We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, and friendly staff”
Review of Lucky D's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lucky D's Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food, and friendly staff”
Reviewed 8 January 2010

I stayed at Lucky D's over the Christmas period and was a little homesick for my family and friends, but the staff at Lucky D's made everyone feel part of a big hostel family. The food was amazing cooked by an older English woman and it felt like I was in my Mum's kitchen. Christmas morning was great fun, we had a cooked breakfast and Mimosas and then we had a White Elephant draw which was hilarious. The rest of the day was chilled and homely. I would love to go back there again on my return trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    140
    54
    25
    16
See reviews for
8
67
233
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Arriving quite late at night we assumed everyone would be asleep. The party was only starting however! Checking in was easy and Jay was most welcoming.
Rooms are hostel basic but absolutely fine. Everything is clearly from Ikea haha
Every night we partied at Lucky Ds especially as being under 21 going out is not easy in the US. It is a great place to meet new people. I met seven Irish girls there and I am meeting up with some of them in Dublin in a few months time.
The breakfast is simple and the waffles are great
Be sure to take advantage of when the staff cook dinner. You can get a full meal for like $6 which is a bargain!
All the staff were really friendly and always willing to suggest things to to in San Diego.
Most definitely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qrb07162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

I had a great time at Lucky D's. It is very affordable and very clean.The hostel is in a great location and easy walking distance to most places. If you are a light sleeper ask for a higher floor as the second is noisy with the common room and reception here. Also be aware the marines come and stay here on their time off and they like to drink. They are friendly but can be a little noisy.
Staff are helpful and security is good. The free make your own waffles on the weekend was great. I would defnately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunTan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Staff is pretty nice with no attitude. They are big on security, and the hostel has a large lounge, large kitchen, cheap laundry, free breakfast, and dinner 3 times a week. It is only 4 blocks from the Gaslamp ground zero. I found out about it from a friend who emailed me from abroad, and I quickly switched from another hostel. Check Lucky D's out first, you won't bother going anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Man_On_The_Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2009

absolutely the place to be, to stay, to stop, to live.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Friendly, helpful staff and cheap rooms! Free internet, tv in the room and a well equipped kitchen. Good location!

Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LoveL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2009

I enjoyed every minute of a 6 night stay at Lucky D's in September. The staff was absolutely delightful ; they were so helpful & pleasant. Even staff members who were not working at the time rushed about to help me or ask if I needed anything. The bedrooms & bathrooms & showers & common rooms & kitchens were clean as could be. The high speed internet & free US calls were a great bonus. The feeling of friendship & welcoming to all guests were evident throughout my stay. Thank you everyone . I hope to return some day.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meem1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#45 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#15 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky D's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky D's Hostel

Property: Lucky D's Hostel
Address: 615 8th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lucky D's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come for the party! Stay because it feels like home. Lucky D's Hostel is a top San Diego hostel, and it is a guaranteed good time. When is the last time somebody promised you that? Lucky D's is fun, comfortable, clean and safe. It has an amazing atmosphere and a perfect location. Lucky D's has a wonderful team on staff. They are knowledgeable, helpful and will make sure you have a good time. San Diego is a fantastic city and Lucky D's is in the middle of the action. There are fun things to do every day, a party every night. We are conveniently located just steps away from the Gaslamp District, home of San Diego's hottest nightlife, restaurants, bars and shops. It's close to all of the city's attractions and the best beaches are a quick bus ride away. With Lucky D's, you'll have so many new friends you won't know what to do with them all. Why are you still reading this? Go make a reservation already. Lucky D's Hostel in San Diego has it all and we're waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Lucky D's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky d`s Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing