We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smiling service during quick trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #12 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed at this HGI for one night in July. It was a quick trip for me, but the smiling staff and great service made it enjoyable. Checked in during the evening while they were very busy from a local soccer tourney. Lobby was bustling with families, but I was taken care of efficiently and without hassle. The room was clean & very quiet, the bed was comfortable, room had everything I needed, and there were no problems during the short stay. The shower was awesome, one of the best I've had at a mid-price hotel. It is located in a corporate neighborhood, with decent freeway access to the 5, but not much nearby in the way of restaurants. Quick trip to UCSD. Small fitness room that I din't use. Free parking and WiFi/wired internet access. Breakfast was very good; a mixture of cooked-to-order and usual buffet.

Overall, recommended if you're in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,023)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

Hilton Garden Inn is always a comfortable place to stay. We had a nice sized room, clean and comfortable. Great location to downtown San Diego and our other destinations. Beautiful area about a mile off the expressway, but we also took the side roads for a scenic ride to downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank books2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We took a chance going to this hotel as we were never in this area before. It turned out to be a wonderful experience. It was very clean and the staff was very accommodating their breakfast service was satisfying and there was plenty enough they offered us The beds were very comfortable as well as the pillows. We definitely will go back there when we are in California again.

Room Tip: A safe place for family and children
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I've stayed in this hotel last June with my cousins Pay & Marie. It's really a very beautiful hotel and the services are excellent. Great breakfast and the people at the check in is very kind.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerForPleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hOTEL IS LOCATED IN A VERY NICE AREA AND ABOUT 20/30 MINUTES FROM EVERYYTHING YOU WILL NEED TO SEE IN sAN dIEGO. We do suggest Highly this Hotel. Very close by there is the Beach area Camino Real that reallty worth a visit and they have plent of good restaurants there not even mention that it is only 15 minutes from La Jolla

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hvbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in the first week of July to move our daughter from one college house to another. Arrived at the hotel at 9:30 PM tired and hungry after 10 hours of driving and 4 hours of moving furniture. The young woman at check in was genuinely pleasant, engaging and helpful. The hotel is located in a business park area with no obvious nearby restaurants so when we inquired about a place to get a late dinner she suggested the hotel's Bistro 39. We were too tired and hungry to go exploring so we gave it a try. The bar menu was pretty limited but the service was quick, the food was great, the local brew was tasty, and the bartender was charming. She loved her job, local management and the Hilton corporation and it came across in her entertaining and enthusiastic service. We ate breakfast there each morning with comparable professionalism and courtesy from all staff members we encountered. The hotel location is somewhat remote but only a 20 minute drive from most area attractions. The facility is immaculately clean, customer service is excellent and pricing is a good value. The only disappointment was the unusually firm mattress which was somewhat uncomfortable for a side sleeper. In spite of that we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I travelled to the west coast in late March and early April of this year for a business trip that was scheduled for the week before my vacation. I stayed in the region for vacation and travelled with my family down to San Diego and stayed at this property for a week. If I can describe this hotel in one word, that word would be "cozy." It's not fancy. It's not near the water. It doesn't have the same amenities that a number of hotels in the area have (as is the case with Hilton Garden Inn properties in general - no room service). But it was cozy, clean and comfortable. The staff treated us very well. Breakfast was fantastic. We had thought about trying to book a hotel that was on the water to get a more scenic view of the ocean. But the HGI Del Mar was so cozy that we never really felt like going through the trouble to leave.

The staff was friendly and accommodating. The area that the hotel is in, while not on the water, is beautiful and scenic. We were close to the highway, which meant that we were close to everything else.

We may be headed back to San Diego later this year and chances are that we'll end up back at this cozy little HGI.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CommonSenseDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £86 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing