We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to stay in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #12 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
“Good Place to stay in the area”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Clean hotel and the room was clean which is always a plus for any hotel. I do like all the options the hotel offers such as a Spa and Bar. The pool is small and I was hoping it would be a bit larger. I was in the area to attend a San Diego Padre game and for the price it was not bad.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Javier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parris P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Javier B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with a review about our property. I'm happy to see you enjoyed the options of our spa and bar. I hope you enjoyed the Padre's game and that you will come back soon. Should you have any further comments, questions, or suggestions, please feel free to contact me personally.

Yours in Hospitality,
Parris Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    251
    45
    21
    8
See reviews for
298
223
65
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a very convenient 20-25 minute drive from the airport. We were warmly greeted at the front desk upon arrival. The room was exactly what we expected from a HGI, had everything we needed for a comfortable night. The wifi connection was great and they had free parking.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank metfanatic11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parris P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Metfanatic11,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It's wonderful receiving a five star review from someone as involved in tripadvisor as yourself with 62 reviews spanning 32 locations. It is our absolute goal to meet and exceed our guest's expectations, your five star review is a reminder that we're doing just that. Thank you again, and should you have any further comments, questions, or suggestions, please feel free to contact me personally.

Yours in Hospitality,
Parris Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

They were very accommodating and helpful. Great place to stay if you are looking to have any needs you have fulfilled. The staff goes above and beyond to be as helpful as they can be. They brought our bags to another hotel the next morning, scheduled shuttle service and happy staff. Made our trip a great one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parris P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Erin S,

I can not thank you enough for taking the time to create a tripadvisor account and for allowing us to be your first five star review. I am very excited to see that you found our staff accommodating, helpful, and happy. I sincerely hope that you will continue to stay with us when traveling to the San Diego area. Should you have any further comments, questions, or suggestions, please feel free to contact me personally.

Yours in Hospitality,
Parris Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is a good value for the quality. We had no problems and comfortable room. The availability of a good breakfast was a plus. The hotel was clean and welcoming and the staff was helpful and friendly. Got a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Connie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parris P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Connie F,

I can not thank you enough for taking the time to leave us a five star review. I'm very thankful our staff was able to provide you with a comfortable and clean stay. I hope that you will continue to stay with us when you return to the San Diego area.

Yours in Hospitality,
Parris Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Dimas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The noise level from private parties using the facility is a nightmare. They do not worn you at check in that there will be music blaring. Rooms with a balcony are a waste. DO NOT request a balcony, they are filthy and not worth the extra money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parris P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Katherine M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a candid review and constructive comments. It was a pleasure speaking with you earlier this week, and while we fell short of expectations this time, I look forward to seeing you in the future and ensuring that you have a wonderful and quiet stay.

Yours in Hospitality,
Parris Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were here for two nights. The location is in a very nice neighborhood, with stores and shopping not too far away.

The room was clean and neat. The lobby was vibrant, with bars and cookies and fruit water all day long. There is a small restaurant in the lobby but we did not eat there.

The staff was very helpful in giving directions to places that we needed to go to.

If in the area again, we would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parris P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Roger A,

First, thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay with us. I'm very glad to see you enjoyed our recently renovated lobby and our delicious cookies, and that you found our staff helpful. We hope to have you as our guest in the future and hope to make your next stay worthy of five stars.

Yours in Hospitality,
Parris Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel was ok - pricey for what you get. The bed was horrible - the sleep number seemed to be broken so you lay down and it was like broken air mattress. The other bed was better but not great either. Didn't hold a firm setting. The cleanliness was good and they cleaned the room daily - did a good job.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Denise E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parris P, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Denise E G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to create a TripAdvisor account, and for leaving a constructive review. I apologize that our beds did not meet your expectations, but I'm glad to see the cleanliness made up for it. Should you have any further comments, questions, or suggestions, please feel free to contact me personally.

Yours in Hospitality,
Parris Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Courtyard San Diego Central
#10 of 279 in San Diego
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,010 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing