We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We wanted to try something different on this trip to San Diego and this was a pleasant surprise. Very classy hotel with luxurious setting, beautiful landscape and attention to detail. The staff goes above and beyond to accomodate guests and make sure they have a great time. Nice spa.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have frequent business in San Diego and can always count on a luxurious room. They somehow know what rooms I prefer. They always have my key ready when I arrive and tend to every need I have. I love a quick breakfast at C'entanni. The pastries are wonderful and for an afternoon snack, the gelato is great. I love the heated pool near the spa. It is great for a morning workout.

Room Tip: If you like to swim, they have rooms with a courtyard to open to the pool near the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous grounds
Large bathroom
Decent sized room
Close (approx 15 to 20 min from legoland to La jolla) to major attractions
Great pools for kids - swam in November
Great pool for adults - lap pool
Delicious food, albeit expensive

Had a relaxing time with 5 year old and 9 month old. Accommodating with infants and little kids. Planning to come back next year.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank wantabebourdain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This trip was set up through work, but I can say that I have never been more happy to be at a resort. I never understood why people would spend so much money on a room, but this was well worth it. The grounds, restaurants, spa, activities, everything was great! My room was spectacular with views of the grounds. I enjoyed sitting on my patio reading while relaxing. An evening soak in the tub was great as well. I cannot wait to return here and eat at Addison where I had the best beef I've ever eaten (and I'm from the midwest where beef is king)! It is not right on the beach, so if you're looking for that beach experience, you will have to drive the 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSMDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Great Resort with awesome facilities, I have hesitation is recommending this resort as truly 5 star resort. One of the best resort employees I have ever seen. We will keep coming back and keep recommending this resort to friends and family.

Room Tip: All the rooms are having amazing view of stunning golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

An impressive drive up to an impressive hotel, through what looked like an impressive golf course. First impressions were good and didnt disappoint. The service on arrival was excellent and continued throughout with champagne and even a cake delivered to the room for my birthday. Pool and hot tub areas were clean with under water music a new one to me. Dinner was superb and the bar areas also nice. We were only here a couple of nights but managed to relax totally after the mayhem of a Vegas trip before. Only small downsides were that we founf it quite a long way from anywhere we wnated to visit, so location couldve been better for us , but thats probably our fault, and we lost an item of clothing from our room, not that i thought it was deliberate as i think it probably got caught up in the linen but still a little annoying.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bookster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I did not have the pleasure of staying at this fine hotel. I work for a company that provides hotel childcare. I've seen and interacted with the staff of all of the top hotels in the San Diego area. I received the best service from the staff at the grand Del Mar. They didn't have to cater to me I pay no one's bills. But they did, every single staff member that I came in contact with. The location is lively as are the rooms. But the real reason to stay here is the service.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Tiredifkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,058 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 286 in San Diego
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,212 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £322 - £708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the elegance and comfort of an old-world Mediterranean estate, San Diego's luxury Fairmont Grand Del Mar golf resort and spa welcomes guests to Southern California with signature charm and impeccable service. Magnificently situated on 400-acres in a pristine coastal canyon five miles from the Pacific Ocean, Fairmont Grand Del Mar shines as TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Vacation at this Forbes Five-Star and AAA Five Diamond luxury San Diego resort featuring the private Tom Fazio designed golf course, A Five-Star spa, four sparkling pools, tennis courts, yoga and fitness classes, Explorer's Club for kids, nightlife and exquisite dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star and Five Diamond restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing