We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hands down the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #14 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hands down the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

What I loved the most about my stay at the Hilton Garden Inn was the location. It is located about 5 minutes away from the I-5 freeway and 10-20 minutes away from the best of San Diego's beaches and attractions. It is also in a secluded area that is good for a good cardio workout any time of day. Best choice!! Thanks for the service!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank 447charityw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    243
    44
    21
    9
See reviews for
289
213
62
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
258 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

One thing about San Diego - you have to balance price with location, amenities, etc... Can you do better? Sure? But... you either have to pay more or be far away from things.

Pros:
- Great service; friendly staff
- Easy access to I-5; halfway between places like Sea World/Zoo and LEGOLAND
- Very safe residential neighborhood with bike trails
- Ability to go 1/2 mile south and plunge into a canyon with trails (I saw a Coyote at sunrise...)
- 10 minutes from the ocean without oceanfront prices

Cons:
- No restaurants that are really close (need to drive somewhere)
- Maybe plunging into a canyon isn't your idea of fun???

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dfcameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel was so clean and the staff very kind and friendly. We felt so at home away from home. We can't wait to return on out future visit. I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a great and fun and exciting experience. The location was great with awesome view. It's great that the shopping mall is just nearby and easily accessible. We sure loved every bit of our stay at the hotel

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmanBetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taoyuan County, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The breakfast are ordinary,but the waiter is nice with happy spirit.The room is clean and comfort, but the angle of the bath curtain seem to be curved to much, water will split out and the flore will get really wet-----accumulation of water.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ko-yi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The service at the hotel was great. The hotel itself is tucked away in a business park and is relatively small, which at times lead to a lot of noise. I wouldn't recommend this as a place to stay on vacation, but it serves business travelers well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank capturedplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This past week I hosted and facilitated an amazing regional meeting of franchise owners at this very fine hotel. The hotel, amenities, meeting rooms and guest rooms were clean, modern and very comfortable. The staff at HGI San Diego/Del Mar are fabulous! Kimmy, Courtney, Lori, Manny, Jose and Kevin are top notch. The aforementioned individuals (along with unseen others) worked to ensure that my event was world class. And, I can tell you that they accomplished their objective in providing excellent customer service and exceeding all of my expectations.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I've stayed at this hotel several times and have always had a nice experience. The rooms are always clean and fresh. I appreciate easy access from parking and getting into the hotel. The restaurant is great. I usually only take advantage of the breakfasts, but the food is always good. Really like the buffet, and it's a great way to get the day started. Rooms are nice and comfortable. Just had a little difficulty getting the right temperature in the room during the night.

One of the servers in the restaurant, Trevor, made us feel very welcome. He showed interest and asked questions and was very pleasant to talk to. He provided excellent service and was very attentive to all his guests. You could tell he was sincere and authentic, and that he enjoys what he is doing.

Noticed that when turning on the TV, it was set to CNN. I would rather have the TV start with a more pleasant station rather than the news (which is rarely uplifting and positive). The bad news draws you in, and I'd rather not peak my curiosity with bad news.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing