We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Hardrock San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #37 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Review of Hardrock San Diego”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel is great and my only issue with it, it that the gym is small and could be a lot better equipped. Dumbells should go to 100lbs each and there should be a power rack with some good Rogue equipment like bars and plates. Most of the guests all looked fit and and in great shape. If the hotel can't increase the size of the gym, they should offer a free/ or half price workout at the nearest 24 hour fitness gym that is within a mile.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your helpful feedback, Paul! We do our best to provide guests with a variety of equipment they may need while traveling. We've already shared your review with our team and we're brainstorming to see if there are local gyms we can refer guests to if they're in need of additional gym equipment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,841
    1,356
    461
    174
    141
See reviews for
535
1,286
229
1,886
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,090)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ciudad De México, México
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

If you like to smoke, be woke up several times in the night up (more than 4 times) with shouts, bad words and be thrown glasses at your door, this is the place to be!

Yes, they do have great restaurants like Mary Jane's and Nobu, but they don't care about guest security at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
1 Thank VeneAlmazan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi VeneAlmazan, we're sorry that you didn't have an excellent stay and we really appreciate your feedback. However, we're glad that our team was able to follow up with you, and we hope we have the opportunity to provide you with a rock star experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great location in gaslamp quarter, great service, rooms are spotless. Excellent facilities available to guests. Hotel has a great party atmosphere. Hotel is right next door to metro stop, 5 minute walk to seaport village and 1 minute walk to petco park. I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danieldaley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Danieldaley10, we really appreciate your excellent review and your recommendation! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and loved our amazing location in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter and close to public transportation, and our fun vibe. We hope to see you the next time you travel to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is great, and they have a starbucks in the lobby. We stayed in two Queen Suites and they were awesome. Lots of Mirror which we used all of them. Downside, lightly was not so great for doing makeup. The showers are a little tricky and pool was tiny! If you are going to want to hang by the pool on a Saturday, get there early and claim your space. Otherwise it is a hot mess. You will want to rent a cabana or do bottle service. Also, hard to have a party time with kids (under the age of 5) swimming in the pool with their floaters on. Parents, I did not find this pool kid friendly at all. While we were there, we say two people slip into the pool and hurt themselves.

Service is great, fantastic location. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Amanda, we're happy to hear that you had a fun bachelorette party and thank you for celebrating with us! We appreciate your feedback about your awesome suites and our pool area. Our pool can get crowded on the weekends, but we do our best to accommodate all of our guests. We appreciate you bringing your pool experience to our attention and our team is looking into. Thank you so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Hotel staff was friendly and understanding. Requested a late check out, and was explained to that it was difficult to honor due to an event being hosted that day....courteous enough to grant a longer stay, but "as close a possible to 11 (check out time)" which was extremely kind on their end. Haven't stayed in a hotel where the staff is so generous.

Room Tip: Woodstock suite. Amazing view and layout!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi Michelle, thank you so much for celebrating your husband's birthday with us! We hope both of you had an amazing time, and we truly appreciate your excellent feedback about our generous and helpful staff. We look forward to celebrating more birthdays with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Overall, from the moment I arrived through the day I departed, my experience with this hotel was one of my best. I was greeted with enthusiasm and friendliness by the valet staff and the check-in receptionist was equally warm and welcoming.

Even the sales clerk in the hotel's gift store offered advice and provided me with suggestions regarding my stay and the local businesses.

The décor, ambience, and staff created a festive and music-centered vibe. And, yet, my suite was relaxing and quiet. Rooms are clean, modern, and spacious. And, the restaurant, MaryJane's, never disappointed with quick and friendly service.

By the way, the location of this hotel is in a vibrant area of San Diego. Though I enjoyed the hotel's restaurant for breakfast, I explored the countless restaurants and bars within walking distance for lunch and dinner. There are also spas, boutiques, and live entertainment surrounding the hotel. Not to mention, you can catch the ferry to Coronado Island within minutes, walking from the hotel.

I will return to this hotel for my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenC1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
KarenC1205, we really enjoyed reading your detailed review! We love how your review featured so many fantastic aspects of your stay including the excellent customer service you experienced, our unique vibe and décor, and our delicious dining options. We're thrilled that your first Hard Rock visit was awesome, and we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at Hard Rock Hotel for the weekend. Had a great time. The hotel is at a perfect location near public parking structure, near the trolley station, and on the corner of 5th street in Gas Lamp District. We were at walking distance from everything. Phil, the first person who greeted us at the drop off curb, was exeptionally great! He lead us every step of the way to our room and gave us advice about what we should do for the weekend. He also came to help us when we checked out to leave 2 days later. We couldn't thank him enough for being so nice. He truly impressed us and is obviously a hard worker.

Room Tip: For the amount of $$ the rates are, I just expected a little more from the rooms. The bathroom/showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi Laura, it was great to read your amazing feedback about Phil! He's such a rock star and we are so lucky to have him! We're glad he made your weekend trip amazing and we look forward to sharing your rockin' feedback with him and his supervisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#45 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Property: Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing