We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 Days around San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #12 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“6 Days around San Diego”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We arrived after a flight from the UK with our 3 year old and lots of traffic. We'd never stayed at a Hilton Garden Inn hotel, but I was definitely impressed. The room was spacious and clean and the staff very helpful. The room had both a fridge and microwave which was great and very handy. Being from the UK, a cup of tea is most essential and the guys at the bar were great especially i think his name is "Saeed" who no matter how many times i went down to get hot water would have a chat and get me water for our tea. Yes it is a drive away to everywhere, but there are shops and a mall about 10 minutes away and so are the beaches. We did different beaches and Seaworld all from this hotel and even to the outlet mall at the Mexican Border. We never ate there as we were always out and about. Free wifi and parking which was great too. The lady at the bar was very helpful too and also gave us milk for our daughter and didnt charge us. There were always coffee and cookies out too. We would definately stay here again. We drove to Palm Springs (Rancho Mirage) and stayed at the Garden Inn too, but it was nowhere near as nice as this one. It didnt have the same feel to it and no hot water!!And last but not least the husband left one of our bags there!!! and they have arranged to FedEx it to us at the Hilton Anaheim where we are now. (We are of course paying for that, but they saved us a 4 hour round trip)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riyasmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    251
    45
    21
    8
See reviews for
298
223
65
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We just returned from our stay at this lovely hotel! Our daughter graduated from UCSD on June 17, 2012. We checked in on Sat. evening and the young lady who assisted us, Kirsten, was so professional, pleasant & helpful! What an impressive ambassador for your establishment! We wanted a late night bite so Kirsten suggested "Bistro 39" located right there in hotel lobby. Our bartender & server were identical twin brother's and were a delight! We recommend this hotel 100% and can't wait to return and visit our "new" friends!
Marian & David Hanst

Room Tip: Noise was never an issue because we stayed in Rm. 313.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

The hotel is great,clean,comfortable,good value for money.
The only downside is the location - about 20 minute drive on the highway to most city attractions. It is located in a living neighborhood, nothing much to do in the area. However there is a nice kiosk in the hotel w
here you can buy drinks,food etc and a nice restaursnt in the hotel- breakfast is big and inexpensive.
The staff is very nice and helping and there is a business center,pool, fitness room and free parking and wifi.
If you are visiting san diego witha car,great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goleta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed for Fri. and Sat. nights and attended a bat mitzvah in the ballroom. The ballroom was a good venue although dark. The hotel was nice, quiet and all amenities we needed. The exercise room is nice.

The restaurant was another story. The food was OK, but the wait staff needs to understand that their customers are what is important, not their chatter with each other and the front desk staff. Things were forgotten, requests were remembered after we had to gather the condiments we had requested from the kitchen. Even afterwards we had to wait way too long to get the check. Service was so bad it was almost hilarious. I complained to the front desk staff later, but she was the one the wait staff was talking to rather than being of service to us. I doubt that my message was conveyed to whoever is in charge of wait staff training.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIAGM, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
I’d like to thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is with candid feedback like yours that we are able to improve our guest satisfaction and provide every guest a stay to remember.

I would like to apologize for the lack of service you received while dining at our restaurant. The management team was immediately made aware of the situation and additional training has been completed. I want to apologize once again that you were not able to enjoy the full service dining experience that our guests have become accustomed too. At Bistro 39, we not only take great pride in providing exceptional quality of food, but service as well. We would love to invite you back to truly experience the quality of service we provide at Bistro 39 on your next trip to San Diego. Thanks again for your helpful feedback.

Best Regards,

Robert A. Rauch
Certified Hotel Administrator and Managing Partner
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthWest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Celebrating our wedding anniversary, this was a great stay, close to our favorite restaurant and favorite beach.
I would definitely recommend it. Nice, quiet, clean.....ahhhh! I want to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KinleysNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

When on business, I usually stay at the Embassy Suites by the mall or the oceanfront Hilton Torrey Pines, but I decided to try the Hilton Garden Inn this time due to a great rate. The parking is free which is not the case for either of the other hotels! For those who like to run- this hotel was great as it is adjacent to a safe neighborhood with lots of sidewalks and if you run to the top of Ocean Air Rd- you get a reward with a view of the ocean. The rooms are consistent with Hilton Garden Inn's everywhere- clean and as expected.

Room Tip: The balcony off my room was really a 2nd floor patio - it was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for three nights recently. We often stay at Hiltons, but this was the first time we stayed at a Hilton Garden Inn. We really enjoyed it, even more so than regular Hiltons, because they didn’t nickel and dime us. For instance, there was no parking fee and no resort fee. Use of the computer in the Business Center was free. Breakfast was not included, but the breakfast in the restaurant was only $11.00 or so, and included a made-to-order entrée (that you order from a menu) and a buffet. The food at breakfast was excellent, although after awhile they were pouring lukewarm coffee, a pet peeve. Free coffee and tea are available all day in the lobby, and sometimes there are even cookies at the front desk (delicious!).

The bar at the hotel is very nice and the drinks are reasonably priced. I think we paid $6-8 per person for a glass of wine and a beer. Unfortunately, the bar closes at 10:00. Many hotel bars in San Diego tend to shut down early for some reason.

The hotel also has a coin laundry that we didn’t use, which is really convenient for families. It also has a small fitness center that was not crowded and did the job.

The surrounding area is residential and pretty. A short drive in either direction will take you to a lot of nice restaurants and shopping. It’s about 10 minutes to Del Mar and 10 minutes to La Jolla by car.

We really enjoyed our stay and will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Courtyard San Diego Central
#10 of 279 in San Diego
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,010 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing