We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff and atmosphere”
Review of Lucky D's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lucky D's Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, staff and atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here for a few days whilst doing a whistle stop tour of Cali and had not seen enough of SD last time I was there. Being a sucker for craft beer it seemed like the perfect location. Luckily it turned out I was right as it is just a short walk from Petco Stadium where you will find the Stone Brewery Tap room and also from Mission Brewery where you can drink in the company of the guys and gals working at the brewery. The hostel is surrounded by bars that do what San Diego does best: be hip, modern, fun and not pretentious. This is a really hard mix to perfect. I would definitely go back and am getting more tempted to do so by the day. Having seen some of the reviews to the left of where I am typing I don't understand how they could complain about it being noisy as I am light sleeper and I slept like a log throughout my stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Glad you had a good stay Matt and you seem to have made the most of what San Diego and the hostel offers. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    149
    59
    27
    18
See reviews for
9
68
252
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very Nice hostel, very clean, very good atmosphere, super friendly staff (except for one Spanish girl at the desk who thinks she owns the place), great location. Big kitchen to cook your own meals, clean bathrooms and the common rooms are comfy and tidy. I really recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilledm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
So pleased that you had a good stay with us and thanks for the recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hostel is a steal!!! At that price at such location, I bet you can’t get it. The location and the price are the best and the most attractive part of the hostel. You are just minutes away from Glasslamp Quarter and Public transport to travel to the rest of the city. The people at the reception are great. They will let you know exactly how to make your way and what to see and what not. They have a great staff!! I stayed at the room on the top floor, the bed was big and comfortable it did not squeak. But there are a few things that I am sure they could improvise upon. The room that I stayed in was not exactly clean. It was just not possible to walk in it bare footed, even while you were changing, you had to make sure you are not pricked by some stones on the floor. Also the room was just about the air conditioning vent. I wasn’t there at the best of times and it was really hot outside and the AC unit made it even hotter. To top it all the fan dint jus work properly. Also there ae around 18 rooms on the floor and there are just two toilets and two showers on the floor. So for almost around 72 people there are two toilets and bathrooms. It can be a little uncomfortable during the morning times. Though the showers and toilets both were clean. I have no other complaints with the hostel. All in all a great hostel at the perfect place which can definitely be much better.

Room Tip: Rooms above the pub downstairs can be quite noisy during the weekend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCn2487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hostel is terrible, every single negative review about this hostel is absolutely true!!!! All the positive ones are probably partly written by the staff themselves. They get to stay there free of charge if they work up to 25 hours per week.

This hostel is filthy, smelly, noisy and not worth it!

There are no sinks in the rooms, no space to put suitcases and in a room of 4, once you put 4 suitcases there, you have no space to walk. The beds are small and uncomfortable!!! The fan doesn't work probably, I was sweating every single night.

The rooms are very small and with 4 people in my room, we had to leave the windows open at night to get some air in. The noise is terrible and your sleep will be affected, you will not get a good night's sleep there. There is a lot of noise outside and in the hallway from other guests. You have to slam the door for it to close so every time someone comes in or gets out, you wake up!!!

Staff are not interested or making any efforts at all. They all look miserable and suicidal. I don't blame them. After 3 nights there, I feel depressed! I moved out today and book an hotel nearby.

The Wifi connection is very bad. It doesn't work most of the time.

The only good thing about this place is the location. It's not a good enough reason to go there though. Only go there if you're under 23 and you don't mind the filth and the smell and/or if you are noisy yourself and want to party and get drunk every night!
Then the noise won't bother you.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchid789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hostel have an excellent location, very good price, friendly atmosphere.
If you have a car go to 8th street there public parking about 5 dolars for 9 hours (morning is more, but I went out)
Good luck, and enjoy while be there :)

Room Tip: It seem reservation from internet take extra fee like 3$ so may is better book by phone and come by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safwan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyDsHostel, General Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We are glad you had such a great time. Thank you for leaving us such a positive review. We look forward to you coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Excellent location (center of the center) friendly staff but still it is cheap hostel so don't expect wonderful and clean bathroom in you room or very nice and comfortable bad. It is good place to stay in if your budget is very low and you don't care about luxury.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moniss89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We spent one night in San Diego and decided to stay at Lucky D's. We stayed in a private bedroom with shared bathroom. The room was great for one night and we would definitely go back. It is not a luxurious hostel and it was not modern however that is what gave it its charm. It was located next to the Gaslamp Quarter and there was public parking close by. I cannot rate the meals as we did not stay long enough to eat and left too early for breakfast.

I would return and recommend Lucky D's for anyone looking for an inexpensive stay in San Diego close to the action.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyDsHostel, Manager at Lucky D's Hostel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Hi Clara. We're pleased that you had a good time at Lucky D's and that you would come back - we hope you do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,321 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky D's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky D's Hostel

Property: Lucky D's Hostel
Address: 615 8th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6405
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lucky D's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come for the party! Stay because it feels like home. Lucky D's Hostel is a top San Diego hostel, and it is a guaranteed good time. When is the last time somebody promised you that? Lucky D's is fun, comfortable, clean and safe. It has an amazing atmosphere and a perfect location. Lucky D's has a wonderful team on staff. They are knowledgeable, helpful and will make sure you have a good time. San Diego is a fantastic city and Lucky D's is in the middle of the action. There are fun things to do every day, a party every night. We are conveniently located just steps away from the Gaslamp District, home of San Diego's hottest nightlife, restaurants, bars and shops. It's close to all of the city's attractions and the best beaches are a quick bus ride away. With Lucky D's, you'll have so many new friends you won't know what to do with them all. Why are you still reading this? Go make a reservation already. Lucky D's Hostel in San Diego has it all and we're waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lucky D's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky d`s Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing