We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #16 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Had a great stay at your hotel! Rooms were clean, staff was courteous, and the location was perfect for visiting La Jolla, Torrey Pines, and even San Diego. We really enjoyed the small balcony for the sea breeze Thanks for the great vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westhoff0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    243
    44
    21
    9
See reviews for
289
213
62
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Incredibly great customer service at all levels. Ryan provided a fantastic greeting upon arrival and made some great recommendations at the restaurant and Laura was our server in the restaurant and was so attentive and friendly. As well, all of the people with whom we had contact were so friendly. They must have good management! The beds were super comfortable, the rooms were clean, the food in the restaurant fantastic. The towels were fluffy and soft. The small fitness center wasn't busy so it was easy to use. The pool was very nice. I would highly recommend this hotel to others. It's a bit out of the way, but very close to Torrey Pines Golf Course as well as the beach at the Torrey Pines state part.

Room Tip: It's a little out of the way, but they provided us with a walking path to get some outdoor exerc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

4.5 stars

Overall, I would have given this hotel 5 stars except that the walls here were a tad bit thin. We could hear our neighbors talking/doors closing from our room. Not too big of an issue because the noise wasn't too loud but we definitely could hear people conversing, especially on the weekend nights.

We stayed here for nearly a week on the fourth floor. Hotel is not too big and located in a very quiet area (Torrey Pines). It is located in a a residential neighborhood and traffic was never an issue for us. We did have to drive a few miles to find the nearest store/restaurant and that was OK with us. This hotel was conveniently located a few miles from Torrey Pines golf course, Torrey Pines National Park/Beach, UCSD and also nearby major freeways.

There was ample free parking in the front and back, free wifi, free coffee or tea plus snacks in the front lobby, and they offer room service. The beds were super comfy and adjustable with a dial. Not too big on the Neutrogena soaps and lotion but they had a keureg machine which we loved. Housekeeping kept everything neat and restocked for us. Front desk was very nice and accommodating. When you walk in you will be amazed at how modern and fresh the front lobby looks. Would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room so you will have less chances of hearing your neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsDN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We really enjoyed staying here while we were in San Diego. The hotel was spotless, the staff were beyond incredible and the front desk cookies were the best! The restaurant was affordable and the food was delicious. We literally miss the hotel and even more, the city of San Diego! This will not be the last time! Cheers to Lori for being extra helpful:)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed here with a friend for a wedding. The service was great and the hotel lobby was really nice. The rooms were comfortable and the hotel offered a ton of amenities- including a map to take walks around the area. Close to La Jolla and great highway access.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jonetta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Will not stay again. My son was sick and it was raining. I booked the room for 3 nights and left after 2 nights and got charged a $50.00 cancelation fee. If someone is sick and you have to check out early, it is not fair to be charged a $50 cancelation fee.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you James G for letting us know about your stay. Our deepest apologies that your son got sick during your trip. My apologies that you were unsatisfied with our early departure fee. I would love a chance to speak with you about your trip. Please feel free to call me at 858-720-9500 at your convenience. Thank you again and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had an International Sales conference at this venue. Everyone who attend were happy with the accommodation, the meeting room and the helpful staff. Nothing was too much for any of the employees and made our stay very pleasant and ultimately successful, leaving a very positive impression. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing