We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best place to stay in SD” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in SD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I think I've stayed here 5 times in the last 12 months, this is literally my home when i come to San Diego. You can't get a more comfortable place to stay. Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrkommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thanks for your many return visits - I guess we must be doing something right!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
346
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The greeting by our hosts was great, with all sorts of ideas of places to see, things to do and restaurants to try.
The rooms were incredible, comfortable, tons of food, and lots of hot water. The appontiments were modern, well done, providing a great romantic spirit.
The yard was a great spot for a soak, to have snacks and a beverage and to have conversations to settle global issues with our travelling companions.
Norm gave us great ideas for directions for the next lag of our trip and we took many photos of their yard for ideas to use in redoing our own spaces, back home (very nicely laid out).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your review of 'a splendid place'. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the pampering that we try to give all of our guests. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

After 9 years of visiting San Diego once a year to see our son we finally found the best place to stay in San Diego if you need peace, quiet and luxury. This B & B is tenderly taken care of by Norm and Linda. A year ago (2011) we were scheduled to visit in Febuary when I injured by knee and was unable to make the trip. They canceled the reservation with no questions asked and welcomed us this year with open arms. Our room, the Tuscan, was filled with food and drink which eliminated a need to go to breakfast and plenty of healthy snacks. Unfortunately, the weather last week was not condusive to sitting at their beautiful pool in a wonderful backyard. We will be back to take advantage of this lovely oasis. Thank you again Norm and Linda for sharing your wonderful B & B with fellow New Englanders!

Room Tip: Either room.....exquisite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fritzie0461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you fellow New Englanders for your lovely review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to treating you just as well again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brielle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Ideally located, the perfect end to our route 66 road trip. Bike friendly neighborhood. Also we really enjoyed having our own kitchenette stocked with Trader Joe's groceries. This gave us the luxury of eating what we wanted WHEN we wanted.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ucanliv4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
So glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and were nice enough to write a review of our B & B. For you bike lovers, we now have company that will deliver and pick up you bike rentals - how's that for service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

As a San Diego native now living ove 2100 miles away, and with most of my family living in the San Diego area, I try to visit a few times a year. My husband's brother and his family also live in the area, so we both have "reasons" (besides the great weather, seafood and other attractions) to visit. We have always stayed with family members, but that wasn't feasible this particular trip so we tried to find a hotel or other accommodation close to my Mother's house. My husband stumbled on the Beach Hut, which I'd never heard of although I was familiar with the Riviera Drive/Crown Point area. We will definitely be back! This is a quiet, lovely gem in the middle of a popular beach community, and Norm and Linda have made sure that every detail is A#1 in quality, attractiveness and function - from the wonderful custom-made mattress to the lavender-scented shampoo and conditioner to the Trader Joe's bagels and yogurt (and so much more) in the refrigerator. We made a list of features we liked so much we plan to duplicate them in our home. I especially loved the fountain in the patio, with it's soothing bubbles providing the perfect background non-noise 24/7. The pool is beautiful and we were tempted to use it but it was still a little chilly - so, next time for sure! Norm was so kind and helpful to us, and we look forward to meeting Linda next time (she was visiting her Mother this trip).

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden room, which is perfect for a couple and very quiet as it's located on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bicoastal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Just wanted to make sure that we thanked you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are happy to hear that you could rate us as a 'home away from home'!! We'll try to keep up the good work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilliard
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Norm and Linda should be extremely proud of their fabulous little Beach Hut! My husband and I stayed in the Tuscan Room for our recent trip and we will never be satisfied with hotel standards after the exceptional accommodations here! The room was so luxurious- top quality linens, gorgeous fixtures, and a Tuscan theme that was divine. An assortment of breakfast items is stocked daily in-room, and we loved being able to wake up at our leisure and eat. The French Toast was delicious and the array of healthy and generally organic items was wonderful. All of that would have been more than enough to make a wonderful stay, but Linda and Norm truly outdid themselves! Linda provided so many wonderful resources- a binder organized with recommended area activities, restaurants, and attractions, as well as a thorough, personalized explanation when we arrived. She and Norm are some of the kindest, most hospitable people we have ever met. They even left a DVD title we had spoken of being interested in watching (on our counter after our arrival) loaning it to us from their personal collection! We came to San Diego with no itinerary and had an extraordinary vacation thanks to Norm and Linda and their exceptional Beach Hut! My only hesitation in this well-deserved rave review is that we hope it's popularity doesn't mean we won't be able to get a booking for our return as we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioBuckeyeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We just wanted to make sure that we thanked you for the wonderful review that you wrote. Our priority is ensure our guests the best time possible - it sounds like we are making our goals. Thanks for letting future guests know about our quality of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Tripadvisor is my go-to resource before booking accommodation, so when my husband and I decided to head to San Diego at the last minute, I checked out the local hotels and various options on Tripadvisor.

The Beach Hut B&B caught my eye, and we decided to book in for a 3-night stay. Thank goodness there had been a cancellation.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Linda and Norm and shown to our room - The Garden Cottage.

First impressions - wow! Very clean, quality bed linens and a rather nice walk-in shower. Although not the biggest room/bathroom, it had everything we needed. Some features to note: comfy bed, flat screen tv with DVD player and DVDs, shampoo, conditioner and shower gel, private off-road parking, black out blinds, good quality features throughout.

It is clearly evident that Linda and Norm take great pride in what they do and I can attest to the fact that they have implemented many of the suggestions posted by previous guests. For example, you fill in a sheet to say how often you'd like clean linens, towels or the fridge restocking.

Some folks might not like that you are left to your own devices to prepare breakfast from a wide array of items supplied. However, for us, it was perfect as it meant we didn't have to wait until a certain time to get breakfast, nor did we have to make polite conversation with people you barely know.

The garden is lovely, and it was a shame the pool wasn't heated. One word of caution - it is a small pool, not a large swimming pool, but very tastefully done, just like everything else at this absolute gem of a property.

Thank you to Linda and Norm for making our impromptu visit to San Diego so enjoyable. You are true professional hosts and went above and beyond to make us comfortable. We will be back soon :-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FairLady80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhutbb, Owner at Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We are always thrilled when a seasoned traveler writes us a glowing review as you have done. Thank you for your extensive comments and comments. It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope to be so lucky as to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#33 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast

Property: Beach Hut Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3761 Riviera Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep in luxurious linens in a deluxe Queen Bed, go for a jog/walk on the 6 mile Boardwalk around the Bay, frolic in the Ocean waves, see all the major San Diego attractions, all within 1 to 10 miles, and then relax and enjoy the ambiance at our Pool/Patio/Fire Table! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Hut b&b
Beach Hut Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing