We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard rock”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #34 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Rooms were AMAZING, I really enjoyed the two headed shower and the great room setup. Only complaint is the intervention waitress complaining about $100 dollar tip I gave her, very unprofessional, other than that, it was an amazing experience and I will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi Peter, we love to hear that you thought your room was "AMAZING!" We're glad you enjoyed your accommodations and we really appreciate your helpful feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,177 - 3,183 of 5,402 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Recently I stayed at the Hard Rock over Opening Day at Del Mar. We originally were booked for a queen room but the hotel was over sold on queens. We were upgraded to an awesome 1 bedroom suite and had a great bottle of wine delivered. The staff was friendly remembering me from my previous travels, way to make a guest feel welcome. Derrick Mukina and Matt Dufour went above and beyond to make out stay perfect. We will be staying there every time we are in San Diego.

Room Tip: For a quiet stay do not face pool side, for a fun stay face the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Tera, thank you for your amazing review! We're so glad you felt like a rock star during your stay and that you had an excellent visit. We look forward to sharing your great feedback with Matt and Derrick as well. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was my first visit tot he HArd Rock in San Diego. I Was very impresses with the food, service, room cleanliness and staff. The location is perfect for travelers who do not want to rent cars or cab everywhere. I will stay here again in the future and bring my family too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiera F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi Kiera, we loved reading your review! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your business trip, and that you're excited to stay with us again. Thank you for your wonderful feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The property has a great vibe and you can't ask for a better Gas Lamp Quarter location. Rooms are typical Hard Rock eclectic mix - almost like an homage to mid-century modern but with a Google tech influence. Pretty sure they offer the best stocked mini bar of any hotel chain ever!

We had a king suite. The layout was a bit odd - pass through bathroom in the center of the room. Sink and shower on one side, toilet on the other. You definitely can't have a shy bladder, and need to be comfortable with your partner's bathroom habits. *enough said*

Mary Jane's for breakfast is a must. They have bottomless mimosas, sweet rolls the size of your head, and pretty sure they put bacon, cheese and chives into their hash browns.


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katik21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

katik21, thank you for your great review about our accommodations, unique vibe, and dining options! We loved reading about your Maryjane's experience and we're glad you loved the delicious hash browns (everyone that works here loves them too!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

hard a very hard time getting in to the location do to a basball game going on and the streets being blocked off.
Got to my room and the king bed I had ordered was not ther but two queens instead. the front desk tried to be accomodatign but the hotel was booked solid. he offered to send up champagne for my annivessary but my wife is unable to have so he comped us 50 bucks which we used for breakfast at the cafe the next morning.he did offer to change us to a king the next day , but my wife said that was more hassel then what it was worth. Everyone we cam across in the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. I wish I rembered the girls name in the cafe who served us. she was really nice and was able to point us in a direction of things to do. We also had dinner at NOBU and sat at the counter the chief 's name was jimmy and was extremly nice as well. he even got a plate with choclate on it that said happy anniversary on it that my wife loved.
We went to the 207 club saturday night and had a great time. We also went up to float for a little but decided it wasnt our scene.
The parking was ridiculous, I didnt understand why we were paying 40.00 a night for parking in a hotel we were staying in. from what i gathered it was typicall of the other hotels in the area though. just seemed like it should of been part of the room we were staying in. Or at least have a differrent parking option other then vallet which didnt seem to be there.

Room Tip: the room was very nice. dissapointed i didnt get the bed i requested, but it was nice. The bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi Jason, thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us! We're sorry that your requested room type wasn't available, however we're so glad you had a wonderful anniversary weekend. We're happy to hear that you loved dining at Maryjane's and Nobu and that you had a fun time at 207.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Pretty much what you would expect from a Hard Rock Hotel. The room was modern and clean with a nice view. The only downside was that the pool area was resevered for a private party so it was closed all day. Then because they had to clean up after the party the outside bar was closed as well. The restaurant was also being remodeled because it had been used for Comic-Con so it closed earlier. So I would suggest calling the hotel before booking a reservation to make sure those amenities are available if they're important to you. Had we known the pool wouldn't be available we would have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smaddox42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

smaddox42, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're sorry that the pool came as a surprise, as we do our best to notify guests of upcoming events. We hope to see you again so you can enjoy our pool and Float!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

2nd stay at HRH San Diego. Great place to stay when you want to play in the Gas Lamp. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms (Rock Star Suite) is the perfect party pad. 11th Floor overlooking Petco park. Loved the layout of the room, with the living area separate from the bed room. The room feels spacious yet fun and cozy. The shower is amazing! One down note is that we would have loved more towels, they give just enough, but for this upscale of a property a few more bath and face towels would be more inline.

MaryJanes restaurant has a fantastic breakfast and the service was spot on. Our food was prepared quickly, and our server even go us togo coffees once we were ready to head out. Nice touch!


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bb4732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi bb4732, thank you for being a loyal Hard Rock guest! We're so glad you had another excellent stay, and that you loved your unique Rock Star Suite and breakfast at Maryjane's! We appreciate your feedback about having additional towels, and in the future please don't hesitate to request more. We can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#19 of 279 in San Diego
4,516 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 279 in San Diego
5,057 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#38 of 279 in San Diego
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £143 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing