We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel once before and enjoyed our stay enough to want to make a return visit. It is easy to understand why this hotel drew us back. It is a very impressive and relaxing place to stay. The main public spaces are a step back in time to the gilded age of a hundred years ago. The grounds and exterior of the hotel make you feel like you are in Tuscany. The resort environment makes for a restful and comfortable place to unwind.

We stayed in a terrace room overlooking the adult pool area. We did not request this location, but were very happy with our placement. I like to swim and with the cool December weather, it was very nice to be able to return to the room quickly after a nice morning swim in the well heated pool. The terrace itself is a nice feature, as you have much more room to enjoy the outdoors with two comfortable chairs. Most of the rooms with balconies lack furniture because the space is too small. Our room was very plush and comfortable. Some may find it a little too regal and un-Californian, but we liked it. It did lack the window into the bathroom that makes the room more architecturally interesting. This feature seems to be in most rooms overall. The room also lacked the curved couch also found in most rooms, instead our room had a large lounge chair and ottoman.

As mentioned, the rest of the hotel is impressive and the kind of place you want to make sure you have plenty of time to truly enjoy. There are several nice places to have meals or drinks. The pools and spas are in attractive settings. The gym is pretty big for a hotel and can provide you with a full workout. We have never used the spa. The grounds are well maintained and worth venturing around with pathways and fountains.

The hotel is located on its own, but it is easy to get on the highway and be off quickly to wherever you need to be. We did have one issue during our stay that can happen at resort hotels like this from time to time. An epic charity event occurred on one night during our stay. We had to wait in a line for seventeen minutes to drop off our car to the valet after dinner out. Inside the hotel was overwhelmed and our chance to have a drink in the beautiful and very elegant bar was lost. We know hotels need to hold events like this, but we wished management had informed their guests ahead of time to expect this, just as a courtesy.

This hotel is a true full resort experience that sets itself apart with its elegant old world atmosphere that has been beautifully executed. A stay here should be very memorable.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms can be nice because they have more space to enjoy the outdoors - but with less privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,225 - 1,231 of 1,772 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

This is one of the most beautiful resort I have visited in California, the team members are all great. The rooms are more than comfortable and well appointed, the house keeping staff was attentive and delivering a persoalized service, the food at Amaya restaurant was of a very good quality as much as the server and sommelier. The food at the bar was good as well. They have a courtesy car as well. Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuscanGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

A wonderful hotel! The rooms were by far the best of all the hotels we have ever visited - and we have stayed in some pretty high-end places all around the world… The staff was warm and welcoming and very helpful when it came to discussing the Grand Del Mar as our potential wedding site. We took full advantage of all the hotel has to offer, including the scenic hiking trail, the olympic size pool, and the cozy restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThierryAndSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

You will not be disappointed....from the moment the bellmen/doormen greet you to passing housekeeping in the hallway wishing you a genuine good day. Not a detail was missed. The building and property are spectacular. The wait and bar staff were top notch on every detail. In particular Megan and Alison. We never return to the same resort or hotel but we intend to return the Grand Del Mar.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the complimentary car service into La Jolla or Del Mar. Hiking trails were terri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomboucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I stayed here for a business trip; an offsite event that spanned 4 days. I could not have been more pleased with this hotel. The grounds are exquisite and I felt like I might be in the south of France. Had lunch on the Veranda, fantastic! Attended a party at the hilltop bar. We were treated exceptionally well and I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something very special. One of my absolute favorites!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

what made this resort so special was not just the beauty and cleanliness, but the staff...we were treated royally and with genuine care and sincere personalized service. whatever we needed came right away and they really went beyond the call of duty. for example, i called the concierge to inquire about canceling an activity the next morning because my son was sick and i felt like i was coming down with a fever. when we returned to the room on our bedside table, there were oranges, extra water bottles and a vitamin C supplement, with a very sweet note and wishes that we feel better, assuring they were there if there was anything else we needed.
i just loved the large pool and the adult only lap pool...stunning, calming and casually elegant....which was the feel of the resort as a whole. my only wish was that it was on the coast!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The location is great.... it's right in between Legoland and Sea World.
And the surrounding area are also within driving distance to a lot of great restaurants.

When we first entered the hotel, it felt a bit more formal than expected... but once you get the room and get settled you're fine. The service is nothing extraordinary but I did appreciate the welcome cookies for the boys when we arrived. And every night, they would leave bed side cookies which are some sort of oreo dipped chocolate that are to die for.

The breakfast is great.... but for lunch and dinner is just okay.

I really liked the pool and the kid's club... and also if you're there with your kids, make sure that you do the equestrian activity.

I would def stay here again the next time we go to Legoland and Sea World... and I would recommend it to my friends, especially if you go as a family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrapTwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,042 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,005 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 278 in San Diego
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £346 - £711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the elegance and comfort of an old-world Mediterranean estate, San Diego's luxury Fairmont Grand Del Mar golf resort and spa welcomes guests to Southern California with signature charm and impeccable service. Magnificently situated on 400-acres in a pristine coastal canyon five miles from the Pacific Ocean, Fairmont Grand Del Mar shines as TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Vacation at this Forbes Five-Star and AAA Five Diamond luxury San Diego resort featuring the private Tom Fazio designed golf course, A Five-Star spa, four sparkling pools, tennis courts, yoga and fitness classes, Explorer's Club for kids, nightlife and exquisite dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star and Five Diamond restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing