We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #12 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
West Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My husband and I recently spent a week at the Hilton Garden Inn. We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The manager, Kevin, is so nice and professional; the staff is extremely courteous and friendly, especially Paco and Julie who work at the front desk. You could tell by their enthusiasm that they were genuinely happy to be dealing with travelers. For me, the staff reflects the quality of the hotel, and I rank the quality very high. We were especially pleased with the onsite restaurant, Bistro 39. This little gem offers the best breakfasts and their eggs benedict dish is excellent. Now that we've found the Hilton Garden Inn, there's no place I'd rather stay!
Joy D

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyD1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    251
    45
    21
    8
See reviews for
293
220
65
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, IL, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My positive impression of this hotel began even prior to check-in: a young man called while I was on the road between Phoenix and San Diego, advising that they had my rooms ready (one for wife and self, one for son and grandkids) and while they were currently not adjoining, they were directly across from each other. He offered to change the assigned rooms to adjoining if I desired, and I told him they were fine as-is. On check-in, the young woman again offered the change, if it would make our stay easier. True concern for their clientele's comfort. And the fresh cookies every evening are a nice touch. Never got a chance to partake in Happy Hour though.

The rooms were very nice, with modern decorating, clean and fresh with very comfortable beds. The restaurant served excellent breakfast options, with a few very minor errors in 'who-gets-what.' Parking was very-well-lit and plentiful, however they could use a couple more handicap spots.

This near-Torrey Pines location is a great alternative to downtown San Diego, and much quieter than downtown. I'd stay here again instead of downtown, which is a quick drive away.

Room Tip: When booking a balcony room, ask if it has obstructed (or no) view. Mine had none being directly ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveS4728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dave,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience as our guest. I am happy to hear that you felt true concern from out team, as we really do care about our guests comfort and needs. You must try our Bistro 39 happy hour during your next visit, our mix of locals and hotel guests truly provide an amazing and comfortable environment with delicious food and drinks. lt was our absolute pleasure to have your family and yourself with us and we look forward to having you back during your next visit to beautiful San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My first visit to the area and it appears my random choice hit the jackpot. Totally satisfied with location, facility, service and food. Oh yeah ... loved the fruit infused water which encouraged me maintain a healthy lifestyle, while cheating on the "welcome" cookies. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The staff members were extremely professional and nice. And upon checking in, they automatically upgraded us from a King room to a King suite. The hotel is located at a very quiet residential area, which we love. All the amenities were very nice. Our only complaint was the onsite restaurant "Bistro 39". Buffet breakfast was of very good quality but the service was REALLY slow. It appeared that they only had 2 waiters walking around to serve all the tables there. The waiters were very courteous -- when they actually came, and asked if there was anything else we needed. However, whatever I requested (coffee refill...etc) never came, and this happened more than once, so I gave up and didn't even bother asking again. I'd give 5 stars if not for the slow service of Bistro 39. Over all, a very pleasant stay. Will definitely go back if we'll be in that area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We are pleased that our team was so professional and accommodating during your stay. I would like to sincerely apologize for the speed of service you received during your breakfast, as typically our breakfast staff is top notch. We will be reviewing and ensuring that each guest receives the A level service we are accustomed to providing to our guests. We look forward to having you back as our guest and providing you with an amazing experience during your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The grounds are typically, it's a very nice place but the staff make the place!! They are so friendly. I was greeted by Maria who was so very pleasant and genuinely wanted me to have a great stay. Then there was Genevieve the bartender. She is fantastic! So personable, the kind of associate and teammate we all dream about!! She asked every patron their name and from then on she addressed you by name and remembered your drink! She is amazing!! It's worth going to the hotel just to have an interaction with her!! Adam in the restaurant was very nice and very prompt with service! He is so sweet! This place runs a good show!! Worth!!

Room Tip: It's a cool joint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Hotel was very clean and staff was very friendly. Just what I was looking for. Very good location - just a short drive to Del Mar Beach. Not a bad drive to get into San Diego. Hilton is a great brand and the Hilton Garden Inn is a great price value option.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Jim,

Thank you very much for your review. The team and I are very happy that you truly enjoyed your stay and beautiful San Diego. Our location just off the highway truly does make travel to anywhere in San Diego very convenient as you stated. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to having you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Hills CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We went to visit our kids, and new baby. The hotel was not as close as some others but we choose Hilton Garden because it is always clean and is a Hilton property. It was only a 1 1/2 miles from our kids, so it worked out fine. Not very resturants around. The Del Mar Highlands Shopping center is were we ate and met up with our kids. Much more activity in that area. But close enough, so no complaints. We did not want to spend the upcharge to stay closer so this worked out just fine. And we got to spend a couple of days with our new Grand Baby!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Courtyard San Diego Central
#16 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing