We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard Rock hotel Rocks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #32 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was my second time to stay here and I loved it again. The beds are comfortable and the staff is always super friendly. The room is really comfortable and I love that I have music playing when I get to my room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

What a rockin' review, Terry! Thank you for visiting us again and we're so glad you loved your second visit just as much as your first! We look forward to seeing you whenever you visit San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,166 - 3,172 of 5,427 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

The suite was amazing and I definitely look forward to enjoying another stay at the Hard Rock Hotel! The concierge was polite and able to compliment our needs at no additional costs. Additional rooms keys and ice service was great. The suite was immaculate, modern, and a very good walking score to nearby venues.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi Shanta, we're thrilled that you're already looking forward to your next visit! Thank you for your awesome review and feedback about our helpful concierge and customer service. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The room was way more than I expected and the entire staff was professional, friendly and courteous. A noteworthy bonus was the abundant restaurants, pubs, stores as well as sights to see within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

We love the title of your review, Matt! We're thrilled that we exceeded your expectations with our friendly staff, rockin' accommodations, and amazing location. Thank you so much for your excellent review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We chose the Hard Rock SD due to our previous good experience stay at the HR in Las Vegas and because many other hotels were just a bit too... businessy!

We enjoyed our stay there. It's in a great location in the Gaslamp Quarter and also opposite the San Diego Trolley (tram), which was quite helpful to take trips to the Old Town and Fashion district.

The hotel itself was clean and well looked after. The pool area is nice and the hotel ensures that hotel guests get priority on poolside beds and sofas over non staying visitors.

We were also treated to a bottle of champagne in an ice bucket, chocolate coated strawberries, and whipped cream as the hotel loved our #hardrocksdseflies on Instagram!

A couple of negative points;

1) The hotel is called the "Hard Rock". They certainly do not play enough of it over the speakers!

2) We did find the Float bar poolside service quite frustrating at times and it's quicker just to go to the bar yourself. In fact at one point I was queued at the bar and a waitress came up to me and said she would bring the drinks over to us to save me queuing, 30 minutes later we were still waiting having watched other people behind us return to the pool area with their drinks. It seemed that the waitress was much more interested in gaining tips than providing a good service. This was backed up when the same waitress attempted to close off peoples bar tabs at the end of her shift. She wasn't very happy when we said we wanted to keep our tab open as we would be ordering more drinks for the next hour or two.

Having said the rest of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful and we would be quite happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 6stringdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi 6stringdj, we love to hear that you've enjoyed all of your Hard Rock experiences and we appreciate your detailed review! First, we're thrilled that you enjoyed our convenient location and our #HardRockSDSelfie promotion! Thank you so much for participating! In regards to music, we do our best to cater to everyone's music taste by playing a variety of genres, but we'll share your feedback with our team to see if we can add more rock to the rotation. Also, we're sorry that you didn't have an excellent time at Float and that you didn't experience rock star service. We're reviewing your feedback with our team so we can improve future stays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel is great and my only issue with it, it that the gym is small and could be a lot better equipped. Dumbells should go to 100lbs each and there should be a power rack with some good Rogue equipment like bars and plates. Most of the guests all looked fit and and in great shape. If the hotel can't increase the size of the gym, they should offer a free/ or half price workout at the nearest 24 hour fitness gym that is within a mile.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your helpful feedback, Paul! We do our best to provide guests with a variety of equipment they may need while traveling. We've already shared your review with our team and we're brainstorming to see if there are local gyms we can refer guests to if they're in need of additional gym equipment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

If you like to smoke, be woke up several times in the night up (more than 4 times) with shouts, bad words and be thrown glasses at your door, this is the place to be!

Yes, they do have great restaurants like Mary Jane's and Nobu, but they don't care about guest security at all.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
1  Thank VeneAlmazan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi VeneAlmazan, we're sorry that you didn't have an excellent stay and we really appreciate your feedback. However, we're glad that our team was able to follow up with you, and we hope we have the opportunity to provide you with a rock star experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great location in gaslamp quarter, great service, rooms are spotless. Excellent facilities available to guests. Hotel has a great party atmosphere. Hotel is right next door to metro stop, 5 minute walk to seaport village and 1 minute walk to petco park. I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danieldaley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Danieldaley10, we really appreciate your excellent review and your recommendation! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and loved our amazing location in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter and close to public transportation, and our fun vibe. We hope to see you the next time you travel to San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#20 of 278 in San Diego
4,542 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
5,091 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £139 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing