We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rowdy!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #35 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Thank goodness that I knew what I was in for because it was loud and rambunctious and exactly what I was looking for. If you looking for a quiet relaxing vacay, this isn't the place for you. But my friends and I had a blast!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleanor714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi eleanor714, we're so glad you had a blast during your recent visit! Our hotel does get more lively on the weekends, but we're happy to hear that you and your friends loved the vibe and had an amazing time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,253 - 3,259 of 5,339 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel staff were very accommodating and knowledgeable about the local area. The Registration staff suggested that I stay on the 12th floor for a quieter room, since my trip overlapped with the weekend "Intervention" event on the 4th floor - which looks just like Spring Break!
There could be a water pressure issue. I didn't notice a water flow problem in the shower; however, I could frequently hear the sink gurgling.

Room Tip: Room 1230 looks directly out at PetCo Park. It is pretty quiet on 12, which I liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leahnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Leahnx, we appreciate your feedback about our accommodating and knowledgeable staff! We're glad you liked your 12th floor room and we'll have our team look into the possible water pressure issue you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We came down for my wife's birthday and from the moment we checked in, the Hard Rock staff was awesome. They provided quite a few "perks" and were polite and helpful. I will definitely book my next stay there, only this time for a little bit longer!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

We really enjoyed reading your awesome review, Ryan! Thank you for celebrating your wife's birthday with us, and we're thrilled that both of you had a fantastic time. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights. Really liked the location at the beginning of the gaslamp quarter. Dont take the hotel's valet parking for $40/night but park across the street in the public parking ($15 max per day); easily accessible.
Room was nice and clean but very noisy due to in-house club (especially on weekend). We paid for an all access pass which was never requested and never used!
whereas location and room was good, i would not stay there again due to the high noise-level.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plomme9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi plomme9, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy everything about your stay and we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. If you ever experience noise issues, please don't hesitate to let us know because we would love to try to accommodate you during your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

SD is great hotel city.
HRH disappointed us from start to finish.
I was hoping for the best but unfortunately received the worst.
Check out other properties for better value and service.
Serious advice from serious travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
1  Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with friends for an adults-only trip and purchased the Intervention Sundays package. Had to wait a long time for our suite - only got in an hour before 4:00 check-in so that is my only complaint. Had a wonderful stay and would do it again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi franrach, it sounds like you had a fun time and we're glad you loved your Intervention Package. We can't guarantee early check-in, but it's great to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that you're excited to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Business travel; location (across from convention center, waterfront and on trolley line) food, set up, ambiance for conference was amazing. Only criticism is loud, party crowd around the pool on Sunday afternoon - don't even think of going. Loud can spill over into the halls late at night. Employees accomodating and wonderful

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew's_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your rockin' review, Andrew's_Mom! Our hotel does get lively on the weekend, but we're glad you had a fantastic conference and that you enjoyed our food, vibe, and accommodating staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,460 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#38 of 278 in San Diego
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £145 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing