We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Nearby Hotels
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton San Diego Bayfront(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$583
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$510
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
US$328
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,797)
Filter reviews
5,797 results
Traveller rating
3,402
1,546
506
193
150
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,402
1,546
506
193
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock starconvention centermary janesrock royaltypool partygaslamp districtbachelorette partypetco parkking suiterooftop poolthe gas lamp districtmini barbars and restaurantsvalet parkinggreat roomnobuhardrock
Filter
Updating list...
3,643 - 3,648 of 5,797 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hard Rock Hotel has great location, top notch staff and very affable crew. Room was on the ball park side and a nice view of the harbor. However, this also created a constant street noise issue but a pair of earplugs can cure you of this problem. Having stayed here several times now, a good hotel provides consistent service. That is the case here. Nice pool area, MaryJanes is also a good place to catch a bite to eat.

Room Tip: If you want sights to see , stay on the waterfront side but it is noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Frank, thank you so much for your excellent feedback about our amazing staff and great location! We're sorry you experienced noise issues, and if you ever have them in the future please let us know so we can try to accommodate you during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great hotel in a perfect location! Everything is within walking distance! The hotel has an amazing decor. As you venture through the hotel you will find celebrity memorabilia and famous quotes of various artists. The hotel has a great view of the Gaslamp district from the rooftop pool and the hotel balcony suites. 207 is a very classy, trendy lounge! Nobu is also a great restaurant to choose for fine doing experience! Definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CValls23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hi CValls23, thank you for your fantastic review! It sounds like you experienced everything we have to offer including our central location, unique memorabilia, and excellent dining options. We're thrilled you loved everything about your stay, and we can't wait to share your feedback with our team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great location, beautiful rooms, helpful and friendly staff, rooftop parties…couldn't ask for anything more! I have never stayed at a Hard Rock Hotel before but i will definitely be looking out for them in future holiday destinations! This one is located right at the front of the gas lamp district, walking distance to great restaurants and bars, Baseball stadium and seaport village.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Kristy, we love to hear that you'll be staying at the Hard Rock in the future! We're thrilled you felt like a rock star during your entire visit and that you liked your beautiful room and our friendly staff. Thanks for your excellent review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Visited July 3-5th for a short Holiday weekend. Fun vibe, ate a Nobu (twice), which is always fantastic, had a Rock Spa massage and took in a Padres game on the 4th, Petco Stadium is just a very short walk away. Most everything was great, 4 stars with a hip vibe. Only issues were poorly trained Housekeeping Staff who yelled at each other across the hall and woke us a bit earlier than we would have preferred on the weekend. I spoke with Manager Kevin who didn't seem too concerned (nor did the volume abate right away). Massages were 3.5 star good in modest facilities, but still they had an offering on property and better than a day spa experience...based upon experience, the price was quite reasonable ($408 for 2x 80 minute including tax and mandatory 20% gratuity). Because the Hard Rock sells admissions to their hotel pool, the scene was a bit more rowdy than we prefer and the Security Team seemed a bit too enthusiastic and gestapo like, but given the circumstance and the fact that we are in our early 50's, I get it that we are not the major demographic. San Diego Gaslamp is always a good weekend getaway choice and the Hard Rock is a great choice from which to experience all that the area has to offer. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobFaircloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for spending the 4th of July with us! We're so glad you enjoyed dining at Nobu and relaxing at our luxurious Rock Spa. We're sorry about the issue experienced, and we will follow up with our team to ensure we can improve future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I liked my room but next time would appreciate a proper big balcony as I requested. You gave me a mini balcony with little view. Not worth the money I paid. It would be nice to either be reimbursed my money or get a free room with a proper balcony next time I come to San Diego to visit.
Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Pete, we are sorry that your requested room type was not available during your recent visit. Unfortunately, this sometimes happens, but when it does we always do our best to accommodate our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews