We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great”
Review of Lucky D's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lucky D's Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
“Absolutely great”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have stayed in a couple of hostels before and the lucky d's is one of my favourite (if not the most) ;)
I've travelled with a friend in our car. we didn't plan anything, except of the flight back to our country. So we were really happy when we met all the nice guys from the lucky d's, who were easygoing and thoughtful. We could always stay there when we came back to san diego, even we called them on the same day we've needed a place to stay.


Also the location of the hostel is perfect for everyone. you're near the public transportation, gaslamp quarter and in 20 - 30min you're at the beach(by car).

Thanks for all guys it was absolutely great :) see you soon

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Illari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks for the compliments Illari, we're pleased that you had such a good stay here and yes, hopefully see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    143
    55
    26
    17
See reviews for
8
68
236
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Perfect staying al the hostel with nice people.. I were there with four friends for there night and We had too much fun with the others guests and the crew staff.. The spanish girl of the staff Aymara is so cool!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esteban R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks for your review Esteban. Glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and I will let Aymara know about your review. Hope to see you back at the hostel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in hotels and hostels all over the world and after this experience at Lucky D's, I can sum up all my complaints in just one statement: there should be a sixth star for businesses of this calibre. ;-)
I contacted the owner of LD's a few weeks ago and told her I am working on a documentary about wounded Marines. I am producing this work for free, which I am only able to do because of businesses like this one. Lucky D's initially invited me to stay for an entire week, which was incredible. I have been able to accomplish so much thanks to not needing to bounce around from sponsor to sponsor. The owner saw the work I was doing and actually invited me to stay for an extra week. I have been working round the clock since I've been here and much of what my organization has accomplished in the last two weeks is because of the support of this business. The BARE SOLE PROJECT enthusiastically endorses Lucky D's and I personally vouch for the cleanliness of the facilities, professionalism and friendliness of the staff, and high quality of the guests this place attracts. And there is icing on this cake too: LD's not only offers free dinner several times per week, they even have free beer on Saturday nights and a $5 all-you-can-drink margarita night! Look no further, my friends. You have found your hostel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BarefootJakeBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was my first stay at a hostel, and it surpassed my expectations. It's very near public transportation hubs, you can get anywhere! They also give you great discounts on local attractions and can help you find things to do on any budget. The staff is incredibly nice, helpfulI & fun! I will be coming back here and will be staying in hostels from now on!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just2saxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you so much for such a kind review. We are happy your first experience of a hostel was a positive and hope you check out some more on your travels. We also hope you come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibenik, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I've been to this hostel more than once and this place is getting better every time even tho you think that it can't be more amazing than it was! Staff is great,they are making such a good vibe in the hostel that you have a feeling you're at home.At anytime you can ask them for help and there is always someone there. Every day there is something organized, is it a free dinner,pub crawl,movie night,game night but it's never boring. These guys are really doing a great job and I would definitely recommend this place! On top of it all location is fantastic, very close to bus and train station, 15 min from the airport and all the bars and nightlife is just 2 blocks down. I wanna thank Megan and Brion for showing me a good time in SD and Jackie for being such a sweetheart and making best waffles in the world! Already miss this hostel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeljka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you so much. Our staff love hearing that they have made a guests stay more enjoyable. We hope you can come back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Hey there, I stayed at lucky d's the third time and I loved it. The location is great a lot of complimentary goodies, like breakfast and dinners on three days per week included. It had a great vibe and the staff was always helpful. Special thanks go to Michelle, Pete, Paul, Jackie, David, Brion, Sasha, Anna, Gregg, Ted, Levana, Ashley, Genova, Ted, Megan, Hamza, Jon and everybody else. Friends for life. I hope to be back soon, time with you was just perfect.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike_of_San_Diego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Mike Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review. Dont forget the Free beer as well. See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Lucky D's is "Staying Classy in San Diego." Whether on business or travel, Lucky D's is hands- down the best place to stay in downtown. It is affordable and enjoyable. It has an eclectic, fun and young staff. There is a ton of energy at Lucky D's!!! From touring the best of San Diego's nightlife in the beautiful Gaslamp, to day trips in the most beautiful places in San Diego, to beer pong challenges, Lucky D's won't disappoint. Good people, good food, and clean. Did I mention the fabulous food? They offer a delicious homemade family style pasta with a salad, gourmet tacos on Tuesday, and for you baseball fans hotdogs on Sunday's. You can't beat this place. The price is super affordable and you will enjoy a comfortable stay, while making new friends. Thank you Lucky D's for a great stay.

Room Tip: Lucky D's also offers private rooms. Super clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate the feedback and we hope that you stay with us again. Maybe we will have a different menu next time you are in town! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4,184 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
The Horton Grand Hotel
#66 of 279 in San Diego
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky D's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky D's Hostel

Property: Lucky D's Hostel
Address: 615 8th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lucky D's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come for the party! Stay because it feels like home. Lucky D's Hostel is a top San Diego hostel, and it is a guaranteed good time. When is the last time somebody promised you that? Lucky D's is fun, comfortable, clean and safe. It has an amazing atmosphere and a perfect location. Lucky D's has a wonderful team on staff. They are knowledgeable, helpful and will make sure you have a good time. San Diego is a fantastic city and Lucky D's is in the middle of the action. There are fun things to do every day, a party every night. We are conveniently located just steps away from the Gaslamp District, home of San Diego's hottest nightlife, restaurants, bars and shops. It's close to all of the city's attractions and the best beaches are a quick bus ride away. With Lucky D's, you'll have so many new friends you won't know what to do with them all. Why are you still reading this? Go make a reservation already. Lucky D's Hostel in San Diego has it all and we're waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Lucky D's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky d`s Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing