We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #32 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Myself and the wife stayed for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon recently and the HRH experience was excellent. The whole rock vibe going on through the hotel is pretty cool. Our room was excellently located on the 'float' floor with a patio. The shower was twin headed, the bed was comfy, the music on arrival was a nice touch. All in all a really good room. We only ate in Mary Janes for breakfast one morning which was very good. Dani, our waitress, was very helpful on suggestions for things to do out with the gaslamp.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wingedmarsupial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Congratulations on your wedding, wingedmarsupial! Thank you for spending your honeymoon with us, and we're happy to hear that both of you had an excellent time. We're thrilled that you loved your room, the musical touches throughout our hotel, and Maryjane's. We'll be sure to share your excellent feedback with our team and Dani's supervisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,362 - 3,368 of 5,435 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

There isn't anything a worker at the Hard Rock Hotel San Diego wouldn't do for you! A fabulous location in downtown San Diego, I had a great experience during a conference that was also hosted at the hotel. Walking distance to tons of great food, the Padres stadium and the waterfront. Would definitely go again!

Room Tip: If you are not in the mood for crazy music on Sundays during their pool party, request a room far ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny201406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Jenny201406, it's great to hear that you were impressed with our amazing staff! Thank you for sharing your amazing review with us, and we can't wait to share it with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I was staying here with a friend for another friends wedding. I'd visited San Diego before and wasn't sure about staying here, but I was pleasantly surprised with the small touches that this hotel offers. Upon check in, they asked if we'd like the room cleaned daily or to call if we wanted things cleaned. After just getting in front a 16 hour flight, it was nice to know when I went to sleep, I wouldn't be awoken for housekeeping until I wanted it. The rooms were spacious, the location in the Gaslamp district meant there wasn't a shortage of things to do or places to eat. The people were friendly, the room was quiet, and the bars within the very hotel were accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiek84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review, aussiek84! We're glad that after a long flight it was comforting to know that you weren't going to be awoken early the next day. We're thrilled that the little things made for a memorable experience, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I had a wonderful stay. Everyone is always on their A-game, doing their best to make sure you have a great experience. Definitely felt like rock royalty. If you're looking for quiet nights though - ask not to be put on the "Track"/207 side of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlegirlracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hi littlegirlracer, we're thrilled that you felt like rock royalty during your stay as that's one of our main goals with our guests. We look forward to sharing your rockin' feedback about our amazing staff with our team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

4 night stay at the Hard Rock in San Diego for a conference. Excellent accommodations, great service and of course Nobu is in the lobby so that's awesome. Great location in the GasLamp District and about a 10 minute walk to the water.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

What a great review title, PJMM2311! We're so glad you enjoyed rocking out and relaxing during your stay, and that you had an amazing time at your conference. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our service, accommodations, and Nobu. We really appreciate your excellent feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Nice hotel, nicely updated, great staff, VERY loud if facing the convention center or metro/bus line. Be prepared for loud music and outside noise from 3pm until after midnight. Comfy beds, but hard to sleep with all the outside noise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hi K W, we are happy that you enjoyed our hotel and great staff. However, if you ever experience noise issues please let us know so we can try to accommodate you during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was my second stay at the San Diego Hard Rock. I enjoyed both stays and will be back again. Love the location! It is a short walk to the stadium, convention center and all the other places to go in the Gaslamp District.

Room Tip: I had a larger room last time. I had a small room this time so the experience wasn't nearly as n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for visiting us again and we love to hear that you'll be staying with us the next time you travel to San Diego! We're thrilled that you've enjoyed both of your stays and that you love our convenient location. Thanks for your review, John!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#22 of 286 in San Diego
4,551 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 286 in San Diego
5,102 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £143 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing