We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, awesome time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #32 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed at the Hard Rock for a conference. Location is outstanding. Rooms are very nice, large, clean and nice. Customer service at the hotel is second to none. The cars are nice as well. Float is okay, but 207 is off the hook on Friday nights.

Room Tip: Ask for an ADA room. The rooms are twice the size of a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noah1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

We're glad you had an awesome time during your conference, noah1900! Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our excellent customer service, prime location, and nightlife! It sounds like you had a fun visit and we really appreciate your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,126 - 3,132 of 5,432 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Some negatives from my stay were the prices at Mary Jane's a restaurant in the hotel...charged almost $9.00 for two sodas. The mattress was horrible. Some positives from my stay was that the air conditioner temp was adjustable and not fixed like most hotels are doing now these days. Nobu restaurant in the hotel was awesome.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Jennifer, we are sorry that you didn't have a wonderful time overall. We know that everyone has a unique preference for what kind of mattress they like, and we do our best to accommodate everyone. However, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed a delicious meal at Nobu and that you loved the air conditioning. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Hotel room was great, hospitality was great but if you go in the pool you will get a disease. The pool and jacuzzi were absolutely unacceptable. I can't believe the Hard Rock doesn't take better care of their pool and jacuzzi. I was so excited to hangout in the pool and jacuzzi but wouldn't even put my toes in it.

Room Tip: The pool was absolutely disgusting. I was so excited to be able to go in the pool and jacuzzi but wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I would definitely go back! Everything was wonderful!!
Friendly staff! Great rooms! Close to everything and lots of entertainment in the hotel as well! Overall a wonderful experience!! I would recommend Hard Rock San Diego to all my friends and family! We had a great time!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey7777777 M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

What an amazing review, Lindsey7777777 M! Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience and feedback with us. We're thrilled that you'll definitely be visiting us again and we appreciate your great recommendation. We can't wait to share your review with our team and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

good position at the beginning of Gaslamp, near to all public transport, very good the nobu restaurant inside, swimming pool too little but good ambiance, when they told me about the "all access" plan, they forgot tell me the cost... 19 dollars plus taxes

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morellaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Morellaus, we're glad you liked our great location in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter and that you had a wonderful time at Nobu. In regards to the All Access Pass, we're sorry that the price came as a surprise to you as we inform guests of this when booking and at check-in. We'll review your experience with our team to make sure this is communicated clearly in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I had the most amazing weekend. We had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Hard Rock and it was beyond amazing. The staff were so wonderful and went above and beyond their jobs to ensure we had the wedding weekend of our dreams. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and anything we requested they happily assisted with. My husband and I have stayed here before and the service is ALWAYS excellent. From the valet to the coordinators, my hats off to you all and we thank you with all our heart for making it such a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Congratulations on your recent wedding, Ronie! We're honored that you spent your special day with us, and we're thrilled to hear that everything was amazing! It was our pleasure making sure that your wedding was absolutely perfect and we can't wait to share your fantastic review with our team. Thank you again for celebrating with us, and we hope that we get to celebrate more special days with you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

First time at HR Hotel, great location, confortable but a little bit noisy during the night because of overexcited youngs, fitness room could be better but pool and terrace are amazing. Every time you get the elevator you need to insert the room key and this drove me crazy

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ironmicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us, Ironmicia! It's great that you loved our central location and pool area! Our hotel does get lively on the weekends and please don't hesitate to notify us of any noise issues you experience so we can do our best to accommodate you during your visit. Also, we are sorry that you didn't like our elevator keys as they're a security feature for our guests. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#21 of 286 in San Diego
4,549 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 286 in San Diego
5,098 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £143 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing