback on what guests say to them, you could learn a lot.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moothartfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Amazing hotel and I'd absolutely stay here again! The staff treat everyone like a rockstar and everything from the room to the rooftop pool is ultra clean, modern, and very cool. The highlight was probably borrowing a Fender guitar and the Traktor Kontrol DJ system for the room! So much fun!

The location could not be better, the Gaslamp district is perfect for restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your amazing review, sterkeurs! We're so happy to hear that you loved everything about your visit and that you're already excited to plan your next trip. It's great that you enjoyed our unique Sound of Your Stay program and that you felt like a rock star during your entire visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed at the Hard Rock while in town for a convention. The hotel's close proximity to the convention center was super ideal, as well as its location in the Gaslamp - everything is very walkable. Food prices in the hotel were a bit high, so I went to other restaurants, but the staff at the Hard Rock were ALL super friendly and professional! My only caution about staying at this hotel would be when staying there on Sundays during the summer months. There was a huge private party called Intervention at the pool, so hotel guests do not have pool access during that time. The other issue was that there were lots of drunk pool party-goers wandering the halls (they were likely partiers/hotel guests), but it was a little unsettling having drunk guys try to chat me up in the hallways. However, that only lasted for that day, and the rest of the hotel stay was seamless. The hotel lobby had a very inviting/intoxicating lovely aroma, but the hallways leading to the hotel rooms had a slight sewage smell - the hotel rooms were lovely though. This is not a hotel for families, but it is a great hotel for young professionals or party-goers for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catalana96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi Catalana96, thank you for staying with us during your convention and for writing your great review. We really appreciate all of your feedback regarding our friendly staff and outstanding location. Our hotel does get more lively on the weekends, but we're glad that didn't affect your overall stay. Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We chose this hotel because it is close to the convention center, and we were attending a conference there. There are great restaurants and bars in the area. The hotel has quite the party scene, which isn't my thing, but despite this it was relatively quiet. Rooms and bathroom are spacious. The staff was friendly and professional, and at breakfast the restaurant provides free Starbucks brewed coffee to guests. Be careful when agreeing to the hotel's "go green" policy of room cleaning. It doesn't just mean they don't change the sheets or towels; it means they don't do a thing to the room! On the third day of this, we asked several times to have the room cleaned and it didn't happen. I'm all about not changing linens everyday, but it's still nice to come back to a room with beds made and trash taken out.

Room Tip: Away from pool party if you're not into that.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarita08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi sarita08, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're glad that you liked our fantastic location and that you loved our complimentary Starbucks coffee every morning. However, we're sorry about the confusion regarding the room cleaning and we've already followed up with our team to review how guests are informed of this option so they know exactly what they're getting. Thank you again for your helpful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel location is perfect if you are attending a conference, plenty of good restaurants in the area. The wifi worked great from our 10th floor room. Elevators were very quick. The only complaint was a musty odor in the hall, but not in the room, also limited channels on tv.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi Leo, thank you for sharing your review about your excellent stay! We're sorry that you experienced an odor issue and we'll have our team look into it. Despite that, we're thrilled you loved our central location and had a wonderful stay overall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews