We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (6,315)
Filter reviews
6,315 results
Traveller rating
3,716
1,665
549
211
174
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,716
1,665
549
211
174
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock star convention center mary janes rock royalty pool party gaslamp district bachelorette party petco park king suite rooftop pool the gas lamp district mini bar bars and restaurants great room enjoyed my stay valet parking nobu
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 6,315 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2019

Booked through CancelOn and upon check in were informed that there is an additional $25 + tax per day charged for the All Access Pass. This was not listed anywhere on the booking page and was a bit of an annoyance considering we received nothing in return for the fee. Not sure what we paid it for or what we could have received in return for this fee. Had no microwave in the room which I guess works considering that the fridge in the room is full of alcohol and no room for anything else. You can request to have the fridge emptied but they will then charge you for them restocking it. The room was nice and you never heard anyone in the halls. Over all enjoyed my stay but would love to know what the extra fees per day were for and to have been able to bring back any leftovers from dinners to eat later on.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Karen G,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to write a review. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay overall, and found your room to be well-appointed and quiet. However, we are very sorry that some of our fees came as a surprise to you, and if you were inconvenienced by the refrigerator in your guest room. Please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel if you would like to discuss the fees further. In the meantime, your comments will be shared with our team so we can ensure that all of our guests are being made aware of the fees up front. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay in the future.


Kevin A.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2019

My husband and I had evening events (dinner, party at the bar) in San Diego. We live in La Jolla but decided to stay at the Hard Rock Hotel for our convenience.
From our first walk inside we were surrounded by a welcome atmosphere and the staff immediately helped us with check-in. Our room was comfortable, very clean, and with a beautiful bay view from the window. Different nighttime attractions, like restaurants and bars, are located within walking distance from the hotel. If you would like to save some money for parking your car, next to the hotel across 5th Ave parking is available for $15 a day.

Room tip: For a better view and less noise, the highest floor is better. We had the 9th floor. it was good enough to see the Coronado breach.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Liya S,

Thank you for the wonderful review of the Hard Rock Hotel San Diego! We are all thrilled to know how much you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the compliments about our welcoming atmosphere and comfortable guest rooms, as well as our convenient location. Our entire team will be so pleased to hear your review. We are so glad you chose to stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon!


Kevin A.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2019

Passing thru San Diego - Dropped into the HRC hotel, actually sat in the bar area for a while had a snack and then into the Rock Shop.
Staff and service very good - As one would expect ;-)
Took a look around and of course vast and classy!
Great location - Walk up and down fifth and sixth street - then cross to East Harbour Drive...
Stay if you get the chance - If not then drop in for some eats and drinks!

Room tip: We only ate there
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2019

Wow thank you Peter M, for stopping in to see what we are all about! It was a pleasure to host our break from all the exploring and happy our services and amenities made for a great experience. All of us at the Hard Rock appreciate your generous review and we would love to have you back on your next trip to San Diego. Travel well and see you soon. Happy New Year!

Kevin A.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019

The staff of Hard Rock Hotel are so friendly and professional. One of the front desk employees, Tyler, helped us check in. He was able to check us in early. It was great. My husband and I got to relax right away after an early morning flight. I love the hotel. When we entered our room, we were welcomed with music, which was so fitting. The room was spacious and clean. We even had a wonderful view of the convention center and Gaslamp district. The best part of this hotel is there were a lot of restaurants that were walking distance. I only wish we had more time to stay at this hotel. I highly recommend this place.

Room tip: Clean and large rooms
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank drmahalkila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2019

Thank you so very much drmahalkila, for the great review of your experience at the Hard Rock. Tyler is always ready for any opportunity to welcome you and enhance your stay and he loved the shout out. We hope you will be back for another visit soon and we are sure to wow you once again with our services, accommodations, and location. Safe travels home and thanks for the kind recommendations!

Kevin A.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019

Very cool hotel, excellent location. Had amazing service from your employee named Quartz. The rooms do need work though. They need some patching and painting, the carpet had runs, furniture had tears. Time to do some maintenance.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2019

Dear Pat S, thanks for choosing the Hard Rock San Diego for your travel needs and for the kind comments on our friendly and welcoming staff. Quartz loved the compliments and we are happy overall you had a great experience. Please, however, accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations with regard to the condition of your guest room. Although we continue to receive high marks for service and cleanliness, we do acknowledge that it is time for some updates. It is our hope you will come back to see us soon for another great journey and we promise to put you in one of our best rooms. Thanks again for being our guest.

Kevin A.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews