We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete satisfaction in Del Mar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #10 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Complete satisfaction in Del Mar”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Del Mar Hilton Garden Inn for 4 nights during the busy Thanksgiving week. What a total delight in this hotel, starting with the Manager on down to EVERY staff member. When we came in late at night, there was a staff member to greet and chat with us. We had breakfast every morning in the restaurant, and enjoyed the cooked to order meals. We always stay at Hilton Garden Inns because of the adjustable beds, quiet and clean rooms, and the wonderful mobility accessible accommodations as well. .

Room Tip: Higher floors and away from the elevator gives you a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rita U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    251
    45
    21
    8
See reviews for
298
224
65
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
654 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights before hopping on a cruise ship to Hawaii. We have found Hilton Garden Inns to be clean, reasonably priced, and having dining and beverages on the premises. This particular Garden Inn fit our needs precisely!
We found the check-in process easy and friendly, desk staff very personable. Our room with balcony was clean and large enough not to feel cramped for space. I thought that the balcony would provide some kind of view of something nice, but it actually was walled in and only would have been useful had we been smokers who could use it in that way. I wouldn't pay extra for a "balcony room" again.
The restaurant and bar on main level were a delight. The food here is much better than the usual "comfort food" found at other Garden Inns. Breakfast is buffet plus cook-to-order service. The dinner menu has many selections and the chef is very good. This was especially ideal as there aren't other restaurants very close-by and we didn't want to fight the California traffic to go to dinner. Instead, dinner in sufficed very well. Dining and bar staff were very accommodating. If you are inclined to venture out, the front desk has a list of restaurants, drug stores, service stationss, etc and directions to all. Very helpful! Lunch is served at a connecting deli.
The location is very convenient to the Del Mar beaches and to downtown San Diego. If we return to SD, we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the balcony rooms unless you need to go outside and smoke your cigs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharpShoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear SharpShoey,

Thanks for your review of our property! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your room, the Bistro and the level of service you experienced. We are constantly striving to be everything for every guest, and we are pleased to know that we provided what you needed. We hope you enjoyed your cruise and we look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Setauket NY
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar is perfectly located - convenient to both San Diego and Los Angeles. It provides easy access to shopping and to great restaurants along the coast - Del Mar, Encinitas, Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Carlsbad. It is also a reasonably short trip up to Temecula's fine wineries. The hotel is spacious and welcoming, with very comfortable rooms and uniformly friendly service from every member of the staff. The breakfast is a major plus. It is excellent and a real bargain. You will not find a better place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ebdb627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

If your looking for a clean, quiet, and professional place to enjoy a nightly stay, this is your place! Wonderful staff welcomes you with a SMILE and kills you with kindness. The breakfast selection is to die for! (Fresh Fruit and Eggs made to order!)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Antoine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Hotel and the staff were great. Check in was easy and we were greeted by Kevin,the Manager of the Hotel. This made us feel very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was great. The Saturday morning we were there, breakfast did not start to 7.30 am, but as my wife and myself were participating in a charity walk that morning, the cafe manager offered to cook us a meal at 6.30 am. It was not necessary, however the fact that he offered was exceptional service. I highly recommend this Hotel .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Blokey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Good Afternoon Blokey3,

Thank you for the great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and got to meet our wonderful GM Kevin! I'm also glad to hear that our kitchen staff was so eager to make sure you have breakfast. Charity walks do require quite a bit of energy and breakfast is always the best way to get the energy you need.

We hope to have you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is my 10th time staying at this Hilton Garden Inn and for us traveling as a family with 2 small children, it can't get any better. You have free parking and quick access to your car from your room, which is always nice. The rooms have a fridge and a microwave which is also very convenient, plus the restaurant and bar on-site have really good meals at a decent price. The buffet breakfast in the morning for $10 a person is a bargain compared to other restaurants, and it is just downstairs, no major walking outdoors, nor need to jump on a car. Rooms are clean, a little outdated, but they have a 42" LCD, 2 phones, and a nice working desk. Some have a nice balcony but overall they are very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank spideymph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

I have to admit, I'm a fan of these three star style hotels, to me they offer great value for money versus the features. This was no different at the Hilton Garden Inn Del Mar.

The property was handily located for us as it wasn't in San Diego but got us close enough after our long and uneventful drive down from Vegas.

The interior is immaculately clean and the welcome warm, we had two separate bookings covering three nights, they were merged and we were in the same room for the duration of our stay within minutes (something Vegas strip hotels could learn a lot from in terms of efficiency).

The rooms were clean and well appointed, although the widely fabled adjustable bed didn't seem to be much different despite following the instructions to the letter.

The tv we had was on its way out with a green and red vertical line on the screen, but it was bearable given how
little we watched it.

Overall condition of the room and property were good, would highly recommend this as a base for a stay in the San Diego area, we were very sorry to leave such a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visidigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Courtyard San Diego Central
#20 of 279 in San Diego
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,013 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing