We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun! Great vibes and comfy beds.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #34 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with friends for an adults-only trip and purchased the Intervention Sundays package. Had to wait a long time for our suite - only got in an hour before 4:00 check-in so that is my only complaint. Had a wonderful stay and would do it again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi franrach, it sounds like you had a fun time and we're glad you loved your Intervention Package. We can't guarantee early check-in, but it's great to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that you're excited to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,267)
There are newer reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,189 - 3,195 of 5,268 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Business travel; location (across from convention center, waterfront and on trolley line) food, set up, ambiance for conference was amazing. Only criticism is loud, party crowd around the pool on Sunday afternoon - don't even think of going. Loud can spill over into the halls late at night. Employees accomodating and wonderful

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew's_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your rockin' review, Andrew's_Mom! Our hotel does get lively on the weekend, but we're glad you had a fantastic conference and that you enjoyed our food, vibe, and accommodating staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hard Rock Hotel meets expectations. It's exactly what they describe and you won't get anything less. Rooms are well maintained and lobby was clean. It conveniently located near everything so you won't need to drive if you plan to stay around downtown. When you enter the lobby is pleasantly scented and they continue to maintain the freshness of the entire building.

Room Tip: I wish they provided bathrobes.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urnewbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Urnewbuddy, we're thrilled your expectations were met and that you loved everything about your stay! We enjoyed reading your feedback about our well-maintained property and convenient location. Also, for future reference bathrobes are located in the closet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Used the hotel as our main meeting room while at Display Week 2014. Although it is not your average hotel on the weekends, during the week it is ideal for private meetings while staying for business in San Diego. Staff are super friendly and helpful as they accommodated our needs to move equipment in and out of the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suites are nice and roomy
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you so much for recommending us, Peter! We're thrilled you had an amazing meeting experience and that our hotel was ideal for your group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Overall a good experience. Nobu is great, 207 would've been good apart from the flog on the door acting like king dick. Located in the gas lamp district which was great fun after the ball game finished next door, so in a way King Dick at 207 did us a favour.... The pool party was flying although not really our thing as we are a bit older than the early twenty something's running around doing their thing. Valet is a bit pricey but Overall a very good fun hotel with great rooms...

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi Matt, we're happy that you had a good experience overall and that you loved dining at Nobu. We appreciate your feedback about 207 and Intervention, and we'll share your review with our team so we can improve future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for the first time for an event being held at this location. Very contemporary hotel. Check in quick and accommodating. At check in, even give you your choice of music to be playing on tv when you enter room - unique. Comfortable beds, clean & great service. Shower is very modern with two adjustable shower heads - rain type and other. Only draw back to the room is the lighting in the bathroom is terrible for applying makeup. I kept having to go back into the main room where the sun came in the windows for lighting - very frustrating. Everything in the hotel seems to be a dark or subdued lighting. I'm a light and bright person so this is a downside for me. Mini bar very well stocked and good room amenities. Expensive of course but a good variety if you want them.

Food was terrific at the event. Even the late night 1 a.m. room service for our after party was great - quick and good food. The pool "Float" bar was a big party for their Saturday Social with no butt room around the pool. If you want a young 20's/30's pool party w/bar & loud music, great. If you want to relax by the pool on Saturday - forget it. Bar 207 downstairs was great for a quieter getaway in the afternoon. The bartenders are terrific and very accommodating. At night, 207 transforms and it rocks w/ a huge crowd, great music, dancing and table bottle service if you have a reservation and want to pay for it.

Valet was very good and so was the bus luggage service. Only kudos on service at this hotel. I would stay there again if there was an event there.

Room Tip: Rooms not huge but sufficient and bathroom lighting over sink not bright, but very clean and comfort...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdevo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

pdevo01, we really appreciate your detailed review and how you highlighted our accommodations and nightlife options. We're thrilled you enjoyed your room and had a fun time at 207. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Hard Rock does a good job in San Diego. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean and very modern. The only gripes were my tv connection (I couldn't get the basic channels -NBC, CBS, ABC whereas I did get cable networks.) I called the front desk and of course it worked for the workmen, but later that night and rest of stay the channels were gone. Second- they need coffeemakers in the room. I didn't need 3 bottles of Grey Goose....just some coffee.

The pool is smaller than you would think. I think it seats maybe 25-30 ppl around it...I saw people laying towels down on the concrete as there was no space. But the service at the pool was great.

Nobu in the lobby is lovely, the location is perfect esp if you are a Padres fan! Being in the Gaslamp District is also a huge plus. I would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycquaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

nycquaker, thank you for the compliment! We're glad you had a great stay overall, and in regards to the television we'd love to know what room you stayed in. Can you please email us at customerservice(at)hardrockhotelsd(dot)com so our team can look into it?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#19 of 278 in San Diego
4,408 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £150 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing