We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property but needs some attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #32 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is well appointed and the front desk staff couldn't have been nicer. Generally the place has that edgy rock décor that puts you in a festive mood. If you are attending a conference, going to a ball game, or visiting the Gas Lamp District, it is a perfect location. The bad is that we had issues with our plumbing (all) backing up. After several calls over the course of the week and a friendly conversation with the front desk the problem was finally repaired. Also they were gracious enough to knock off $100 of the $300 per night cost for one night. Had a good experience in Mary Jane's (Restaurant). Food was good but very expensive. The bar in the front of the hotel was nicely appointed and had friendly staff. However clearly needed a good cleaning. There was an obvious smell of rotten fruit and fruit flies flying around the bar area. This was the only time I experienced insects on the entire trip. The ugly part of our stay was on Sunday afternoon during the infamous pool party. Who doesn't like a pool party with 3000 bikinis (as they promote). However when the girls in the bikini's and the guys admiring them are all badly wasted in the lobby, elevators, and surrounding block it is ugly. It appears that Hard Rock is doing everything they can to keep up the persona of being the wildest party in town no matter what the cost. I would definitely stay here again with hopes that Hard Rock ups their standards across the board.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russellwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

russellwalters, thank you for detailed review and we're sorry about the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Our hotel does have a festive element on the weekends, as we notify guests of this in the confirmation email. We'll review your helpful feedback with our team so we can enhance future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,249 - 3,255 of 5,435 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

overall the stay was very good. liked the fact that the window open up. did not like the fact the bedroom was seperated from the living room by a curtain. also the sink of the bathroom was outside the bathroom, smh...

Room Tip: don't have so many snacks & drinks in the fridge taking up all the space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eEdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi eEdu, we really appreciate your thoughts about our unique accommodations and we're happy that you had a good stay overall. Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Hard Rock Hotel was nice, but the bed was lower than most hotel beds. It is convenient to the Gaslamp District, Petco Park, and the trolley stop. If your room is near the elevator like mine was, it can be noisy when people come off the elevator arguing after a night of partying. The hotel staff is friendly. Mary Jane's is good for breakfast. I would go back to Mary Jane's, but I think I will stick with the Omni as my San Diego Favorite.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SDFifield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

SDFifield, we're glad you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter and that you loved dining at Maryjane's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I went to the hard rock for a bachelorette party we had three rooms and spent a good amount of money. First problem I had was communication. I had a different answer to each question I asked. Some staff is exceptional and the others are just poor and do not care. Second problem is how many guest smoked marijuana in their rooms and made the halls and balconies smell of it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi Jennifer, thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. We're sorry to hear that you didn't have an excellent experience overall and we'll review your feedback with our team. We do have security patrols to monitor the floors so any issues that arise can be remedied as quickly as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed down at teh hard rock for one weekend, coming from la, and it was fun. The hotel is very fancy and there were a ton of bachelor and bachelorette parties going on (actually ran into to two separate friends who were there for those as well,) so that meant a lot of young people, which was cool. The rooms were nice and clean, the location was great (you could walk anywhere all over downtown from the hotel,) the service was very good as well. Their rooftop bar is amazing too. Now for the bad.

The room we stayed in (regular room with two queen beds) came out to almost $700 for two nights! That is super expensive for a hotel room. They charge $40 a day for valet parking, which is a huge ripoff. They also charge $30 per night if you want a roll away bed. There is a cafe downstairs that was not as cheap as it should've been for the food they offered. They even told me that if I wanted the food and alcohol provided in the room removed that there would be a fee for that too! For some reason, they also have a no outside alcohol policy, which is ridiculous because their drinks are super expensive and if you are paying that much for rooms and parking then you should be able to bring in whatever u want.

In conclusion, great atmosphere and location, way over priced for what it is.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oasisg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Oasisg9, it sounds like you had a fun visit, and we're glad you enjoyed Float and your room! In regards to pricing, our offerings are in line with other hotels in the area. We really appreciate your review and we'll share your thoughts with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My friends and I went to Rock Spa on Sunday, July 20, 2014. I emailed Rock Spa last week and found that a Daily Pass could be purchased for $30. With the daily pass, you have access to the pool, spa amenities and fitness center. We were also told to call ahead and check to see if the pool will be open because planned events may close the pool. Also we found out that parking is validated for 3 hours with the purchase of the daily pass. We arrived at the hotel and asked the front desk clerk, Deborah where the spa was located. It's located on the 3rd floor. We arrived a little after 9am and the doors were still locked. So we decided to head downstairs to Mary Jane's for breakfast. Mary Jane's is a restaurant located on the first floor. Its a rock and roll diner. The are lots of items to choose from on the breakfast/brunch menu. Our server was very nice. She continued to check on us and make sure that our water and tea were filled. Another server came over and separated our checks for us which made it easier to pay at the end of the meal. Once we left breakfast, we approached Deborah at the front desk and asked her about the daily pass and whether we pay at the front desk or at the spa. Deborah told us that they "did not" have a daily pass. I explained to her my contact with the spa and she changed her response stating that "she does not know" anything about a daily pass and that I would need to go to the spa for information. I was not happy because Deborah could have easily called up to the spa and obtained the information for us. The front desk should know everything that goes on in the hotel. Even the people at the valet knew what the "daily" pass was all about. We found Erica at the front desk at the spa and explained our unhappiness with the front desk. Erica called down right away to find out who we had spoken to and apologized for the lack of effort from the front desk. Erica explained that the pool was closed on Sundays because of an summer event called Intervention. This is held every Sunday during the summer. We didn't mind at all. We took advantage of the spa amenities. You got a locker with a robe and flip flops. Erica gave us a tour of the spa which was very nice and relaxing. We used the steam room a few times and relaxed in the spa lounge where the had tea, lemon water and snacks. It was very relaxing. We wanted to take advantage of the other amenities such as facial and massages but there were not many spots available due to some of the staff being on call. Its important to make an appointment before you arrive at the spa. Erica was a delight and more than made up for the front desk encounter. We plan on coming back to Rock Spa with a Bachelorette party next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zwicked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi zwicked, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're sorry for the miscommunication you experienced, but we're glad that you had a great time overall. We look forward to sharing your wonderful feedback with Erica and we hope to see you for another spa day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

this was my first time at a Hard Rock Hotel. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The staff was very friendly and cooperative. The rooms were very nice, however, I wish they left some room in the fridge for items they did not provide.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kariosawakening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi Kariosawakening, we're so glad your first Hard Rock experience rocked! We appreciate your great review and we hope to see you the next time you're in San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#22 of 286 in San Diego
4,551 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 286 in San Diego
5,102 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £143 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing