We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand Del Mar San Diego, CA.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I have not stayed at a finer hotel. The cost to build it was over 330 Million. Every nook is perfect. It is a masterpiece. It was a real treat to stay there. The staff is awaiting your every need. If you want the very best, this is it. I have paid the same and actually more than the Grand Del Mar and the service and facility was not even close. This is a "must" if want to be pampered with the world’s finest.
I recommend calling far in advance as they have special offers that could save you money or perhaps add an extra day to your stay.

Room Tip: The back faces the mountain or hiking area and are very quiet. Otherwise you get a room along the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,101 - 1,107 of 1,825 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

This resort would be perfect if it offered sea views. It's inland location, overlooking a canyon and golf coast is scenic. But alas, it not the Pacific, thus not perfect.

However, the outstanding service, spacious, well-appointed rooms, lovely pools, and spa make this a 5-star experience. Golfers will love the beautiful course and foodies the highly respected restaurant Addison.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dartmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is total elegance! If you want to visit a hotel for that special occasion this is the place to go. The entire staff was great, knowing our names and that we were there celebrating my birthday. The rooms are beautiful. We had a separate living room, two full bathrooms with large closets and the beds were very comfortable. It was very quiet even though it was Thanksgiving weekend. We were surprise at how many kids were there but we didn't hear any noise from them. The setting is very nice and there are some good walking paths. This is a beautiful luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

From the beautiful drive up to the hotel, the breathtaking grounds and simply exquisite service, this hotel is a must, even if just for one night. Truly, this is just about the best hotel I've ever stayed in and that includes Four Seasons, Ritz Carltons, and more, all over the world. The Grand Del Mar spared no expense to make us feel comfortable, attended to, and pampered. The rooms are so lovely, quiet an peaceful. The food in the restaurant was excellent. Room service food was not nearly as good but I forgive them that because the rest of our stay was so wonderful.
Their spa is equally amazing.

Room Tip: Our room faced part golf course and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinG32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The rooms are beautiful, the staff is super helpful and the spa is amazing! What a treat. We had a nice room with a patio that opened onto the adult pool. We went for drinks and dancing at Club M. There was a great salsa band.

Room Tip: Our room was on the adult pool, which was peaceful and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

This is our 5th time staying at the Grand Del Mar, and as always our stay here was outstanding and memorable.
The staff is great, takes care of every little detail, knows you by name and cares about you.
As a family that is traveling a lot at the US and Europe I can say that we have been in much more expensive hotels but the Grand Del Mar is by far better than any one of those.
We stayed over Hanukkah, our kids got treats every evening and it made us feel home away from home.
Thank you Adam from the front desk, Mackenzie from the bar who worked so hard to make our stay magical.
The kids club is perfect, the best kids club ever!!!! Best staff, flexible, caring, loving, the kids didn't want to leave. Thank you Amazing Jordan and Sima from the kids club who did above and beyond for my kids and for us.
If you are looking for the most perfect resort that will spoil you and take care if all your needs, with great food, amazing service and a perfect kids club, this is the place for you. I can't wait for our next visit.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Danahelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is one of our favorite getaways for enjoying the beautiful San Diego weather. We've come three years in a row (twice in August and this year in November). We love it! Let me count the ways: gorgeous grounds (meticulously maintained), four pools (including one that's for adults only), two hard courts for tennis, a beautiful spa, an equestrian center and bartenders who know how to make a proper gin and tonic. The property is vast and tucked into the hills, sitting amid a golf course. We saw a buck grazing by the entrance gate one evening, and the place is far enough from bright lights that you can see stars in the night sky. But San Diego, La Jolla and Del Mar are a quick drive away. There's an expensive and well-regarded restaurant on the property called Addison, but we found it overrated --we much prefer the "everyday" restaurant, Amaya. The food is very good. And the service throughout the Grand Del Mar is just lovely --attentive without being fawning. We will be continuing the yearly tradition!

Room Tip: Not sure there's a bad room here! Rooms that face the golf course (vs pool) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,088 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,083 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 286 in San Diego
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,221 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#2 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £308 - £694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the elegance and comfort of an old-world Mediterranean estate, San Diego's luxury Fairmont Grand Del Mar golf resort and spa welcomes guests to Southern California with signature charm and impeccable service. Magnificently situated on 400-acres in a pristine coastal canyon five miles from the Pacific Ocean, Fairmont Grand Del Mar shines as TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Vacation at this Forbes Five-Star and AAA Five Diamond luxury San Diego resort featuring the private Tom Fazio designed golf course, A Five-Star spa, four sparkling pools, tennis courts, yoga and fitness classes, Explorer's Club for kids, nightlife and exquisite dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star and Five Diamond restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing