We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Spacious Room, Awesome Shower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #36 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Service, Spacious Room, Awesome Shower”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The great: The service was exceptional - from valets, bellhops, reception, and responsiveness. It was nice to have the space in the suite for all my daughter's college luggage. The gym was great; the pool was crowded. The shower was so cool, with a rain from the ceiling option. The hotel restaurants were awesome and location was perfect - Gas Lamp and waterfront.
The OK: Room layout is funky, but it works. The bathroom spans the middle between the comfy living room and the bedroom, with the bedroom separated by a curtain. Sink in the middle. Means one person can be showering, while others can be using the sink area.
The bad: No one cleaned our room. We returned very tired and late from college move-in to find no one had serviced our room. Had to call for fresh towels. The TVs and phones had to be reset to work. Seriously? But maintenance and housekeeping were very responsive.

Room Tip: The suites seem to be in the quiet part of the hotel. Our room overlooked Petco Park, which i guess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boscorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Boscorama, we really appreciate your helpful and detailed review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our exceptional service and that you loved our amenities. In regards to your room cleaning, at check-in we ask guests if they would like their room cleaned automatically each day or if they would prefer to call us when they would like additional towels, amenities, etc.. We're sorry about the miscommunication you experienced and we'll follow up with our team to ensure this is being communicated clearly to every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,985
    1,413
    471
    177
    147
See reviews for
568
1,338
237
1,970
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Really enjoyed the stay. Staff was friendly and helpful, the design was very eye catching and I loved the elevators, pool was nice, gym was a little uninviting and freezing inside, I wish check out was a little later

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diyana_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Diyana_13, it sounds like you had a great visit! Thank you for your fantastic feedback about our unique décor and friendly staff. We're glad you loved our unique elevators - the photos are of the local band Dead Feather Moon at the legendary Casbah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Palms, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Had a great two night stay the staff is extremely courteous and professional. The room was excellent and I'll definitely stay again. The hotel is conveniently located near Gas lamp and is within walking distance to great restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We're happy to hear that you had an outstanding stay, Aaron414! We appreciate your wonderful feedback about our courteous staff and we're glad that you'll be staying with us again. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Being a big music fan, I loved the hotel. I liked all the musical references as well as pieces of music history. The only problem I had was the placement of my room. I was on the 10th floor, close to the elevator, which allowed me to be awoken nightly by people being a little too loud. If that wasn't enough, the train kept me up all night every night. If I was to stay again, I would request a different room.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi Kristina, it's great to hear that as a fellow music lover you loved our hotel! We're glad you enjoyed all of our memorabilia and musical touches around our property. In the future, please let us know if you're not happy with your room as we'd love to try to accommodate you during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Loved the venue, location and the staff! The music-themed displays were great and always hearing music being played everywhere you go in the hotel was awesome! If you are a music lover this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigpapa8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We're thrilled that you loved your first Hard Rock experience, bigpapa8! We enjoyed how your review highlighted our rock 'n' roll décor and music. We're glad that you enjoyed everything about your trip, and we hope you plan more Hard Rock visits in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Amazing service from the Hard Rock staff! Nobu was delicious & conveniently located in the lobby. Rooms are comfy, pool is small but the lounge area is as comfy as the rooms. Other than fact everything was a bit overpriced we had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
It's great to hear that you had a wonderful time, Carmkg! Thank you for sharing your excellent feedback about our staff and Nobu! We're glad that you loved your room and lounging at Float too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel was located in the heart of the Gas Lamp district. It was easy to walk to most venues. The room was spacious and clean. Overall it was a pleasant stay. The pool was rather small for such a large hotel.

Room Tip: Better pillow would help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicahSchlendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
MicahSchlendorf, we're glad you had a nice time during your trip to San Diego! We appreciate your fantastic feedback about our location, and we're thrilled that you loved exploring the Gaslamp Quarter. Thank you for your amazing review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,318 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Property: Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing