We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Lucky D's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lucky D's Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very Nice hostel, very clean, very good atmosphere, super friendly staff (except for one Spanish girl at the desk who thinks she owns the place), great location. Big kitchen to cook your own meals, clean bathrooms and the common rooms are comfy and tidy. I really recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camilledm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

So pleased that you had a good stay with us and thanks for the recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
There are newer reviews for Lucky D's Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hostel is a steal!!! At that price at such location, I bet you can’t get it. The location and the price are the best and the most attractive part of the hostel. You are just minutes away from Glasslamp Quarter and Public transport to travel to the rest of the city. The people at the reception are great. They will let you know exactly how to make your way and what to see and what not. They have a great staff!! I stayed at the room on the top floor, the bed was big and comfortable it did not squeak. But there are a few things that I am sure they could improvise upon. The room that I stayed in was not exactly clean. It was just not possible to walk in it bare footed, even while you were changing, you had to make sure you are not pricked by some stones on the floor. Also the room was just about the air conditioning vent. I wasn’t there at the best of times and it was really hot outside and the AC unit made it even hotter. To top it all the fan dint jus work properly. Also there ae around 18 rooms on the floor and there are just two toilets and two showers on the floor. So for almost around 72 people there are two toilets and bathrooms. It can be a little uncomfortable during the morning times. Though the showers and toilets both were clean. I have no other complaints with the hostel. All in all a great hostel at the perfect place which can definitely be much better.

Room Tip: Rooms above the pub downstairs can be quite noisy during the weekend!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KCn2487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hostel is terrible, every single negative review about this hostel is absolutely true!!!! All the positive ones are probably partly written by the staff themselves. They get to stay there free of charge if they work up to 25 hours per week.

This hostel is filthy, smelly, noisy and not worth it!

There are no sinks in the rooms, no space to put suitcases and in a room of 4, once you put 4 suitcases there, you have no space to walk. The beds are small and uncomfortable!!! The fan doesn't work probably, I was sweating every single night.

The rooms are very small and with 4 people in my room, we had to leave the windows open at night to get some air in. The noise is terrible and your sleep will be affected, you will not get a good night's sleep there. There is a lot of noise outside and in the hallway from other guests. You have to slam the door for it to close so every time someone comes in or gets out, you wake up!!!

Staff are not interested or making any efforts at all. They all look miserable and suicidal. I don't blame them. After 3 nights there, I feel depressed! I moved out today and book an hotel nearby.

The Wifi connection is very bad. It doesn't work most of the time.

The only good thing about this place is the location. It's not a good enough reason to go there though. Only go there if you're under 23 and you don't mind the filth and the smell and/or if you are noisy yourself and want to party and get drunk every night!
Then the noise won't bother you.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orchid789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hostel have an excellent location, very good price, friendly atmosphere.
If you have a car go to 8th street there public parking about 5 dolars for 9 hours (morning is more, but I went out)
Good luck, and enjoy while be there :)

Room Tip: It seem reservation from internet take extra fee like 3$ so may is better book by phone and come by...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safwan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyDsHostel, General Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We are glad you had such a great time. Thank you for leaving us such a positive review. We look forward to you coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Excellent location (center of the center) friendly staff but still it is cheap hostel so don't expect wonderful and clean bathroom in you room or very nice and comfortable bad. It is good place to stay in if your budget is very low and you don't care about luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moniss89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We spent one night in San Diego and decided to stay at Lucky D's. We stayed in a private bedroom with shared bathroom. The room was great for one night and we would definitely go back. It is not a luxurious hostel and it was not modern however that is what gave it its charm. It was located next to the Gaslamp Quarter and there was public parking close by. I cannot rate the meals as we did not stay long enough to eat and left too early for breakfast.

I would return and recommend Lucky D's for anyone looking for an inexpensive stay in San Diego close to the action.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Hi Clara. We're pleased that you had a good time at Lucky D's and that you would come back - we hope you do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Worst hostel we have ever stayed in!

I don't really have anything good to say about the hostel itself apart from the location couldn't have been better...

On to what was wrong...

When we arrived there was confusion over whether or not our room had been made ready for us- even the cleaning lady didn't know!

We stayed in a double room- huge bed but that was all that was good. Our room faced on to a car park and was in a cove surrounded by the fans from the kitchen etc which made our stay incredibly noisy! The fridge was also really noisy! The plug sockets were quite worrying as they were not secured to the wall properly and the positioning of them meant that the TV plug and our phone chargers sometimes did not work or would fall out!

Dust and dirt- underneath the bed looked like it hadn't been hoovered for years, absolutely disgusting, the fridge top was dirty, the extra fan on top of the fridge (because there's no aircon) was also covered in dirt, we didn't dare turn it on incase the dust went everywhere. We had someone else's glass of water left in our fridge throughout the duration of our stay and the room was not hoovered once whilst we were there. We had a small square mirror in a really awkward position on the wall with a crack right down the middle of it- you'd think they would replace something like that!

The shared bathrooms and toilets were reasonably clean most of the time but we occasionally had to wait up to 30 mins for a free shower- definitely not enough bathrooms in comparison to how many guests are on each floor! I have stayed in 3 other hostels/hotels with shared bathrooms and this is the only place where I have had to wait!

The common room and kitchen weren't places we spent much time mainly due to the fact that we felt really uncomfortable in this hostel and would rather go out and spend money to eat in a nicer atmosphere. The staff never once greeted us or asked about our stay, the popular topics of conversation in the common areas were sex, alcohol and drugs - we could hear the conversations very easily from our room!
The free wifi was also incredibly temperamental, for about 4 days there was no wifi what so ever and all the girl at reception could say was 'yeh we're looking into it'...

On leaving the hostel we were required to undress the bed and take all linen to reception because clearly that's too much hard work for the cleaners. We never got a 'thank you for staying with us' or 'safe onward journey' .. Absolutely appalling customer service, just told to leave our keys on the desk if the guy wasn't back by the time our cab came. We appreciated the fact that this was a bit more of a partying hostel but felt that the staff needed to realise they were still needing to provide some level of service and professionalism rather than thinking they were holiday reps from the Magaluf Weekender!

To be honest the only way we were able to stay at the hostel as long as we did was the fact that we spent all of our days in San Diego out and exploring as it was in a fantastic location and we secured a really cheap price months in advance! (Still not worth what we paid though).

All in all I would never stay here again! I've heard there are a couple of much nicer hostels a few blocks away that offer much better service and clean rooms!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
5,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky D's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky D's Hostel

Address: 615 8th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6405
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: £27 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lucky D's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come for the party! Stay because it feels like home. Lucky D's Hostel is a top San Diego hostel, and it is a guaranteed good time. When is the last time somebody promised you that? Lucky D's is fun, comfortable, clean and safe. It has an amazing atmosphere and a perfect location. Lucky D's has a wonderful team on staff. They are knowledgeable, helpful and will make sure you have a good time. San Diego is a fantastic city and Lucky D's is in the middle of the action. There are fun things to do every day, a party every night. We are conveniently located just steps away from the Gaslamp District, home of San Diego's hottest nightlife, restaurants, bars and shops. It's close to all of the city's attractions and the best beaches are a quick bus ride away. With Lucky D's, you'll have so many new friends you won't know what to do with them all. Why are you still reading this? Go make a reservation already. Lucky D's Hostel in San Diego has it all and we're waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lucky D's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky d`s Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing